Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
12
4.9 out of 5 stars
Tutu Revisited - 2CD & DVD
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 21 May 2011
branford marsalis was quoted as saying that in comparing two of the greatest electric bass players to share the stage with miles davis,ie darryl jones and marcus miller that jones was the bass player and miller was the "bass guitarist" hinting that miller's approach was the more "guitaristic" of the two hmmm maybe? but I know this! miller is probably the greatest groove player on electric bass of them all,I submit splatch from this set as exhibit one.Alex hahn and christian scott on alto and trumpet respectively are exceptionally talented young players and burn away on top of the rythmn section impressively throughout.federico pena handles all keyboard textures expertly in the background and also holds his own when given his turn,especially on splatch taking chances and squeezing in every last note and nuance allowed as his bar and beat allowance disappears.ronald bruner is a young powerhouse on drums stoking up a fire behind the band that never seems to dissapate.as a lover of straight jazz and funk I was not dissapointed here.marcus miller and his band are presented here in pristine sound and vision grooving deliciously with marcus flying the flag in the great tradition of bassplayers from ray brown to the present day infinity and beyond! magnificent.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
One of the Best Live Box Sets I Have Ever Heard and Seen ,, Miller and his Band Totally Blow me away Playing The Songs From TUTU .. Brilliant ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2016
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
I bought Tutu and Amandla back in the 80's, seem to remember Marcus Miller produced or played on both.

This is something else, it's good to be involved in the original but this, IMO, transcends the late, great Miles Davis' work. It's fresher, it's more vibrant.

One for the collection.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
This album received 4 stars in a review in Jazzwise magazine and a great review. Having played the album I can see why. Over 2 hours of fantastic concert music and a DVD of the concert. At this price - a steal!!! If you like the original Tutu album then you cannot fail to like this.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
I actually saw this set (for next to nothing) at a combined wine and jazz festival in Spain, rather than in Lyon, where this was recorded, so I suppose I should really say "Muchas gracias" or whatever the Catalan equivalent is, but thanks anyway to the person who suggested I go.

Although I was fond of earlier Miles Davis stuff I wasn't aware of Tutu in the 80's, or even that Davis was still recording. And to be honest, even if I had heard of it, I doubt if I would have been interested, given the poor reviews from jazz critics and given that I don't usually like funk. But I guess that I'll have to go back and listen to the original now.

Miller is justly famous for his virtuoso bass playing, but I also particularly liked the times when he switched to bass clarinet. It was good to hear the combination of brass, sax and woodwind playing together - a tone combination rarely heard either in classical music or jazz.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
What can I say....music at its best. Huge Marcus Miller fan and happy to play his music all day long....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2011
went to see this concert the month before this was filmed at the barbican in London,
what can i say truly outstanding,to own it on CD and DVD brings back so many memories
of that night and (memories of miles when we seen him two months before his death playing tracks from tutu)all truly superb musicians Alex Han and christian Scott gel so well together just like Kenny Garrett and patches Stewart from Marcus's old band, Marcus is his usual cool self a master of all his trades, favorite tracks well that's a hard one but here goes splatch, for the Adam holzman keyboard solo, Hannibal,human nature.
sound quality on CD superb, picture and sound on DVD are truly outstanding.you owe it yourself to bag this classic piece of music.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2011
Marcus Miller, in my opinion, will have to go down as one of the all-time greatest Jazz Legends. Because that is exactly what he is - a jazz musician of the highest calibre! When Ken Burns released his Jazz Collection, he missed out one vital musical genius and that was Marcus Miller, who is just as much a part of the History of American Jazz than the great Duke Ellington himself. Miller is a musical genius, a true artist whose creative ability reflects that of a fine oil painting as Marcus manages to create sonic landscapes that resemble nothing short of a heavenly dream - and that is exactly what Tutu Revisited is - a sonic landscape set in a heavenly dream. Marcus is not just a musician but an artist. He would have made a fine painter because all of his compositions are indeed colourful! Make no mistake, Miller has made his landmark in the history and future of jazz but I guess he will always be remembered as a Jazz Bass Guitar Player but he so much more than. He is a Multi-Instrumentalist and Producer. He can play just about anything he puts his hand too. He plays Saxophone, Clarinet (Bass Clarinet), Drums, Piano and Guitar. The only instrument I have never heard him play is Trumpet but he could probably play that just as well Miles, like he could probably play the Saxophone just as well Charlie Parker, the Piano as well as Duke Ellington, Drums as well as Buddy Rich and the Guitar as well as Wes Montgomery. However, he plays Bass Guitar and in particular he plays Jazz Bass Guitar. While Jaco Pastorius may go down in history as "The World's Greatest Bass Guitar Player Ever" and his considered as the Jimi Hendrix of The Bass Guitar, Marcus Miller will have to go down in history as the "The World's Greatest Jazz Bass Guitarist Ever"! Marcus's playing style is groove driven. He is the ultimate groove maestro! And this is evident throughout Tutu Revisited. He is also a very melodic player as he proves on his fretless bass. His music is angelic and everlasting!

Marcus Miller showcases some of the finest talent on the jazz scene today and apart from Christian Scott, there are two players worthy of a mention.

Ronald Bruner Jr (Drums)
Buddy Rich was considered, indeed billed, "The World's Greatest Drummer". Harvey Mason is and was probably considered "The Funky Drummer". Ronald Bruner Jr should be billed and considered as "The Groovy Drummer". Because that is exactly what he is, a groovy and indeed funky drummer. If Buddy Rich goes down as "The World's Greatest Drummer Ever", Ronald Bruner Jr should be recognised and remembered as "The World's Second Greatest Drummer Ever". His talent is explosive and his rhythmical grooves and creativity compliment Miller's deeply funky bass riffs. Ronald Bruner Jr is undeniably "Today's World's Greatest Drummer" listen out for his percussive mind-blowing performance on "Don't Lose Your Mind" because Ronald "The Groover" Bruner steals the show. Ronald Bruner Jr, a born Jazz Legend and very possibly "The World's Greatest Jazz Drummer (Ever)"! He is most definitely "The World's Greatest Groove Drummer"!

Alex Han (Saxophone)
Like Ronald Bruner Jr stealing the show on "Don't Lose Your Mind", Alex Han steals the show on "In A Sentimental Mood" with his performance. A Young Jazz Lion and a Legend in the making! His playing style is emotion driven and thrives on Bruner's drumming groove and Miller bass riffs. Certainly one to listen out for in the future!

Top Tracks are:

1. Splatch - another heavy dose of funk driven by another Thriller Miller Bass Guitar riff and Ronald Bruner Jr "The Groovy Drummer"!
2. In A Sentimental Mood - undoubtedly the most beautiful modernised rendition of a timeless classic that is a timeless classic in itself!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2017
The whole family has played this again and again. The musicianship is impeccable, warm and lively. The virtuosity of each band member is breath-taking. The original Tutu pieces come across just as well. Is there life for them after Miles? There absolutely has to be.
The DVD is most excellent. Mr Miller comes across as an exceptional musician/player/composer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Afrodeezia
£14.99

Need customer service? Click here