Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
83
4.7 out of 5 stars
A History of Ancient Britain: Celtic Britain [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 August 2011
The title of this series 'Celtic Britain, should really be called 'Ancient Britain Part 2, as it is a direct follow on from Neil Oliver's previous series. Picking up from the end of the Bronze Age we learn about Iron Age Britons and the impact of the Roman invasions on british society. If you liked the first series then you should like this, with Mr Oliver continuing to exude almost over the top enthusiasm for his subject matter. Other reviewers have said that the 'ancient/celtic britain programmes are a lazy form of learning and this is very true but these documentaries are introductions. If you want to delve deeper then you can always read a book on the subject.
Perhaps Neil Oliver will make one more series. "A History of Dark Age Britain" starting with Post-Roman Britain and ending with the Norman Invasion. That would be a great way to round off the series.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
Great product great price delivered on time Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2015
My husband loved this as he is wel into history
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2011
A great followup series to the excellent 'History of Ancient Britain'Historian Neil Oliver
continues the Celtic History of Britain from 1000 B.C. before the Roman Invasion of 43 A.D. and up to the departure of the Roman Army in 400 A.D.
It looks at the many technological developments made by the Celtic tribes of Britain
,also how life was in their communities and how the subsequent Roman Invasion affected the inhabitants of Britain and the new Celtic/Roman culture that emerged from this.
I really enjoyed watching this series on the BBC and would recommend it to all lovers of History and their is some stunning cinmeatography added to the mix of history and this complements the overall feel to the programme.
Neil Oliver is enthusiastic and engaging as a presenter and this endears you to the content of the programmes.
0Comment| 67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2013
An intriguing and highly informative look at Iron Age Britain from 2000 BCE to 400 CE. A real treat for enthusiasts of archaeology and ancient artefacts, many of which Oliver examines in detail with the aid of a host of experts. He also examines several ancient villages , caves and mines.
The Age of Iron mainly involves prehistoric excavations, while the follow up The Age of Warriors examines the political, social and economic system too and the soical changes that led to greater instrumentalities following the more utopian and communitarian Bronze Age. It gives us a look at the Celtic kings and Druids, the latter who actually had more power and influence than the kings and chieftains. The second two parts The Age of Invasion and the Age of Occupation examine how the Roman rule of Britain effected the native populations, both subjected to cruel Roman repression but having also a profound cultural influence.
Fascinating look at the interactions of the Celtic tribes of South-eastern England at the time, the Iceni, Catovelauni, Trinovantes and Belgae. As well as tracing the Boudicca revolt and the atrocities Boudicca's Iceni carried out against fellow Britons after they sacked the Roman held cities of Camuldonunum and Londinium.
An excellent perceptive look into Ancient British history, and the roots of that island's people and culture.
Great footage of the British countryside.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ignore the one star temper tantrum review above.

This is a excellent series and is a nice sequel to the "History of Ancient Britain" and gives a excellent overview of a great chunk of this Sceptered Isle's history.

Yes Celtic is perhaps a lazy term but for non-experts like me it fits the bill for your expectations of what this programme will be about(I have a Archeologist friend who also goes foaming at the mouth like the above reviewer about context the term "Celt" can be used)

Niel is a good presenter, obviously know what he is talking about and is enthusiastic, which shows on screen. You will love this if you liked the earlier series (and "A History of Scotland" too for that matter)
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
neil oliver has done it again and provides a surreal account of our ancient ancestors with a graphic oration as well as artifacts and vivid proof of our past,he might not persuade all of you but all i have to say is well done neil and the bbc for this excellent account nothing else comes close
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2014
I am not English but a real fan of the BBC documentary style. This set of DVDs is not in that style. The is too much repetition in the manner of US style docos. But my main gripe is way too much of Neil Oliver. I'm probably exagerating but it seems that 50% of the screening time we have him as the dominant part of the image or he is standing on some rocky headland/outcrop/striding through a field while the camera swoops around him. Might do wonders for his ego but just irritates me.
If you can over look those points it is a good buy so 3/5 stars.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2014
I bought this as my daughter is taking a Classical Civilisation GCSE and I thought it would provide a nice overview of Roman and pre-Roman Britain. There are two discs, the first one dealing with the Bronze and Iron ages and the second talking about the Celts and the invasion of Britain, and Britain in Roman times.
It was most enjoyable and I don't know how I missed it as a TV series. Neil Oliver is an engaging presenter, enthusiastic about his subject and a minefield of knowledge. He visits lots of places in Britain and really brings the history he is describing to life. He looks at lots of artefacts but this is never dull. Rather, he describes their backgrounds vividly and you can really imagine the people of the time. If he'd been my history teacher I'd have definitely gone beyond O level! My 14 year old daughter also enjoyed it immensely.

We both found Neil Oliver rather attractive - in 14 year old speak, "he's hot". (I'm far more his age, anyway).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 March 2013
Neil Oliver's second DVD in the `History of Ancient Britain' series - usefully sold separately for those with little interest in earlier times - continues his chronological narrative into the age of Celtic and Roman Britain. Its style, however, is a carbon copy of the first volume.

The four hour-long episodes here are: 1. Age of Iron, in which we learn of more agricultural revolutions and of the problematic `gap' between the Bronze and Iron Ages; 2. Age of Warriors, in which the status of fighters and defenders increases as the land fills up; 3. Age of Invasion, the arrival of the Romans; and 4. Age of Romans, in which he reviews many aspects of Roman life in Britain.

The DVD ends at this point. One would have hoped that Oliver might have continued with another series into the Dark Ages, but instead his latest interest (at the time of writing) is the Vikings.

As well as archaeology, Oliver brings into discussion issues such as kingship, the `religion' of the druids, language, and culture, concluding that there is no evidence of a Celtic ethnic or racial identity; rather, theirs was `just' a common heritage.

Again, along his travels, Oliver gets to handle and drool over some seminal archaeological exhibits. He also engages with some of the greatest experts on the period, such as Barry Cunliffe, Niall Sharples, Miranda Green, and Phil Crummy.

There are also, of course, a lot of ponderables and unanswerable questions to be chewed over and digested along the way, as well as plenty of `perhapses' and `it's as thoughs'. But often Oliver's thrust of argument is too assured, and he can be careless with details, such that the Antonine Wall was the furthest north that the Romans reached (there are forts in Perthshire), or that the wearer of a Chi-Ro ring must have been a Christian (the wearer may have just liked the pattern). There are some strange statements: for instance that the Britons could never have conceived of gladiatorial combat.

But these criticisms are minor compared to the amazing story that Oliver tells about the inhabitants who lived and died in Britain over a period of just over a thousand years.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)