Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2015
Mill does tend to adopt a fairly waffling prose, however if you want the basics of what it means to have individual liberty and in what ways that can be associated and lived in within a democracy than this is your book.

The chapters are laid out well but themes and thoughts are often repeated throughout, so have patience to find things that are new. In fact to get a broad overview of a chapter you can do this by reading the first and last paragraphs. This will miss several examples and illustrations in which he cements these ideas within history and in a way that may be useful to understand.

Having said this this is a pretty easy book to read, so if you are a beginner in philosophy or the subject of liberty and utilitarianism then this is perfect. What is especially good is the last chapter (5) which is just of applications which uses his theories and thoughts and applies them to practical instances. This is useful to get to grips the theory, and if you study philosophy a perfect thing to draw on when trying to explain and discuss Mill.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I really think this is an inspiring book. I wish that everyone would read it. Mill argues for liberty with skill and with, what for him, might be classed as passion. He takes every one of the democratic freedoms, of speech, of association, of movement and argues for each one. he shows the forms of tyranny and the more subtle ones as well such as that of mass public opinion against the deviant or the independant. His "If all the World but one,were of one opinion argument is well known but not well known enough.
To read Kill is to understand the value of argument and discussion as opposed to squabbling and fighting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
This is the ultimate work on Liberty and Freedom by one of the ultimate free and critical thinkers.
It should be required reading in every secondary school and university.
It shows why people should be free to choose their own way, with as little outside interference as possible.
It is very readable and understandable.
Recommended+++
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2014
A Classic. Nothing else need be said but for the imposition that there need to be a least a certain umber of words in a review. Now that I've reached said number I can end review here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Justifications of persons' liberty and boundaries of that liberty in both of narrow personal and broad state perspectives.
It is strongly recommended for every lawyer or a any other social active person.
The problem of the book I found is the complexity of the language. One may easily get lost among parts of a single sentence.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Nice ideas on the freedom of speech and the foundations to modern society
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
easy to read on my kindle, its also easy to navigate chapters, which not all ebooks are. Came in very useful for one of my modules for my degree, I had to read loads of different thinkers so the fact that this was free was just great and instant delivery to my kindle was good too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
Interesting book, and quite thought provoking, glad I've read it now
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Excellent. Learned a great deal from this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
just the job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.90

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)