Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
86
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 May 2011
Stevie has returned with a great collection of new songs. Dave Stewart in my opinion has given her a new lease of life. Her vocals are better than ever the coaching she has undertaken since 1997 has definitely paid off. Ghosts are Gone, Wide Sargasso Sea are my favourites are the moment but with more listening that may change. Also if I look as good as she did on Oprah recently at 62 I will be a very happy lady! I just hope it doesn't take another 10 years for her to release again.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
THIS CD ARRIVED ON THE DAY OF RELEASE ABOUT 1100 AND NOW AT 1630 I AM STILL PLAYING IT (SAD SOMEONE MIGHT SAY BUT THAT IS HOW GOOD IT IS ) . THIS WAS WORTH WAITING THE TEN YEARS FOR AND I THINK THAT SARA WHO THIS C D IS DEDICATED TO WOULD BE AND IS VERY PLEASED WITH THE END PRODUCT .BOTH STEVIE NICKS AND DAVE STEWART SHOULD BE VERY PLEASED WITH THE FINISHED PRODUCTION .TRACKS 1, 3,4,5,9 STAND OUT AS MY FAVOURITE .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2009
This wonderfully atmospheric recital is 77:43 of a sheer bliss to your ears! All music included here are gems of classical repertoire.

Paris-born flutist Yves Bouvy studied at the Concervatories of Versailles and the Royal Academy of Music with such renowned teachers as J-Michel Varache, R.Guiot, William Bennet and J.Snowden. His tones are very focussed and his style of playing so refined, yet warmly expressive at the same time. The pianist Garth Hall's playing is no less expressive - he accompanies Bouvy with breath taking tonal delicacy and admirable artistry.

Beautifully recorded at Bedales School, Hampshire, in 1997 (DDD).

1 Rachmaninov / Vocalise
2 Faure / Pavane
3 Elgar / Chanson de Matin
4 Schubert / Ave Maria
5 Bach / Siciliano
6 Debussy / Clair de lune
7 Satie / Gymnopedie
8 Mozart / Andante from Flute Quartet K285
9 Caplet / Reverie
10 Debussy / La fille aux cheveux
11 Ravel / Pavane pour une infsante defunte
12 Aubert / Madrigal
13 Faure / Sicilienne
14 Gaubert / Madrigal
15 Gluck / Dance of the blessed spirits
16 Schumann / Traumerei
17 Chopin / Nocturne in Eflat op.9-2
18 Schubert / Standchen
19 Faure / Morceau de concours
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
In Your Dreams is Stevie Nicks's first album of original material in 10 years, her last being the excellent Trouble In Shangri-La (2001). Weighing in at a hefty 64 minutes over 13 long songs, many partly written and all produced by Dave Stewart, with contributions from other heavyweights like Glen Ballard and Heartbreaker Mike Campbell, the new album certainly does not believe in half measures. Except, that is, for the quality of the songs themselves. Prone to stream of consciousness ramblings without rhyme or structure across most of her career, Stevie Nicks's material has traditionally been rescued by being linked to fabulous musical arrangements with strong melodies that have hidden the intrinsic weaknesses of the lyrics themselves. And then there is that magnificent voice, that used to soothe like honey and rasp like sandpaper, often in the space of the same line.

Sadly all of the old saving graces are missing from In Your Dreams. The songs are frankly monotonous, with Nicks seeming to sing on one level through many of them, with no attempt to carry a tune or even change the single note on which she sings them. Listen to `Italian Summer' or 'New Orleans' for an object lesson. The arrangements are often overblown, the aforementioned 'Italian Summer' being a prime example, but others like `Ghosts Are Gone' rock out and thrash around aimlessly without any sense of direction or pausing for breath. Others like `Soldier's Angel' fall victim to Nicks's simplistic lyrics as she deals in hushed and self-congratulatory tones with her personal involvement in visiting US war veterans; even sparse accompaniment from Lindsey Buckingham failing to rescue the song from triteness. It is hard to see how the involvement of Dave Stewart has helped the heavy handed arrangement of much of this album which undoubtedly signals a departure from Stevie Nicks's customary mystical and ethereal touch. Only the first song, `Secret Love' comes close to the quality of anything that Nicks delivered in her prime; hardly surprising, as it was written in the mid seventies.

