Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
14
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2012
The product was delivered without prior advertisement that the packaging and installation guidance was only in French. The CD had a WinTV North America PDF installation guide for WinTV 7 CD version 2.4.

The Hauppauge UK support website has a version CD 2.5 and the most recent drivers available for download.

Installing the latest drivers and more recent CD 2.5 resulted at first in failure to scan/detect the main channels BBC1, BBC2, ITV1, Ch 4, Ch 5. The scanned channel list started at BBC4. I use the Crystal Palace transmitter, and receive all channels without problem on the same roof aerial via a TV set top box.

I signed up on the Hauppauge UK support website to look for a solution on the appropriate forum. Submitting a post was possible after several tries. Eventually a forum reply suggested checking the connectors on the USB stick, and this fixed the problem.

There was on the support website a pro forma for messages. The acknowledgement gave an undertaking (not kept) to reply within two days, and supplied a reference number and a phone number for the technical support team 020 7378 0202. It is not in service. For UK support try instead: 020 3405 1717.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
Very easy to set up on Windows 7 (using Windows Meida Centre). Detected all the channels first time, without the need for a signal booster. The USB pigtail (extention) was a very welcome sight, and stops the need to have the back of the computer pushed far out from the wall. I'm rather surprised that Hauppage haven't been able to produce a similarly priced dual-tuner Freeview HD tuner, but this does a fine job as it is.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
I had immense trouble getting it to work with Windows 8 and had a lot of support from UK Tech Support (very helpful) but having got it working, it got worse with use. It appears to fill a buffer and then stop and this could happen in less than one minute. Altering the buffer size did not help. It was the same with the WinTV software as with Windows Media Centre. When it worked, it was great but can't recommend. Ended up buying EyeTV that worked well from the very beginning.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
Very happy with it, got it working easily, works very well when plugged into a nomral aerial. The little ariel supplied didn't do anything when I tried it, although getting a tv signal seems quite difficult sometimes.
Overall feel it's a good productfrom the use I've had with it so far.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
Delivery excellent, minor problem (mine) resolved, very good, Everything worked except the remote control , however the remote control for Windows Media Player does work so it was not too great a problem and on the plus side I know what all the buttons are for. I contacted Amazon regarding the remote and using a bit of common sense we resolved this problem as well. Altogether happy with the product and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
I have tried several USB & PCI DVB-T tuners over the years and virtually all of them apart from Hauppauge and Nebula (which no longer exists) have difficulties in set up & operation.
The USB Hauppauge unit, providing it is running ver.7 of their software installs easily and is robust & confident in operation. Great product !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Very happy with it, got it working easily, works very well when plugged into a normal aerial. The little aerial supplied works most times. Overall feel it's a good product from Hauppauge.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Provides the functions of the internal card in a tiny package. The same recording functions as the card, but these are a tad clumsy. I have not managed to set up using the epg.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
The Hauppauge duet receiver worked straight out of the box as I had a previous Hauppauge receiver installed. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2014
Works well so far - previous products by this maker have been disappointing, but they still seem to be market leaders
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)