Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2012
I downloaded this because it was free but wasn't expecting very much. As it turns out the initial history section is excellent and better than many expensive modern history books covering the Celts.

Kindle formatting is also good - all in all and excellent addition to your collection if you are at all interested in the subject.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This book is clearly from an earlier age writing about an even earlier age. From that point of view it is not the last word on the subject. However, in spite of the limitations of the knowledge at the time it is still an extremely well written and well researched book and opens many avenues of enquiry for anyone wishing to delve deaper into the subject era. It is very readable and accessable and a worthy contribution to the subject.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Cadw'r ffydd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
Enjoyed this :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2016
:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2013
I'm an enthusiast for Celtic legend but found this really boring. I didn't keep it on my kindle though it was a free download.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Dry and scholarly but factually comprehensive examination of the body of Celtic myths and legends. You don't get the poetry and epicism of Welsh and Irish oral tradition but the facts and a small amount of analysis make for fascinating reading.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2015
Thomas William Rolleston has presented the reader with a chunk of a taster into Celtic Mythology. With such a vast amount to cover, he has highlighted a selection of Myths/legends focusing predominantly on the early Irish books and the later Welsh Celtic series. The on going debate of what is historical and what is mythical has never been answered, but there are reasonable explanations/theories how or why both sides of the coin have become intermingled. He touches upon an enormous range from the Ulster cycle to the Cymraeg saga's and highlights significant differences between style and cultural aspects of both, and the interesting theory why pre-believed legend King Arthur may have well generated from Brittany in France at a much later period, and not originated in Welsh tradition.
For somebody wishing to have an overview of Celtic myths and legends both as historical and fictional, this would be ideal. If the reader just wishes for myths in the form of stories only, there are other books which cover a broader variety of such works. Again, if you seek historical fact and theory alone, this work presents some of the main themes, but not them all.
Over all I found it a very enjoyable read with interesting ideas woven competently throughout.
A good stepping stone into the pool of Celtic myths and legends
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
I read this book,and I am now educated. I have read a lot of other books on this and similar subjects, but this was in my opinion by far the best.

easily explained, and written in plain english , but also written like a story, very easy to follow because one section led easily on to the next,
I would read this auther again, both for pleasure and for study.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)