Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
21
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
As much as I try to get into Kant's way of thinking I simply do not agree... Yeah I understand he is one of the greatest but if you are a more 'classical' philosopher steer away from Immanuel Kant and any philosophy which pretty much tells you to function like a ROBOT. I.e. today's society. That being said, Mr Kant disrespects when he critics something written by Aristotle yet the BASIS of his philosophy comes from Aristotle. I can't respect a philosopher who disrespects his very own roots - and BTW before anyone says Aristotle disrespected Plato - that is NOT true. While Aristotle critics Plato he shows RESPECT. There lies the difference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
A complicated read, requiring a lot of concentration and desire to complete. Although I have not finished it, the ideas presented are fascinating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Undeniably one of the defining and masterpieces of literature. Yes; a ‘difficult’ read. However, it is well worth the effort. I suggest reading it in small batches over a period of time though.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
Great to have this seminal work free on the kindle.
(six more words are required apparently)(six more words are required apparently)(six more words are required apparently)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2012
I bought this following listening to Sandels lecture on Justice on his series of Harvard lectures. I am glad I had Sandel to explain.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2015
I take Kant's point about there being certain knowledge a priori, using Mathematics is a good example. The circumstances, and time it was written however, does also give one thought that Kant was not content to let go of certain institutions he held most dear. Such as the idea of God, and one's own creation. None the less a good start for anyone beginning with German philosophy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2015
It is difficult not to laugh at being asked to critique a book of such stature. Up there along Newton and Einstein. Not an easy book to read as Kant wrote this book in his later years and was concerned he would die before he finished it! A pivotal work in human history.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2015
Studied a few years ago at university (postgrad). Recommend a reading guide/lecture notes to get the most from. Also, I believe this is the public domain version. As such it's free and possible to make notes on the Kindle
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
The trouble with Kant is, he never played the second house on a Friday night at the Glagow Apollo, if he had have done, then I am sure he would have come away with a different point of view entirely.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Good to build knowledge and personal views from.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)