Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
125
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£2.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2017
This is by far the writer's most Interesting book, cleverly written from a crowd of disparate characters, all very well written and keeps the reader interested till the end. Good to read well written descriptions of Manchester too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2017
Wonderful Book. x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2013
This was a thrilling read with a great plot. The circumstances of the narrative were completely believable as sadly this story of gang culture is so evident in our inner cities today.... a terrific story
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2011
When Danny Macateer is shot on a Sunday morning in Hulme, it dramatically effect's the lives of four people. Four people who saw, and were inadvertently involved in something they would must certainly have preferred not to have witnessed.

First on the scene is Fiona a midwife, she heard the shot from inside her home and rushing to Danny's aid tried her best to save his life. Now she is haunted by the memory and the metallic smell which she can't seem to get rid of, no matter what she does. Now plagued by panic attacks she is constantly in fear.

For single mother Cheryl, it's too close, she recognises the car and the killer, but he also knows her.

Mike a delivery man is driving past and sees the actual shooting, he calls an ambulance, but dealing with the police he's missed nine deliveries. His boss is on his back and when he tells his wife, she freaks out and tells him he must say nothing of what he saw or their lives will be in danger.

Homeless man Zak, is just looking the wrong way at the wrong time. Living nowhere wandering the streets Zak is vulnerable - would he be safer telling the police what he saw?

Several people know who shot Danny Macateer but will they have the courage to speak out. This is a heart-searing story as we follow the lives of these four people caught up in abnormal circumstances.

Brilliantly crafted, a traumatic story in which any one of us could find ourselves involved. No matter how good a citizen we are, do we have the courage to do the right thing and in doing so put ourselves, and those we love at risk. Will the witnesses come forward and withstand the pressure of giving evidence?
-----
Lizzie Hayes
33 Comments| 111 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
I had never heard of the author Cath Staincliffe and was unsure whether or not this was a book I would like, but didn't hesitate to give it 5 stars as it was very good indeed.Four witnesses all have their own story and each one is unique and very believable as are the characters.They are all linked by the death of an innocent young boy gunned down by gang members, and the story never fails to keep the reader interested and eager to find out the outcome of what each of the four decide and if the murdered boy's killers will be brought to justice.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I really enjoyed this book, an interesting read, a little bit different to the norm. It focuses on four witnesses to the shooting of a teenager, all vastly different characters, a midwife , a wagon driver, a teenage single mum, and a homeless man. This book tells the story from each of their points of view, from the day of the shooting till after the trial. It's very readable, one of those books where you can really identify with the characters and don't want to put it down.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 July 2011
Previous reviewers have detailed the storyline, so I will only add that I really enjoyed this book, coming as it did from a very different angle on a crime. The characters were all well-drawn and believable; you could easily empathise with their dilemmas, making you think quite literally "what would I do?". I suppose we all like to think we would do the right thing in such circumstances but given potential threats to your own family and way of life, would you? Good writing.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
What would you do? Four people, one situation, how would you react? This is a thought-provoking but never-dull book about choices. I really got to know the people in this book quickly which meant I couldn't leave them for very long. Read this in 3 sittings. Each of the four stories kept me interested and concerned. This isn't a book about a grizzly murder, it's about the impact it had on four very different and unconnected people. You see everything from their point of view - different lives, but the same choice to make. I loved it - only very, very slight criticism is a slightly mawkish end. But nonetheless, a really great read. Would recommend this to anyone - and at only 99p, it's a steal (but don't give evidence to that effect!).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
The reviewer above very succinctly relates the plot, and covers off many of the issues. I'll save reiterating them for you. I really enjoyed the book for its street-wise approach to all the characters and the lives they lead. When faced with the young lad's murder, these unfold in a way we rarely get to see so closely. Even though we are all very much aware of the happenings in their life - we rarely get to feel what is really going on. However, the author pens her portraits with feeling and considerable research - evidenced in the nuances she manages to express in frequent idiomatic exchanges.You start to feel you are part of these people's lives and temporarily share their sad lot. Nevertheless, all is not gloom and doom. There is a touch of levity, or is it plain Northern stoicism that makes the book a pleasure to read and get through some of the more harrowing emotions. And finally, as any good book should, this one leaves you pondering the issues and outcomes. Next! please .
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
It seems I am in the minority with this book - so many raving reviews and yet I didn't like it.

The premise is a good one - 4 strangers witness a shooting of a young lad, Daniel. The shooter is a known gang member and so all 4 witnesses are reluctant to come forward for their own reasons. Until they DO come forward. And that's the end of that. Literally. This was weak and not particularly well executed add to the fact that not a lot actually happened here, I was bored by a good percentage of this.

There was one character I DID like in this book - Just one the one out of all of them - and that was the dog, Bess!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£1.99

Need customer service? Click here