Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2011
Rupert Brooke shot to prominence in 1914 when his poem 'The Soldier' captured the mood of romantic sacrifice at the start of the First World War: 'If I should die think only this of me:/That there's some corner of a foreign field/ That is forever England.' The mood was dispelled by the later horrors of trench warfare expressed by people like Wilfred Owen and Siegfried Sassoon but Brooke's less fashionable poetry remains as a tribute to the gentle optimism of youth.
This is a well presented, nicely formatted and easily navigable ebook edition of Brooke's best known book and it ends with his wonderful poem 'Grantchester, The Old Vicarage.' Well worth getting by anyone who loves English poetry and anyone studying the First World War poets to show how people were thinking about the war at its outset.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2012
This book was a Kindle freebie and is a really good read. There are many poems in it, very poignant but also uplifting. I would happily have paid for this book as Rupert Brooke's work is excellent. Many hours reading ahead.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
come what may our forefathers (woman included) went thro all sorts of hell to live a "normal life".there was no welfare state or organizations to go to for help .then there was all types of war were thousands died daily reading some of the thoughts and poems of Mr Brooke made me relise how lucky we are to-day.......plus it is a great thoughtful read.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
a book that was writen almost a centurey ago that i dont think has been beaten for content in that time , i am sure readers will recognise poems in this book without knowing who the author was worth buying .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
This is a must read in view of the centenary anniversary. Very moving and very beautiful at the same time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2011
The previous reviewer describes this as "nicely formatted and easily navigable" - well, not on my Kindle, it's not, it's a bog-standard free-to-download version with no navigation whatsoever! It seems churlish to complain when something is free, but a volume of poetry with no navigational tools is of very limited use.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2015
Old book, but good condition for its age, very happy with it, quick delivery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
like poetry ... and this was just what i wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2016
Always on my Kindle, read many times
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
Excellent reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)