Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 23 July 2017
A gentle classic of times gone past. Comedic in shovel loads, the banter is hysterically funny at times. Interestingly, this was initially written as a type of travel guide to the area!! -(which it actually does do too!) I think, until the humour in it was clearly seen! In any event, this is a must read and one for the TBR pile if you've not had the pleasure of reading it yet. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Introduced to snippets of this book by a teacher in the 60's at primary school, went on to have a well worn paperback copy of my own. Read this as a kindle version recently and it has lost none of its charm. Some of the ideas and fashions are from a long gone era, but the relections of the author have lost none of its meaning. Recomend as a holiday read or need a break from 'my world' escape.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Dull as hell. It was so dull I stopped reading it. I only downloaded this book due to the fact there is a Wire Haired Fox Terrier involved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Title seems to suggest three stars but of course deserves five. Fishing on the Thames at Old Windsor in September so will take my old paperback copy along for a good laugh when not getting any bites, which tends to be quite often.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2017
Good book, avoid the kindle free version as it has so many words joined together it takes away from the enjoyment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2017
A very silly but still amusing book.

Trouble is, you end up being jealous of their freedom to be so silly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2017
A delightful evocation, told with gentle wit, of a journey in which the incidents along the way highlight the absurdities of the everyday. A compelling story told with warmth, it is about friendship, humour and a snapshot of a changing world at the end of the 19th century.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
Such a wonderful book!! The pages where he describes them putting up a tent-genuinely laughing out loud!! It's funny, but also charming and so many times I could identify exactly with what he was saying.

Very accessible, fun book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Starts off well, quite a lot of humour in it, but it seemed to flag a bit in the middle. Not sure I'd recommend it as it wasn't my type pf book - this was a book club choice - but quite amusing in parts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2014
My dad read me this when I was little and, although it is a tad dated, it is as funny now as it was back then. Jerome draws his characters beautifully, and I dare anyone not to laugh at Uncle Podger's picture hanging malarkey! Read it, do. after all, it's free.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse