Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
14
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.55+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2012
I had been looking forward to buying Ledisi's new album "Pieces Of Me" as her previous effort "Turn Me Loose" was a very upbeat and funky collection of cleverly written songs. I must say that, although this album has a very relaxed feel to it, I am a little disappointed with it as it does not have that much variety, feels quite rushed and is portraying a much more commercial sound.

The title track "Pieces Of Me" is quite promising and uplifting and "So Into You" has a groovy rhythm and bass line, but they both have quite a repetitive melody and are quite safe compared to her previous work. Ledisi lets loose on "Bravo", the highlight of the album, as it is an up tempo and fiery R&B track which allows her to explore her vocal range. Although "Stay Together" is quite a bland and sleepy slow jam, the blend of Ledisi and Jaheim's vocals is simply magical. "Coffee" is a very funky trademark Ledisi track and was released on her "Soulsinger" album 10 years ago, but I do wonder whether including an old song on a new release means that she is running out of inspiration. "Shut Up" has a distinctive Funk influence with a catchy beat and "Shine" and "BGTY" are equally hip and fun, but these tracks will possibly appeal to a younger audience and are not really my cup of tea. "Hate Me" is a suave Blues inspired track with a punchy chorus and "I Miss You" is quite an atmospheric ballad with sophisticated arrangements. "Raise Up" is another highlight as it has an irresistible melody and a funky vibe and "I Gotta Get To You" ends the album in style being another suave slow jam.

The title suggests that it is just pieces of Ledisi and I agree - we do not get to hear the full extent of Ledisi's talent and superb vocal range on this album, we just get glimpses. This is a shame as I thought she had finally found her niche in the raw, edgy and funky music displayed on "Turn Me Loose", but it seems that she may have just settled for being commercially fashionable which, in the case of "Pieces Of Me", does not leave me convinced. Nevertheless, it is a reasonably good album regardless of its flaws.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
When you think you've heard it all and you will not be touched again by someone in the music industry, take a chance to get pieces of Ledisi and you will change your mind... I felt like discovering something really original, like experimenting a new world, She's one to watch, for all soul music lovers, this is a good CD, you will not regret your bargain, I can tell it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
This girl is amazing. Love, love, love this album. The first 2 tracks have been on repeat but rest of album is wicked too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I brought this for one track mainly but now I love them all. Ledsi voice is , enchanting, strong but mellow. The words speak to me and I am sure many of you, especially the ladies will relate to what her lyrics is saying. Delivered quickly as per usual , good condition for a brilliant price. I love it. Treat yourself to some new music you won't be disappointed. The good thing is you can listen to a taster, via the MP3 so try before you buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
"Turn Me Loos" was Ledisi's most commercially successful release, topping Billboard's R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and peaking within the Top 20 of the Billboard 200.
The 2009 album also earned two Grammy nominations to go with the pair earned by 2007's Lost And Found.
On her fourth Verve Forecast disc, the singer continues to work beside Rex Rideout, Ivan Barias, and Carvin Haggins while adding Salaam Remi, Mike City, and Chuck Harmony -- all of whom are among adult contemporary R&B's most prominent and successful studio hands -- and a handful of up-and-comers.
"Hate Me" is a hot Southern soul ballad and "Shut Up" packs forthright attitude with a roomy but unshakeable beat, yet the album does not quite have the bite of Turn Me Loose.
It could use a couple throw-you-around-the-room rockers in the vein of Turn Me Loose's "Runnin'" and "Knockin' " although some listeners will be so struck by the sustained high level of confidence and grace that it won't be an issue. A. Kellman

Fav Tracks: "So Into You", "Shut Up", "Coffee" and "I Miss You Now".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
Ledisi at her best. Anazing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2015
Love my Ledisi cd!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Beautiful tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2011
Much improved on the previous overtly rocky album, this album returns to the soul singer/lost and found flavas which suit her oh-so-soulful voice. A couple of tracks will get heavy radioplay and more importantly are MEMORABLE in terms of song structure. Only one rock-influenced track - can forgive her for that! This has the potential to make it into 2011's top 5 soul albums. A welcome return to form from a vastly under-rated soul diva.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Amazing album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£18.24

Need customer service? Click here