Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
33
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Originally this started off as small pieces in a newspaper, but over the years as it gradually grew it was compiled into a book. This edition does have an active table of contents, but for some unkonwn reason it doesn't come up on the go to menu, so click on beginning, and go back one page.

I know that a lot of people are aware of this 'dictionary' and what it is, but for those who aren't, Ambrose Bierce compiled an original dictionary and used his sense of humour in saying what words mean. For example marriage is 'the state or condition of a community of a master, mistress and two slaves, making in all, two.'

It is the blend of such cynicism and his satire which has made this a classic.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
This is a publication that you can delve into from time to time and always come up with an amusing and clever definition that whilst a spoof generally hits the mark.
e.g. POLITENESS -The most acceptable hypocrasy.
TWICE- Once too often.
Highly recommended
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
Having read several examples from this book over the years, it was a pleasure to have the whole book - and free too!
Ambrose Bierce's jaundiced view of mankind portrayed through the dictionary format interspersed with poetry is both amusing and thought provoking.
A great "pick and put down" book
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2012
I bought this 'dictionary' because it appealed to my sense of humour. It is the funniest book I have read in a long time, with it's interesting, often hilarious, twists on official definitions of many words and phrases in the English Language. My only criticism is that the font changes quite often, which is why I gave it four stars rather than five. However, that's a small price to pay for so many laughs. I never knew the devil could be so witty!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
This was downloaded for nothing, so cannot complain. The books that are available for free download are not up to date or best sellers, but there are some good classics and books of interest. Worth looking through for what's on offer !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
I'm still looking for a decently produced (and inexpensive)version of this classic - and this one isn't it, albeit free; the problem is navigation, mainly, needing hundreds of clicks to get from A-Z. There is little spacing and the text used to denote quotes is big and ugly. The search goes on...
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
this is a strange book. The writer gives many definitions of ordinary words and quotations from other writers that are not funny at all, at least not to a 21st century reader. However others are very amusing and satirical and could be used today. As the book is free, read it and make your own mind up, but I would recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2012
I'm a fan of old literature and have heard about this book. It is racy (for it's day) and is a must for all scholars of archaic writing. Some of the descriptions wouldn't be out of place for some of today's characters!! Buy it, you might like it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
Ambrose Bierce must be a very witty author, I found this to be verry funny!
The definitions are different but that's what's outstanding of this humorus free classic!
FROM LUIGI442WII
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
I'd heard of this but never expected to see it free on kindle. Only part way through it but I'm already hooked. Religious types are likely to find it disturbing or offensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)