Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2012
Tangerine Dream - Poland (NEW CD)I've been listening to these guys for abut 5 months. Not long at all. I told my dad and he said "I bloody saw them at Leeds Uni in the 70's" and he wasn't wrong. Leeds refectory has gig dates through the 70's displayed on posters in the hallway. But thats neither here nor there.

This album, as a live album, as a muso prog live album, is absolutely amazing. I've had my past favourites; Tools live album 'salival', Frank Zappa's 'Baby Snakes', Alice in chains 'unplugged', but this completely blew my mind in a new way, a calm relaxed mind blowing way. Put it this way; I would have bought this album just for 'Horizon' at the end. It's not an album to pick and chose. Take an hour out of your life, sit/ lie down, listen to disc one, deep breath, replace disc, listen to disc two and all will be well. Money well spent.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2016
The best concert Tangerine Dream ever released.
This a replacement for my original copy which is over 30 years old and the second CD will not play. The sound quality is about the same on both.
I think that they could better numbered and named the tracks. The track listing in my view should be;
1- Poland
2- Tangent
3- Polish Dance
4- Rare Bird
5- Barbakane (Part 1)
6- Warsaw In The Sun
7- Barbakane (Part 2)
8- Horizon
Also why cannot release the full concert and the put single Warsaw In Sun on as an extra?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2011
I consider this to be one of the finest TD live albums and a great album in its own right. Even under the Artic conditions that it was recorded, it shows a great band on top of their game. Of all their live albums, this is in my top 3, Logos and Encore being the other two. A missed opportunity not to include some extras such as an interview but still a classic album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2011
at last the rest of us get to have what the germans and americans have had since 1984, the full 81 minutes and 49 seconds that was on the original lp. a few years ago i got a secondhand american 96 reissue, from a massive record fair at the nec in birmingham. i couldn't wait to get home, but my excitement was short lived, while reading the booklet while said disc was playing, an unpleasant discovery was made barbakane was only 13 minutes long. this was really irritating not knowing what was missing, and the lp was long gone. but a couple years ago, i discovered michael berling's excellent voicesinthenet website, where everything was made clear. back in 84 a cd's maximum running time was 74 minutes, so something had to go tangent and the third section of barbakane. so if you where one of those lucky brits or unlucky in this case with a cd player you ended up with something that was a track and a quarter short

so what's it like well if you had the lp it's all there there's the only difference, apart from the gatefold sleeve is the informative 16 page booklet. is the encore piece at the end of tangent is now listed as track 3 named rear bird. the sound don't ask me, i've got a knacked knee, had a brain tumour, and i've got ringing in my left ear. all i know is when i put the headphones on, i'm transported back to a time when i had hair, could go to bed without having to get up in the middle of the night go to the toilet, and i didn't make a noise when i bent down.

one final tit bit i remember an interview with edgar froese in nme i think after the warsaw ice stadium concerts saying they had a lot problems with the equipment continually malfunction due to the arctic weather conditions.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Recently discovered the video of this concert on U Tube and had completely forgot how good the music was. I dug out my old vinyl double lp version and really enjoyed rediscovering the album thirty years on! As my disks were a bit worn, I decided to upgrade and so looked up it's cd availability on Amazon. As luck would have it a new Remastered verision popped up, and since the price was very good I made a purchase there and then. It arrived well before the start of the estimate date range with no damage to the cd spindles. I have been enjoying playing it during my journey to and from work. This was a land mark lp at the time and well worth a listen by newcomers to the musics of Tangerien Dream.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
ah wonderful news that Poland has returned unedited from the original vinyl release,( having made it to 2 CD set once before now).

This is a hairs on the back of the neck opus. Yes a live recording, but one that covers so much ground like a showcase for the group showing what they can do...and they do it so very well,( just like the previous live outing 'Logos').

I saw the TV footage of the Greek show complete with awful pre show interviews and to be honest it didn't strike me as being as cohesive as the music presented on the Poland release,( which would have been pretty much, if not exactly the same show).

That cohesion throughout Poland works faultlessly,(even with an odd running order - encore halfway through most probably due to vinyl time constraints).

Pulling in music from their film output of the time to fill out the extended pieces this really is a tour de force from the hi-tech trio,( tracks from Risky Business;the Soldier & the Keep all putting in an appearance buried in the mix).

the last track Horizon is an excellent stand alone piece rising from the doldrums to a gob-smackingly brilliant but understated anthem in the middle section. As for the hammering percussion and slewed sequencing of the finale, if that doesn't get your pulse racing l don't know what will?

Crackling drums throughout to vast mood swings painting a sonic picture which could only be described as one thing - Poland.

Only thing l would have added to an expanded version of this release would have been the single released,'Warsaw in the Sun' which was a massively overdubbed tune from the set, these overdubs adding a great deal more weight and depth to the live recording. The singles B side tracks being mere edits of the live set entitled 'Polish Dance' and 'Rare Bird'.

....and what of the original show track running order - unsurprisingly its the majority of that which appears on Logos! Will have to post up the running order and respective playing times for the real fanatics sometime.

blue22
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
most Tadream fans will only buy this to get back the lost 4 minutes at the end of Barbakane - cut to make the music fit onto a single CD for its original release. Just a few minutes too long to fit on a single CD! It's actually not the Dream's most stimulating 4 minutes, tho having said that any 4 minute section could have been cut and no one would have really noticed the difference. This isn't their most rivetting live album, with just a few up-tempo sections, the rest mostly slow drudgery build-and-gestate stuff, but at least it's unique-to-live material and not cloned from studio albums, like all their more recent live albums have become. The remastering at least has seperated out all ther individual sounds which on previous releases were a bit soupy and mixed together. The EQ sadly has been adjusted for the "modern age" so that everything is maxed out for equal billing, a certain sense of subtlty the original had has been lost, in 1984 we had a very different idea about EQ settings and this album really deserves to tell that story only.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Tangerine Dream have a great way of playing some fantastic music live and this Album is just proves it for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2015
Great atmospheric CD which is a must buy for early commercal electronic music lovers and collectors. Probably one of Tangerine Dream's most well known early works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2014
sound quality is ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£13.14

Need customer service? Click here