Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
49
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2015
As an American I did not grow up with Dr. Who but I have been watching it since Christopher Eccleston played the Doctor and became an instant fan. I have enjoyed it a great deal but have giving up on it since Matt Smith left. Just can't seem to enjoy it anymore but i did like this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
If you are a fan of Doctor Who I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Really good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 October 2011
The second part of season 6 is very entertaining indeed. While some may moan at the complex story arc i myself am finding it refreshing that this show does not feel the need to dumb down to a more mainstream audience used to bad soap operas and reality tv and Doctor Who is one of the smartest shows on tv i think.
Starting off with Let's Kill Hitler, a fun enjoyable episode set in Nazi Germany that answers a lot of questions about River Song. Next up is Night Terrors, which is set in a London tower block and is about a frightened little boy. While this episode may be a bit too creepy for very young children, it's good fun for everybody else. Next is The Girl Who Waited which sees Amy Pond who has now become one of the best ever companions seperated from The Doctor and Rory in a waiting room. The God Complex is set in a hotel where every room shows your worst fears and again like Night Terrors may be a bit too much for young children but look out for a very surprising return of a very old monster from the Tom Baker years and what is The Doctor afraid of? Closing Time is the weakest of the episodes here. A light but fun romp that shows the return of Craig, The Doctor's old flatmate played by James Corden and also sees the return of The Cybermen and The Cybermats from the Patrick Troughton years and the ending sets up the very complex finale, The Wedding Of River Song which takes us back to the first episode of season 6, The Impossible Astronaut and sees among others the return of The Silence. The Wedding Of River Song is an excellent episode, as i said it's very complex so you'll have to pay attention watching it and is the best episode in this set. Roll on the christmas special and season 7 next year!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2011
Normally I love Doctor Who, I've watched Doctor Who Classics, the Movie, and all of the series and specials since Doctor Who returned with Christopher Eccleston. BUT Series 6 I found on the whole disappointing. Part I had The Doctor's Wife and The Curse of the Black Spot, both excellent and very good. But Part 2 I can honestly give only two stars: and that because it is still Doctor Who. The climax of Series 6 was, in my opinion, too disappointing for words. If anyone out there is trying out Doctor Who for the first time, please do yourselves a favour and start with anything prior to Series 6. As to the climax, I'm surprised they didn't end it with 'and they all woke up, and it had been a bad dream'. The actors seemed to enjoy it, I'm glad someone did, for I most certainly did not. But as I say, normally I do love Doctor Who. Just not this. Series 6 part 2 is not worth the money.
44 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2011
As the Matt Smith and Steven Moffat era of Doctor Who continues into it's sixth series, the second half continues where the first ended with the engaging storyline of River Song/Melody Pond. Whilst the episodes contained within this second half of the series may be slightly weaker than the first, the acting and story lines are still enjoyable and fun to watch. With his assistants Amy Pond (Karen Gillan) and Rory Williams (Arthur Darvill) along for the ride the episodes have a great emphasis on the dark and complex, which may seem slightly inappropriate for younger viewers. Matt Smith however is the man in question and its his electric performances as the Doctor that continues to push the series forward and make viewers come back for more. For hardcore fans of the series this will ultimately be a must have purchase, but with a complete edition box-set of the entire series soon to be released shortly before Christmas, the wait may just be bearable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
The last 6 episodes of Series 6 attract a lot of maligning for...well, not all that sure, really. This last run of episodes is every bit as audacious, thought-provoking and heartfelt as Doctor Who has ever been. Matt Smith is a complete wonder throughout all of them, wielding total authority and massive screen presence that threatens to eclipse all else - these episodes in particular provide some of his greatest moments, as his Doctor slowly grinds down towards a seemingly inevitable tragedy and in the process re-evaluates certain aspects of his existence (no spoilers!).

The lightning-fast tongue-in-cheek Let's Kill Hitler places him in a challenging face-off between an amoral hellraiser he knows is innocent, and righteous upholders of justice he knows are mistaken. Night Terrors sees him dip into some more of his age-old wisdom to aid a paranoid parent and his even more paranoid son (I found the denouement a tad schmaltzy but nice all the same). The unforgettable The Girl Who Waited finds time to put the Doctor beneath the microscope with gut-wrenching intensity, even in an episode seemingly dedicated to the Ponds' everlasting bond.
The God Complex is a cruel, dramatic and intelligent tale of faith and fear with a truly stirring surprise conclusion, boasting some impressive experimental direction. Closing Time offers a welcome more light-hearted but still valid perspective on (and overdue counterpoint to) the Doctor's worsening ethical conflicts. And that finale...in 45 minutes we're bombarded with striking setpiece after striking setpiece, all infused with Matt Smith's brilliance, and tied into a surprisingly straightforward [for Moffat] story that brings the Doctor at last to his wits' end with the tragic truth of River Song - and his own burgeoning secrets.

The twisting mystery elements and Hollywood sheen of Part One might be absent, but the sheer strength of the Eleventh Doctor and his character journey lets these episodes shine. (And getting them in HD was totally worth it. My eyes were glued to the screen.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
Its been nagging at me for a while now. Whilst I always look forward to Matt Smith episodes there is always a fear of being let down. In other reviews I have gone heavily in defence of the new doctor since I believe he should be given a chance and whilst I agreed Tennant was superb I also believe he had very little left to prove or show us and it was in danger of growing stale. I finally worked out what was bothering me after last night's episode 11.

This new Doctor Who is potentially the best ever. I will stand by that and justify it in a sec. The problem is that all the ingredients are here but it feels like they are afraid to be great so it gets reigned in. The episodes in this series, as with the last are handling childish situations in an adult manner or vice versa. On paper this seems great but the reality is we sometimes (more often than we should)end up with an episode that is neither suitable for adults or children. I am enjoying it all but I fear that some audiences are being alienated. On the other hand I sometimes think they should take the approach of Merlin which is a similar timeslot, and just forget about trying to please two types of audience and just make a really good episode even if it is for an older audience.

The issue is that in many episodes you start to feel the promise of last week's trailers is being let down (like seeing a movie trailer only to realise the best bits were in it). Then just as you start to think its lost the plot there are moments of absolute genius, moments that mean you would watch again just to feel the impact of what you just saw. Series 5 and 6 are littered with such examples ie the end of Vincent and the Doctor, Smith talking to young Amy in the Big Bang, Rory talking to old Amy through the Tardis. The acting of Smith, Gillan and Darvill along with Murray Gold's amazing score suddenly blows everything out the water. Some of the emotions being portrayed show just how brilliant these guys (and gal) are if they would just be allowed off the chain to do more with it. Smith is incredible at showing conflicting emotions, intelligence, childishness, eccentricity and compassion. Gillan has been the best in episodes 10 and 11 of series 6. At the end of episode 11 Amy was showing facial expressions that perfectly mirrored her younger self as a child (I imagine to directly reflect the innocence of the little girl the Doctor befriended). Arthur Darvill is also at his strongest in this series. Some of the recent scenes have actually been some of the most thought provoking and emotionally demanding I have ever seen in a teatime drama.

I am enjoying the longer story arc (being a fan of shows like Babylon5) and I just wish they would commit more to what they are doing. This Doctor can go down in history as the best ever if Moffat and co stop holding back. Keep the intelligent writing, the emotional integrity and the hide behind the sofa moments that define Who but dont be afraid to throw the kitchen sink in now and then. We could do with a couple of moments from the Tennant and Eccleston eras where Matt Smith gets to do a bit more action.
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Adventures across time and space with the time-travelling hero.

Let's Kill Hitler: Nazis! River on the rampage! Regeneration! The TARDIS crash-lands in 1930s Berlin.

Night Terrors: The Doctor must deal with sinister dolls coming to life.

The Girl Who Waited: Amy's trapped in a quarantine facility for victims of an alien plague. Can Rory save her?

The God Complex: The TARDIS lands in a hotel where every visitor's room contains their biggest fears.

Closing Time: The Doctor's final days are upon him, and the Cybermen are waiting.

The Wedding of River Song: All of time and space hangs in the balance, for this is the day the Doctor dies.

27 Aug - 01 Oct 2011
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse