Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
8
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
1
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 December 2008
Arve Henrikensen seems to have the ability to make his trumpet sound like a lost voice in a wilderness in this wonderful set of recordings. The guest inclusion of David Sylvian (ex 'Japan' member) on two of the tracks is why I initially purchased it, as I love all his work, if you know any of Sylvians recent work then you will also like this, it has the same feel. This is not in my view, 'Modern experimental jazz' or any other fancy term someone may wish to give it, its soundscapes that you can dive into and relax, as well as someone trying to push musical boundaries further by experimenting with what their instrument can do.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2008
Cartography By any definition, this is extraordinary music. Arve Henriksen has singlehandedly created a whole new sound and texture for the trumpet that no-one else even comes close to. This is emotional, compelling, contemplative music of a very special kind being created and played by a master - if he's this good now, it's scary how good he could be when he gets to be Jan Garbarek's age. The comparison with Garbarek is deliberate, in that Garbarek created a new tone and style for the tenor sax the way Henriksen is doing for the trumpet. There's elements of traditional folksong, hints of 'classical music', and dissenters will probably call it 'new age', but this is a truly seminal record. If you're still not sure, check out the final track 'Sorrow and it's opposite', a beautiful trumpet melody played over Jan Bang's samples - exquisite.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2008
As I write, this CD isn't yet available in the UK. I bought a copy at the live show at Newcastle Sage Centre. By the way, the concert was breathtakingly good.

If you like your jazz tinged with atmospheric but gentle electronics then this is for you. There are (vague) similarities with Nik Bartsch. Obviously Arve's trumpet work dominates the CD but the electronic atmospherics complement it perfectly. It is the perfect mix of two very different forms.This is a CD I know I will be listening to millions of times long into the future, and already one of my favourite ECM releases.

And if you do get a chance to see Arve and Jan Bang ( his smiling, electronic whizzkid collaborator on this album) then go for it. Deeply powerful music and hugely entertaining. If tonights concert is anything to go by, I hope he produces a live CD of his music because I would love to listen to tonights concert a hundred times over.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2009
arve henricksen goes from strength to strength - his finest offering to date. if you like david sylvian there is a lot of nuances of his work here, particularly redolent of DS's early solo work. Of course DS has contributed to cartography lyrically, and AH has played with DS also.
Don't expect mainstream like Mark Isham's trumpet playing style, this is a whole different, interesting and absorbing style.
Buy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2009
This record, the second made by ARVE Henriksen it seems a conceptual work when you listen it without pause.
The ambient textures made by Bang and Honoré are "superb".
It seems for me the continuation of the JON HASSELL`S trumpet school and with somethings new added, also in the composition manner.
As a Hassell fan i am happy to find the continuation with a personal new sound, as the ARVE sound¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡
Buy it without doubt¡¡¡¡¡
YESSSSSS
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2011
I bought this based on its critical reception. I was particularly excited by the comparison made with Jon Hassell. I also felt that ECM, who had recently begun issuing vinyl again, would have been choosing their most outstanding records for release on this medium. Now, there are certainly some striking sounds here, and the trumpet sound is very interesting, but on the whole I find that the music lacks the intelligence that would bring a stronger sense of cohesion, a more memorable shape and a more evolved sense of taste. Regard my last point here, consider the final track. It's an effective, atmospheric piece which is ruined by the sudden use of a banal harmony from a choir...! There are many instances of this kind of heterogenity, but the worst is the use of spoken recitation of some rather pedestrian poetry by an English writer. For me this really does ruin the record. I can overlook the other aspects I don't like, but the only way I could listen to this again is by skipping the tracks with the poetry. And these tracks are not even so cleverly produced. For instance, in the first poetry reading the spoken language is accompanied by delay lines. Yes, you hear an echo of the line! I think the last time this wasn't a hackneyed technique was in c. 1977 in Pink Floyd's Animals.

So, to conclude: some nice sounds, some innovative playing, but lacking in strong composition and an evolved sense of aesthetic taste.

But you should buy this because the more ECM vinyl we buy the more likely they are to release more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Excellent record! Real scandinavian Faitytale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
I'm consistently under-whelmed by Henriksen's recorded output. He is a brilliant and original trumpet player but on this work and as a member of Supersilent, he likes to take introspection to the level of total inaccessibility. A waste really and Sylvian fans tempted to buy because of his presence will be disappointed to find little of his musical input and snatches of his highly personal but incomprehensible poetry.
33 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)