Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
45
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 October 2002
I actually first discovered this book in a book fair in France in it's original format (Mme de Dillmont wrote a number of works for DMC - the needlework supplies manufacturer), and was fascinated by the sheer breadth of information it contains. It is undoubtedly the last book still published today to deal with a great many techniques which were once widely known and used. Although it may seem complicated at first, instructions are detailed and easy to follow and the hundreds of beautiful and varied projects contained in the book are a welcome change from the very standardized fare available in most current needlework books. Originally written for beginners, the decrease in general knowledge of and expertise in many techniques means that this book is as perfect for advanced needleworkers as for learners.
The only possible problem with this book is that you'll never need to buy another needlework book again!
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2011
The Kindle edition is free but I couldn't find any figures or illustrations to explain the different stitches which makes it very difficult to follow.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2011
This book is a reproduction of a much older publication and is not illustrated. The original book contained 1174 illustrations most of which are essential to be able to learn any of the needlework techniques. Don't buy it and instead buy a version which is illustrated as you are simply wasting your money.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2008
I still have my mother's battered 'pocket encyclopedia' which is is older than 1940. I have a more recent standard edition. For getting you started on a new technique, there is nothing better than this
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
The paper editions of this book have a large number of illustrations showing you how to do the stitches. Any stitcher knows that written instructions alone are rarely enough to learn by. This kindle edition has no illustrations at all.

There was no information on the product page saying the illustrations would not be included and, since I already knew the book, I didn't read the reviews before purchasing.

Lots of people have pointed this out so come on Amazon - make it clearer when something is an abridged or unillustrated version
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 24 September 2013
This book is full of descriptive text relating to needlework but unfortunately none of the diagrams referred to in the prose appear on the Kindle so trying to 'see illustration' is not possible and leaves the reader quite frustrated. Had illustrations transferred to the Kindle then I would give this 5 stars as it is a very comprehensive work for needleworkers.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2012
I got a second hand copy of this hard-to-find book via Amazon. When it arrived it had been inscribed inside as a gift to someone on 26 September 1914! Amazing - this copy is 98yrs old!! The information inside is every bit as relevant today as it was when it was first printed.

It is outstanding. A hardcover, gilt edge top, of approximately A6 size and just falls short of 2" thick. 790 pages plus appendices. I suspect that there isn't anything around in brand new print right now as comprehensive and useful as this. All the information is available in new form, however its all been dissected and produced across many many books instead, and you may follow many dead-ends before finding the right piece of information for you. Yet, at the time of printing of my copy, this offering from the DMC Library stated itself as a "New Edition, revised and enlarged" with 750,000 copies already in circulation in 4 different languages - remember my copy is 1914!

It is a joy to handle this book. Crammed with clear diagrams for technique and well supported with written instruction, with marvellous colour plate examples of finished works interspersed throughout.

I sought out this book specifically as it was mentioned in another, more recent print run, book by the same author when they remarked on how to appropriately care for your hand made laces to ensure they stand the test of time as heirloom items across generations.

I may sound like I'm waxing too lyrical and over-enthusiastic, however I can assure you that I am a person who only gives credit when it is truly due, and it is certainly due here.

For someone who is barely interested in needlework yet knows the treasure of books, this will look lovely on your shelf and feel lovely in your hand.

For someone who is a practitioner of multiple needlework techniques, from beginner to advanced, this book will prove itself to be invaluable over and over again to keep dipping into for technique and inspiration.

My copy will never leave me, and I can only hope that when I pass this mortal coil I have provided the next generation with sufficient knowledge to respect this book, finding it an appropriate home instead of throwing it out!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
REALLY need to see pictures!!! Surely it must be easier to include the pictures than to go to the trouble of taking them out!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This book covers every aspect of needlework and the description of how to do it are clear and concise but the lack of pictures in the e-format make it difficult for the beginner to work out how to do what is described e.g. hand positions. The text constantly references the pictures which are not available.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2014
good description about needle work, crocheting and knitting but no pictures or figures though it states figure numbers but nothing is there well its a free book what will you expect none give good stuff for free
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse