Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2012
Well where do I start really. This book was poorer than Dead in the family & I thought that wasn't possible. Having come to the sookie books somewhat late I have had the chance to read them virtually one after the other and I can pinpoint the timeframe Trueblood had been commissioned because suddenly CH style of writing changed. The most jolting thing for me is the slang used in the TV series is suddenly now commonplace in the book. Even Sookie has started to refer to her fellow humans- yeah we know she is 1 8th fae- as breathers WTF?? and words from 18th century french bayou slang is a language that has suddenly become popular in Sookie world. If this book was a supernatural creature I am afraid it would be a brain dead lumbering Zombie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2017
Was alright lots of things happen in it can't remember any as it been a long time since I have read it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
Great continuation of the Sookie Stackhouse but it ended far too soon and very sudden. It felt unfinished which is very frustrating after waiting a year in anticipation, as I am keen to know what happens between Sookie and Eric, or the story of what Claude and Dermot are up to.
I really hope we don't have to wait a whole another year for the next installment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Great seller, item as described!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Great for all Sookie Stackhouse fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I love the series and this didn't disappoint. Will I ever get bored of sookie? Probably not and then there's always aurora!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
Love this series of books and they are so easy to read. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 September 2011
4 stars because of the price not becuase of the content.
yes, as others have said there are parts that feel a bit like fillers- the alicide in sookies bed - why and what on earth for - it let down both amelia and the fairies but like sookie i'd have said "everyone out " too! - but the main bulk is the entertaining non stop action we've come to expect. sandra pelt turns up again and mr Cataliades ( think thats right) pops in and sookie is aware of how he's been trying to help. I like him and diantha - think they could figure more in future books - he tells sookie a bit more about her past as does dermot her ? cousin? forgot quite what he is. There's a lead in to the fairy world playing a larger part and the C.Dor sookie finds is something she needs to decide what to do with - there has been speculation but i'm clueless - everything i come up with seems not to fit. My best guess is its something to do with her and bill being together given that she doesn't want to become a vampire. but its been left very open as have a number of options. With the queen being dead and Felipe taking over a large area after the recent crisis erics area is under control of Victor - and he doesn't like eric nor eric him. after a number of incidents which impact on others as well as eric it beomes clear one of them has to go and so they plan victors demise - something not without great risk... and its all done very cleverly - once again Bubba comes into his own - he's a great character ( and he loves bill too!! good choice) Poor Pam gets a sad disappointment in this book - she always seems so on top and upbeat but we see her softer side here.
personally i'm pleased the eric/sookie relationship is on the down - its been brewing for a while though the last books with bill stepping up while eric takes care of business first. eric has lost his fun since he got together with sookie - its as if he found the chase more exciting that the result.He started as such a greeat fun flirty character but with a steel core and thats become lost over later books. I feel eric does care for sookie but his main love is eric - he's very ambitous and like to be in control- and to be fair how would he get to his age without looking after no 1. I'm sure his age is a factor in why he seems so more understanding to sookie that bill - he must have had human relationships before whereas for bill this is a first - he thought he was being asked to do something beneath him in seeking out a human in the first place when his queen told him to learn more about sookie. That explains his coldness to her to begin but then he fell in love with her - sookie doesn't realise the pull a Maker has on their child and eric took advantage of that when he made bill tell her why he came to bon temps. (And that made me cry on first AND second reading - a scene with real pathos...) Bill has changed alot overt the books - and its sooie and his love for her that has "humanised" him - just a reminder CH bill for sookie - bill for sookie- please CH :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Dead Reckoning is the eleventh full-length novel in the Sookie Stackhouse series by popular American author, Charlaine Harris. Sookie decides to clean out her attic, and that uncovers something both exciting and disturbing. Both Eric and Sam are noticing the effects of competition in the form of a roadhouse and a Vampire club opened by Victor Madden, new regent of Louisiana. A Molotov cocktail, a quartet of thugs high on Vampire blood and a crazy gun-wielding attacker don’t help business at Merlottes.

Sookie learns quite a bit about her fae history, is unhappy that Eric seems to be keeping a big secret from her, and wonders why the fae left on this side of the faery portal are gathering at the Hooligans club. Sookie has quite a few houseguests, who get their marching orders when they interfere just a bit too much in her life; she finds herself naked under a house with a vampire and finds a naked were in her bed. A body is disposed of in a rather novel manner.

Sookie hosts a baby shower and learns the source of her telepathy; she takes part in an assassination and realises her dismay at how much the vampires enjoy the killing. This instalment has plenty of action and intrigue and quite a few unresolved issues for the next book in the series, Deadlocked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In the Deep South's Bon Temps, Sookie Stackhouse is yet again under threat - housework and waitressing interwoven with episodes full of horror and blood. Humans barely get a look-in, this a novel dominated by supernaturals (some may feel ludicrously so). Vampires, shapeshifters, werewolves, fairies, a witch, an elf and a demon are all at some time or other to visit her house.

There are so many references to past adventures, it is hard to keep track - the novel's flow so swamped with names and explanations that patience becomes severely tried.

Some (many?) may long for a considerable streamlining and firmer sense of direction, greater concentration here on trying to outmanoeuvre two formidable foes - ruthless vampire Victor and crazed Sandra Pelt. With so much meandering en route, final encounters with both lack the impact they should have had.

Charlaine Harris' books have given much pleasure (I think about twenty so far read). For some she can do no wrong. Others, though, long for a return to her best - future novels less of a clutter, with adventures more absorbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse