Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
120
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 June 2011
I love every song on this album especially ' only you'. Her voice is fantastic - smooth but with power and depth. It's great listening when you just want to chill out with a nice glass of wine.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Singles' is a great introduction to an artist with one of the most seductive voices you will ever hear. It is even worth considering even though other compilations have come out since. This offers a good mix of her pop tracks and more ballad type tracks and from the opening track `The First Time I Saw Your Face' you know you are going to be in for a sublime ride. I adore `All Cried Out' which is gutsy and powerful and `That Ole Devil Called Love' which shows how versatile she actually is. There may be other best of's to consider, but I love the running order on this disc and feel it is a good representation of her style and talents. Great to introduce you to her music, as well as an impressive anthology for existing fans.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
Has to be the greatest female pop vocalist ever. Every track is a joy. If you are looking for something representative of how Alf sounded in her early career this is it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2000
i love this album- its the best. try as you might you will not find a bad song on here. My favourite is "this house" its makes my knees go to jelly every time i listen to it. Alisons velvet voice is shown at its best in that ole devil called love. All cried out never fails to bring a tear- o there i go harping on- just buy it your self and you'll know what i mean. ALISON COME BACK SOON!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2009
Hi all

If you are a fan of 80's pop music, then this is a worthwhile purchase.

Alison Moyet however is more than an 80's pop talent, she has an amazing voice which carries credibility. The album covers all of her well known tracks and few gems I had not heard before.

There are some big production numbers on the album in true 80's style. But the cover of the `that ole devil called love' is great. It's not the easiest of songs to cover but Alison puts in a fantastic version.

This album is a 4 star treat.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
Singles is a fabulous album. Alison has a velvet voice that shines through. Apart from the hit singles with yazoo etc., tracks like 'Wishing you were here' and 'Falling' are top class. At the time of my writing this review, Alison is performing on stage in her '25 years revisited'concert. I tried to get a ticket, but the show was sold out. I'm not surprised. She's simply class act.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2008
A great collection of songs brilliantly sung. Not being a devoted Moyet follower, looking at the tracklist It has the main Moyet songs.............................. and plenty of others that get you exclaining "Oh I remember this one, forgot it was her!" time and again.

Great voice, a CD worth more than you can buy it on here for.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
Lovely collection of Alison Moyet's career highlights from 1982-1995 including 3 classy cuts from her Yazoo days and all her solo chart entries featuring mid-1980's 'belters' such as 'Love Resurrection', 'All Cried Out', 'Invisible' and my personal favourite, 'Is This Love?'. The material from the 1990s is less familiar and, generally, less satisfying, although there are a couple of major exceptions from 1991 - the superb, uptempo 'It Won't Be Long' and the gorgeous ballad 'This House' - which provide further evidence of 'Alf's' superior vocal talents. At less than £5, this soulful album is definitely worth buying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Alison moyet has been loved by me forever she's amazing live and this album lives up to all expectations .. iv worn my other copies out hence reordering this. Only one downside this album was not streamed to my phone like the others have been iv bought from amazon.This is well worth the buy,please listen for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
In an industry where looks and image often seem to be more important than talent, it is refreshing to know that - just occasionally - somebody comes along with such a great voice that such considerations are set aside. So it was in the eighties that Alison Moyet, a woman with a strong, bluesy voice had a string of hits despite her unflattering looks.
Alison was originally part of the duo Yazoo. Some Yazoo tracks are included here, but by far the best is Only you. This song is not to be confused with the fifties classic originally recorded by the Platters and often covered down the years, but it is equally brilliant. In Britain, it provided Yazoo with a number two hit and was covered by the Flying Pickets, an a capella group that took it to number one a year or two later.
Alison wrote many of her own songs, either alone or with others, but she recorded great covers. The first time ever I saw your face is a song Ewan MacColl, father of Kirsty, wrote about Peggy Seeger, who later became his wife - but most people remember it from Roberta Flack's hit version. Love letters dates from the 1940's, when Dick Haymes wrote and recorded it, but it was revived in the sixties, first by Ketty Lester and then by Elvis, both of whom had massive hits with it. Alison had a British top ten hit with her cover. But the best cover of all is her revival of That ole devil called love, a Billie Holiday classic that gave her a British number two hit.
Of her own songs, my favorites are Nobody's diary, All cried out, Is this love and Wishing you were here, but many of the others are not far behind.
Alison still records occasionally, but this is a fine collection of her most successful years.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)