Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
65
Jeremy Clarkson - War Stories [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 June 2012
Love him or hate him, Jeremy Clarkson is a very effective photo-journalist. Story one is about the Victoria Cross, and while he concentrates on one particual recipient, to whom he had personal connection, he covers its inception, production, and tries to analyse what it takes to win one. In my opinion this is the best thing J.C. has ever done. Story two is about the Commando raid on the St. Naziarre dry dock. Told in the same style as story one, it is very good, but doesn't have the passion of story one. The d.v.d.is worth it's cost for story one alone, look upon story two as a bonus.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2012
I have never been a fan of Jeremy Clarkson with his puerile Top Gear programme. But here he showed that when he turns his attention to serious topics he can be quite accomplished. Here we have two WW2 stories, originally featured on TV, which are about Operation Market Garden (the attempt to cross the The Rhine at Arnhem and Operation Chariot (the raid on St Nazaire) and their associated VCs. Both documentaries were very well done, but equally interesting was a short documentary covering how they made the St Nazaire film. Clarkson's commentary was surprisingly good and this DVD is well worth viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2017
Not a huge fan of Clarkson but here his journalistic instincts of how to tell a story kick in. The first story I could take or leave but the St Nazaire raid is boy's own for real. Have to keep an eye out now for his PQ17 prog being released - soon please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2016
Amazing insight into real heroic action in the second world war. As for the guys on operation chariot I can only hope Steven Spielberg watches this outstanding documentary. Well done Mr Clarkson for bringing to light Truely The Greatest Raid
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 January 2017
Enjoying, this DVD of a very Brave man,
One of the few, about the Second World War,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 November 2012
Tried to get this for years, even wrote to the BBC but got no joy - maybe because I had the wrong title (I thought it was called Victoria Cross Stories) - so when I stumbled across it on Amazon I was thrilled. A very moving programme, narrated phenomenally well by Clarkson. Maybe this should be compulsory viewing in schools prior to Remembrance Day............ just a thought.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 July 2013
... the best Clarkson DVD ... in the world.

The personal angle still sticks in my mind from when I first saw the Arnhem programme when it was originally aired on TV - the twist at the end of the story that gave the answer to 'why is he really making this show?'. The later programme add some nice details about the Victoria Cross in general, and the stories are just as gripping.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 April 2015
Jeremy Clarkson is a brilliant narrator and these two stories are no exception and make great listening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 July 2014
Not a huge fan of Jeremy Clarkson but caught one of these shows on the tv and just had to buy the dvd. Glad I did he is a great storyteller and keeps your interest from start to finish. Hope that he makes more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2013
Two stories based upon real-life memories; Operation Chariot, the St. Nazaire Raid and Operation Market Garden, the paratrooper drop into Arnhem to secure the bridge.

Excellent, highly descriptive and factually rich re-telling of events and an obvious absolute respect for all those who took part.

Jeremy Clarkson's finest hour? Many people who cannot stand his jokes, witticisms and whinges on Top Gear have commented that these two documentaries are superb. I agree.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)