Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
129
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.74


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 May 2017
I do love a good history fiction book, and this one did not disappoint, beautifully written and constructed. A must read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
A super read as usual from Anne O'Brien. Love her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
Good book recommend all her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
Good read,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2015
A good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
This book is brilliant!Funny,sad and a great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Whilst this is in many ways a typical historical romance and is full of the stereotypes and clichés of the genre (lips curling, bosoms heaving, puissant knights, and the heroine sinking obligingly and predictably into the hero’s arms) it is nevertheless an entertaining read. It’s well-paced, full of well-researched historical detail and conveys an accurate picture of the time and the characters. It follows the early life of Eleanor of Aquitaine up until she arrives in England and although inevitably there has to be much conjecture about her thoughts and motivations, the portrait that emerges is convincing and well-sustained. Some of the known historical events may have been embroidered but, all the same, this is an enjoyable romp through a fascinating period of history and I enjoyed it more than I expected to – I’d been asked to read it for a review and it’s not my usual choice of fiction. So it was a pleasant surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
I read this book following an email suggestion from Amazon, read the first 2 chapters and was sufficiently interested to buy the book. I loved it.. my first historical novel. Gripping storyline, excellent characters and events seemed well researched. Thought the end notes finished the book in an excellent fashion. Highly recommended. Will definitely read more by the same author.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 18 July 2011
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a very well written and absorbing story. Eleanor of Acquitaine was a woman almost unique in her time who lived an interesting life. She makes excellent source material. The author uses the facts known about her and embroiders and embellishes them to weave a good tale.

However, one has to be careful when putting together fact and fiction. A lot of what the author surmises is the result of her, admittedly fertile imagination. Particularly in connection with Eleanor's affairs, some of the assertions are, frankly, not believable in historical terms. It is very easy to slander the dead!

In particular the racy affairs she conjures with one of her first husband's, the King of France's vassal, is incredible in historical terms. The repercussions on the whole of his family for such uncovered treason would have resulted not only in a painful death but confiscature of land - the really important issue for early medieval families. The affair in the Holy Land is equally an intriguing dalliance for readers of fiction but again not supported with historical evidence or even likelihood.

So worth Five Stars as an excellent historical romantic romp and a great read but loses a little when one puts parts of the tale into the realms of the probable. Suspend belief and enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2012
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is the third book by Anne O'Brien I have read recently, and I have found her to be a very readable author - far better that the dull Gregory, if you want my opinion! All three of the novels I have read have been written in the first person, which is a narrative technique that I don't generally care for as it often feels too contrived and limits the point of view (see Philippa Gregory!). However, O'Brien, for me, has managed to pull this off and the first person narrative works for her and gives you a real empathy with her protagonists.

This was a good read and a good piece of historical Fiction, with perhaps a bit more emphasis on the Fiction element, as a few incidents I'm not convinced actually happened, or have been embroidered in the retelling. This deals with Eleanor's earlier life, from just before she becomes Queen of France to just after she becomes Queen of England. There could be a whole other book to be written on her life after the end of this book!

O'Brien made Eleanor come alive for me as a person, even if, as I have already said, I did have some reservations on historical accuracy. I think that if an historical novelist gives you a real feel for a person and makes you want to know more, then they have certainly done their job. There are some good biographies on Eleanor out there, so hopefully readers of this novel will feel inspired to seek them out.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here