Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 July 2017
Although the protagonist of the story, Helen, irritated me because of her self-righteousness and overpowering sense of religious duty, this book is such a precise description of domestic abuse and a testimony to the lack of power women had in marriage that it is an enlightening read. Anne Bronte's prose and character study feel as brilliant as her sisters. THE ISLAND GIRL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 August 2017
A superb book and highly under-rated. So rich and it draws you in. Some of the scenes come alive for you and stay with you for ever. I read this years ago and can picture some of the characters now. I have recommended this book to many people because it is one of the most wrenching books, I think, from 19th Century english literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
An underrated novel from the least know sibling of the morose Yorkshire trio. Often described as the 'longest epistolary novel in the English Language' It has a modern resonance which belies the short cloistered life of its author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 October 2017
Very well written, gripping story, with unforgettable, quite realistic characters. A reminder that the worst traps are the ones we choose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2017
An under-appreciated classic by Anne Bronte. Wonderful. Frankly, just as good as her sisters' best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2017
I found the above to be a very good writer with good descriptions of the different characters. It was a lovely book to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2017
Found it hard to get into the pace of the book at the beginning but it is beautifully written. More a fireside read than a beach read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2017
I wasn't really taken by this at all. I like many classics and try to read a few each year but this one personally wasn't for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2017
Started off well and I enjoyed this book until just over half way and then it became a bit heavy going and drawn out. Not my favourite classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 April 2017
A really brilliant love story with a great ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)