Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£59.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2012
I felt compelled to write review since I bought this model from a music store and since then my nephew wanted to start -so I bought a cheaper Uke for him, that is adequate at best,(it was the Mahalo Les Paul). The Ashton is an amazing Uke for the money. It is carefully made with a nice finish. The sound is rich with no vibration from cheap strings. The single most important thing is to get a Uke with a good 'playing action', If its cheaply made the strings sit high above the fingerboard and don't sound crisp, and small fingers will find it hard to make a good sounding chord on cheap Ukes -or guitars for that matter. Cheaper Ukes than this (ie the Mahalo) send it out with rubbish, and I mean rubbish nylon strings. The only strings for a good sound should are 'Aquila' (the manufacturer) as they are superb and you get a lovely rich sound. This Uke comes with Aquilla strings, because they obviously want you to enjoy the intrument. Lastly, with any new Ukulele you are going to have to retune each time you pick it up for a while until the strings 'settle in' this is absolutely normal. To compare the 'Mahalo' which is currently 'on offer' (ha, ha) at £34.99 instead of £59.99 to my Ashton which I bought for £54 and a padded gig bag included, is just lightyears away. I wish I had looked at one first, but went off the back of the the reviews -sorry, but you obviously had NOTHING to compare it to!
Buy cheap, buy twice -or get really frustrated...Buy Ashton, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2012
Bought this as a present for my son as an upgrade from his soprano ukulele. He was thrilled as it's a little larger and he has big hands - next step the tenor! He was impressed with the quality and the tone - even if the rest of the family could cheerfully kill him with it. (Slightly repetitive strumming!)He's a teacher and they have ukulele lessons at his school and the instructor was impressed with it. So good buy all round.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2013
Great value for a good quality product. Nice sound and feel if anything could perhaps do with better strings. Delivered in excellent time and condition.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
good product delivered on time good value for money lovely tone and great sound. would def recommend as the next step from a beginner ukelele
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2014
If you're thinking about learning to play the ukulele, then you've found your instrument. This is a beautiful little instrument, a bit larger than a soprano, which for me makes it easier to play. It comes with Aquillo strings already on it, so no need to purchase them separately. The sound is lovely, and it's very well made with its polished mahogany. I absolutely love this uke, it's so easy and fun to play. I'd played it so much since I got it that my fingers are too sore to even play today. Can't make up your mind? You won't go wrong with this one. I love mine!
P.S. You can find a lot of tutorials on YouTube that are very helpful as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2013
Plays nice but the finish on the one i got was not quite as nice as the one in the photo hence three stars. the wood is the same colour but desnt have as nice a grain or finish as i expected
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
when you hold it you can feel it is a quality instrument, sounds good, not cheap rubbish, all I've got to do now is learn how to play it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2013
this has a lovely, warm, mellow sound. the strings snap and reverberate beautifully when you finger-pick. and you can absolutely shred on it - it's durable. this is my first ukulele - i was always led to believe that ukuleles are kind of lame, but the haters just haven't tried the Ashton UKE240MH Concert Ukulele with Mahogany Top Back and Sides
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
Only had this for a couple of weeks and absolutely love it, could probably do with some better strings but thats only a minor quibble. Love playing it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
The tone of the instrument is very good and was packed well. It is obviously a very popular model as it was out of stock for a long time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)