For this reviewer, a lifelong fan of Rumours-era Fleetwood Mac, and Buckingham and Nicks in particular, In Your Dreams comes as a real disappointment. The recent flurry of activity from Lindsey Buckingham that produced two albums of fine quality (Gift Of Screws and Under The Skin), hinted at a real sense that he had something artistically valid left to say. Sadly this is not the case with Stevie Nicks, whose latest offering is guilty of many of the worst failings of overblown LA rock that she has always managed to avoid in the past. One suspects the hand of Dave Stewart as the source of ruination of many of the arrangements, but most of the songs themselves are fatally weak to start with, over-long, tuneless and monotonous. That Nicks chooses to appear on the album cover in a sunlit woodland glade accompanied by a white horse, and on the CD itself with an owl perched on her shoulder, reinforces how her fans still perceive her, and one suspects how she sees herself; but the image rings a tad hollow now that she is 62. Like the music itself, it lacks substance; scant reward indeed for a 10 year wait.
1010 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2011
Stevie Nicks You have cracked it again.Iv'e been a Stevie fan for a while now and love every solo album she has done so i had to pre-order this new one i was so excited waiting to hear it and i totaly love this album it was well worth the wait.I wasn't sure what i thought when i first played it but when i finaly sat down and listened from start to finish i loved it.I love the fact that when Stevie gives us a new album she always gives her fans the lyris inside (im sure everyone agrees).All her songs tell you a story and you can put your own theories to them.My favourites have got to be Moonlight (a vampire's dream) it's beautifully written and the music is mind blowing just like track 9 (everybody loves you)i think it's obvious (to me) this could be about stevie & lyndsey.I think that Stevie Nicks & Dave Stewart work brilliant together & have done a fantastic job with this album,this is Stevie's first album in ten years and she just gets better just like a fine wine that you leave to mature with time with the cork on hidden away for ten years and when you open like the album it explodes with brilliance.Stevie has got a very unique voice she is my icon she has helped me through some rough times.If you've not got this album yet honestly go get it now you will not be disapointed at all as im getting another copy for my car,listen out for track 1,2,3,4,6,8 is kind of (fleetwood mac sound) 9 music is mind blowing,12,13,.Just get your hands on this album it's outstanding i can promise you. Stevie is 63yrs young and right back from Bella Donna in 1981 to now 2011 she is the best singer/songwriter that this world has ever had and no-one will ever come close to be as talented as her,Thankyou Stevie Nicks & Dave Stewart & not forgetting Sharon & Lori,.Stevie your dad would be so proud of his (sweet girl) you are a fearless legend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2013
Been a huge admirer of the Nicks voice since her early days with FM and I'm pleased to note (get it?!) that largely, it is still going strong. The collaboration with Dave Stewart works well for me, as I'm equally a fan of him and Annie Lennox. The disc has 14 tracks with a pretty good mix of styles. As ever, the up tempo one's are my preferred style, with "In Your Dreams" "Annabel Lee" and & the pounding "Ghosts are Gone" stand outs. In saying that, the more melodic, laid back ballads are far from second best and most, if not all, grow on you after hearing them several times. In particular, I like "Italian Summer" though that's in huge part down to the fact I just love Italy & the song just makes me want to go back soon - thanks Stevie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
You can either leave or take Stevie but I am in the middle. I like some of her songs and dislike other.
I do think that she sings better with FM but this is a good album

If you are a fan go get it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2014
Arrived in time but must be posted to be transported by sea as it took nearly a month from when I received the e mail telling me it was on it's way to actual receipt. Nice album. Am looking to purchase Stevie's new album soon so hope that the price is just as competitive. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Bought this as a present for my partner who was not disappointed. Stevie still has distinct familiar vocals and thogh some of the material might be a bit more pop than fans are used to the album still has character and is a good listen.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2012
I would say this is some of Stevie's best solo work since 1989's "The Other Side Of The Mirror". The songs really grow on you with repeated listens, and they range from country-tinged nostalgic to menacing rock (due credit needed to guitarist Mike Campbell for providing some nice sharp edges on the rockers) and surprisingly, a sparse but very solid duet with her Fleetwood Mac comrade Lindsey Buckingham, whose vocals add just the right touch to that song. Others have lush string arrangements and at times the production does call to mind the Eurythmics; producer and co-writer Dave Stewart can shoulder responsibility for that, though it's no bad thing. He also duets with Stevie on one of the weaker tracks, but overall it's a great sounding album that showcases Stevie's talents as songwriter and performer very well indeed. Even the weaker songs are better than many of hers from Belladonna, Rock A Little, or Street Angel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)