Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2014
First Class Service, no problems what so ever. Thanks very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 August 2012
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Despite all the blurb about full HD, image stabilisation, and 5 times optical zoom, the fact is that anyone expecting a full HD experience with this Toshiba P100 is likely to be left rather disappointed, even with a price tag of just eighty quid on Amazon.

Whilst it has a full HD 1080/30fps setting, perhaps it's true usage is the HD 720/30fps and VGA settings for upload of videos onto websites. The full HD setting might suggest high quality (its bit rate is just shy of 10Mbits; compare this to "proper" full HD camcorders which typically record at 17Mbits to 24 Mbits), but sadly the picture is very grainy & noisy in anything other than the strongest daylight. Similarly, for still pictures, the top resolution of 16Mp sounds good, but the sensor is tiny and the 8Mp squeezed onto it display a lot of noise in consequence. Interpolating this to 16Mp (i.e. creating extra fake pixels) compounds the bad news even further.

So whether it's video or stills, when viewed on a large TV the quality of either is frankly rather embarrassing. In fact, you're likely to get no worse a result by using the video & photo functions on your smartphone (iPhone, Samsungs, HTCs, etc). And that really tells you all you need to know about this sector of the market; small & cheap camcorders are now obsolete due to the relentless squeeze of the smartphone.

However, staying closer to its true purpose, if you're looking to upload videos to the web at 640 or 720, it's good enough for that. Or if your 10-year old child wants to record some stuff for fun, it's ok enough for that too. For anything else, you'll need to move upmarket and buy a proper camcorder.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This device definitely comes under the category " you get what you pay for". You can make your own minds up about that...

The unit itself is quite smart if slightly retro in styling in smart piano black which does show your fingerprints unfortunately. It is nice and simple to use with a camera and video icons to press at the appropriate time and a pause button just underneath. Technophobes will be quite happy with the ease of use but probably notice the lack of build quality also. The screen is nice and bright and good enough for the job. Touch it to enter the simple menus and change effects such as black and white, negative etc. It's not top-end smartphone quality and you can't flick through your phots and films or zoom in and out - it's a case of the old school forward/back buttons instead but it's to be expected at this price point. A basic canvas case with belt hoop is helpfully provided.

Performance is so-so. Used with an Ultima Pro SDHC class 10 mem card, there was some jagging on playback on my laptop and the zoom does take a while to focus. Stills are ok, but you would no doubt get better pics from a similarly priced compact camera. It can take an age to focus and actually take the shot and the results lack colour and depth unfortunately.

Overall, this is an easy to use bit of kit that does what it says on the tin (very averagely) but even at well under a hundred pounds it's difficult to recommend.

** Update - it now starts to lock up when in use and you have to remove the battery to restart it. Not good **
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Styling is acceptable, although obviously 100% plastic - at least you can say it's light. Controls are functional and the interface is easy enough once learned. The main problem is the image quality, which for both stills and videos is average at best. Firstly, this cam is only really usable outdoors. The level of grain/noise (and thus detail loss) indoors is extreme. The video will look like a decent webcam, but no better. Stills look like they are from a smartphone without flash.

Outdoors, things get a lot better, and this can produce decent video at 720p in decent light. The 1080 is pointless though, because the bitrate isn't sufficient to take advantage of the resolution. 17mbps is the minimum I'd ever use, and this (I think) maxes out at 10mbps.

In summary, I would not buy this, and would probably spend twice as much on a camcorder with higher bitrate, bigger sensor, and better optics.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2013
A great little, cheap camera for those of us who just want to record some stuff! Its not got the best quality video, but as an all round camera its pretty awesome.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
bought as a gift the person it was given to states it easy to use and is very pleased with the quality of the film would recommend to family and friends.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Tried setting date/time but when the camera was switched off the date/time reverted to the factory setting? This means you either have to set the date/time every time you use the camera or the date for all your photo's/video's will be 00:00am on 01/01/2010?? There is a thread on the Toshiba Support Forum but to date no solution. Spoils a great little camera!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Firstly I like the design. The pistol grip is very easy to sue and the touch screen nice and bright. What controls there are are laid out nicely and easy to reach whilst in operation.

The camera came nicely appointed with a lanyard and to my surprise a puch and a small tripod. A great initial impression. And some cables for viewing on tv etc.

However I found both the video and picture quality to be grainy and quite frankly nothing like the full HD it promises. Now yes one must keep in mind the price when making comparisons but to be honest the quality is not better that that shot on my iphone 4. In fact the quality on my iPhone I would say is better. However yes my iphone is a lot more expensive but I have that with me anyway. And for that matter most compacts, even lower end ones should produce the same if not better results.

It is small, compact and if just shotting some stuff for the web then it is ideally appointed. If however you are looking to record your precious memories then I would say invest elsewhere. The market for these I would say are the waterproof versions that you could use on holiday to catch some family moments.

Amazing low price but doesn't offer anything above a premium smartphone in my opinion. If you can afford to then look elsewhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2012
Toshiba P100 is an excellent pocket camcorder. It is compact and very easy to use. The picture quality is very clear and sharp for a camcorder of this price.
I would highly recommend this product to anyone wanting to buy a pocket camcorder but don't want spend over £150.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2011
I bought this item hoping for better luck, my previous Camileo Pro HD had been a great camera, but the first one broke, then the warranty replacement started to only switch on when it felt like it.

In the meantime I bought a Sanyo Xacti VPC CG20, great, easy to use, but the screen got broken, so i looked for an upgrade, enter the Camileo P100.

Looked good, tried it but the replay button caused the camera controls to freeze, I could only reset it by removing the battery, so I requested a replacement. This worked fine for a week, then developed the same problem.

I would suggest you do not buy this camera for the follwing reasons:
1) reliability
2) Zoom controls and video buttons make operation clumsy.
3) on screen menu is a pain in the ass to use, previous Camileo Pro HD had a simple joystick, the P100 is too fiddley.

I am now waiting for a refund, there are better cameras out there, don't buy the P100.
Mike Beasant
11 Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)