Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
12
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 August 2013
This is a short, sweet and funny story about Jake, who is a Sentinel. He has been recruited to an area that has been sadly neglected and as such, he finds that a lot of witches have fallen through the cracks. He says that he is not a knight in shining armour, preferring references to Jean-Luc Picard and using a flying motorcycle (think Hagrid but not as big!). From the start Jake is funny, warm and caring but sure as hell not to be messed with.

Romy is a fire witch and is one of those who fell through the cracks although she has done "ok" with her life. She is afraid of her magic and of the feelings that Jake produces within her. Will she carry on fighting her magic and Jake, or will she take a leap of faith and trust in her new found friends.

Loved this book and would love to know if the world within this story is in any of Deborah Geary's other novels, which is something I'm now going to investigate. Brilliant novella, brilliant author, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
I received this Nibble from the author, and found it to be as with the first Novel Nibble in the series, a short and sweet romance, with believable, heart-warming characters

Jake is a witch hunter who is also a witch, tracking down talented newbie witches who have slipped through the net and are in need of guidance, education and friendship.

In a world where the last hunter was not interested in female sorcerers, failing to contact them as little girls and help them deal with their skills, leaving them vulnerable to misunderstandings and suspicion, Jake decides to take a stand and help free the local female witch population from years of prejudice and neglect.

Then he meets Romy, sassy, talented and bruised by her past.
And so the fun starts.

It's a great short read, and even if you don't think you'd ever love a witch, if you love romance, this could certainly satisfy your cravings.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
i love all deborah gearys witch books:). They are funny, sensitive and heartwarming to read:). I have all the current releases of the Witch Central books and a few other novel nibbles that she has done:)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
A while back I left a fairly scathing review for this author's first novel in the Modern Witch series (no plot, no drama, everyone excessively nice...), but I had already downloaded this little novella, and couldn't bring myself to dump it without at least trying it.

And I have to say that this is VASTLY better than that 1st novel, though still not up to 3 star status IMO.

The writing is still smooth and well expressed. The world feels three dimensional and interesting. There is so much scope and potential for this concept, plot, worldview, and there are fascinating possibilities for stories but these opportunities are simply not being used.

There is still too much obvious info. (Too often) we are told what is happening instead of being able to observe it for ourselves. There is FAR more plot (thank heavens) - I would say that in this short novella there is three times the plot of that other novel - yet there still isn't enough. No real story arc, just a trundling romance that goes to a-z without even the usual stress, abandonment and inner crisis that you expect. Oh, wait, there was one morning's worth of angst, that was sorted out by a quick chat with the perfect mother/friend/wise woman/teacher architype.

The people are also FAR too nice. Even the kids in a juvenile detention centre all seem to have hearts of gold and amazing world class talents that just need a kind and caring adult (with business connections) to sort them out with a great career for life. Lip service is paid to the horrors of child abuse, but it is all safely off screen.

The author also seems to be obsessed with food. Not just interested, preoccupied or distracted by food. OBSESSED.

I am glad I read it. It is MUCH better than that first novel, and I am very pleased for that. The writing style is genuinely readable. However, I was also very glad that it wasn't any longer than a novella, because there is only so much cheerful cutesey romance I can take at a time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a monitor for the Witch Sentinel System, Jake is familiar with finding juvenile witches in detention centres. When an alert is triggered, Jake opts for a locate and snatch from the Franklin County Youth Detention Centre, only to find his delinquent witch is actually an adult woman who doesn't require rescuing.

Romy is a powerful fire witch, yet with no formal training she poses a risk. Jake insists that she receive training, yet by opening herself up to the magic within her and around her, Romy finds her barriers crumbling around Jake and falling in love with him.

The romance is very sweet between Romy and Jake, but flares as brightly as Romy's fiery magic. I also liked the mix of magic and drama, plus additional characters such as the kids Romy teaches and the other witches she encounters, which all add to an entertaining plot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
I'm not one generally for short reads but I have read both of Debora's novels so I bought it. I wish I'd bought it sooner! Jake is a witch out in the community helping young witches come to terms with their magic and in many cases their not so happy circumstances. He is sexy (I don't know how Debora does it but even with the most minimal of descriptions she creates vibrant characters you can relate to). He meets Romy - she is a delectable witch with flaming red hair and fire magic - and they find love - well it is a romance!! It was all over too quickly - it left me wanting more - like good food :o) I strongly recommend this author if you want to be entertained and drawn in to a real world that just happens to be full of magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
a story about a witching care system which has failed for the last 40 years due to lack of interest and sexism, and a man who tries to fix it. Do not expect a heavy read, it's light romantic, fun and perfectly developed considering its size.
I'm craving for a sequel...Please Miss Geary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
i love debora geary witch books you fall in love with them all and you want to read the books again and again, she makes you believe in magic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
very enjyable romantic and entertaining. warm and fuzzy but also tounge in cheek,. comical in parts
everything you'd could want
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
Read all Debora Geary witch books. Enjoyed them all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here