Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
9
3.6 out of 5 stars


on 22 July 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2011
I remember this low budget horror flick on VHS from Vipco with the very same stylish cover artwork which appears here on this brand new Blue Underground region free blu ray release, which includes several deleted scenes and various trailers, and yes this is probably the best this film will ever look. Anyone who likes this film should support BU and buy this disc, just as I have, except I didn't really enjoy it. Here's why- Apart from the lead actress and one other actor the performances and scripted dialogue are truly poor to the extent that they detract greatly from what could have been a well executed if rather derivative horror movie.

Beginning with promise and potential the opening of this picture draws you in with competent and appropriate cinematography for such a film. I'm not going into story specifics, that dear reader shall be your discovery, but suffice to say it just didn't work for this horror film fan. Yes there is some effective gore, though nothing purveyors of such special make-up effects won't have seen many times before and since. I could name the other horror film this one is obviously inspired by, but for the sake of first time viewers I won't.

What other nice things can I say about this flick, the soundtrack is early eighties synth, not as memorable as the best examples, check out the people who recorded it on IMDB.com to see how little they subsequently worked in such a capacity again.

Overall not the worst horror picture ever made, and I'm sure there are Nesting fans out there who will support this release, so go on and buy this safe in the knowledge that BU have Fulci's Zombie Flesh Eaters slated for a near future blu ray release.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
I have to admit that I had never heard of this film until I was looking through horror blu ray listings and saw this and thought it looked interesting and because it was a blue underground release I thought that it would be a brilliant blu ray transfer like most of the other blu rays they have released, oh boy, was I wrong.
The film itself is a perfectly good movie, an old fashioned ghost story and it had a certain charm to it. It was a little slow to start off and was a bit far fetched in places but, was enjoyable.
The blu ray transfer was the biggest problem. The picture quality was really bad and I mean bad to the point where there was no detail to the transfer. The picture was so soft and flat that you would be forgiven for thinking you were actually watching an old vhs rather than a high definition blu ray. The sound quality also matched the picture quality, as this too was poor.
I am surprised at blue underground for putting this movie out with such a poor transfer, as most of the other blu's they have released are very good but, someone really dropped the ball with this transfer. However it is likely that this is the best this film will ever look, unless another company release this on a remastered blu ray and I cannot see that happening any time soon. All in all, a very mediocre blu ray release of a pretty decent film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
In the horror movie genre, the early `80s is best known for the overabundance of slasher films. It seemed like everyone and their brother was trying to direct the next Michael, Jason or Freddy and most were failures. The Nesting then becomes an anomaly of the time: a haunted house film that is nearly a psychological thriller. The Nesting must have stood out against all the Halloween clones back when it was released in 1981 simply because it was doing something different. Though it is unclear how well the movie did financially, The Nesting only had a short-lived theatrical run before it made its way to home video. Now, thanks to the horror fanatics at Blue Underground, The Nesting finds new life on dvd and blu-ray.

The story follows a mystery writer named Lauren Cochran (Robin Groves) who lives in New York City but decides to get out of town for a while after suffering a rather unexpected panic attack outside her Manhattan apartment. Her psychiatrist, Dr. Webb (Patrick Farrelly) tells her she's got agoraphobia and she figures relocating to the country will probably help with that. She and her boyfriend, Mark Felton get her set up in a bizarre Victorian era house in the middle of nowhere, which bears an uncanny resemblance to the one on the cover of her novel, The Nesting. Mark then he splits back to the city so she can enjoy the peace and quiet of her new accommodation. The man she rents it from, Daniel Griffith (Michael David Lally), doesn't know much about the house's history or his own past for that matter, but his grandfather Colonel Lebrun (John Carradine), eventually tells him the truth about his past all while Lauren is trying to figure out if the house she's renting is haunted or if she's starting to crack.

A few gory kill scenes will keep slasher fans happy, and the film's infamous sickle murder is definitely a stand out moment in the film, but this is more of a slow burn than a slash'em up, reliant far more on the inherent spooks offered by a rundown old house in the middle of nowhere and a sense of increasing insanity than knife wielding psychopath jumping out of a closet. It borrows from The Changeling here and there and turns out to be a bit on the predictable side by the time it wraps. The story unfolds nicely, with a swell performance from Robin Groves as the heroine keeping things gripping and drawing us unnervingly into her confusion and sense of mounting menace. The film is well written, with good acting across the board. The characterisation all works, with the locals suitably unfriendly but not in too clichéd a way.

The film does not end as well as it begins, with the ultimate revelation not as impactful as it could be, but it was still a good and entertaining film. Overall, while it's very deliberately paced and definitely falls into the slow-burn category, Armand Weston's The Nesting actually holds up very well as an interesting and well made ghost story with some fun eighties slasher undertones. Blue Underground's release is a good one (I'm sure that the blu-ray's picture quality looks even better, but I got the regular dvd instead), and if it's a bit light on extras it offers up the film in what we can probably safely assume is the best quality possible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
A writer who suffers from agoraphobia rents a large rural house that was once a brother, once there strange things start happening including ghosts and violent murders, but when she discovers the true history of the house can she escape.

An often scary and creepy, if a little long, haunted house mystery horror. What really does surprise in this film is just how good some of the scare scenes are, particularly in the first hour the jumps are handled very well and are scary, also another plus point in the effects & staging, for a relatively low-budget picture like this it looks great, the gore sequences (there is a great sickle in the face scene) and the period look is believable. There is an strong creepy atmosphere throughout the film helped along by the set pieces (a baby being set on fire) and the very good acting, Robin Groves does a great job in the lead and the supporting roles are also very credible including a strong performance by veteran John Carradine. Hardcore Porn director Armand Weston does a great job behind the camera building the tension, and creating an interesting and satisfying film on screen, although it does go off a bit towards the end. For most of the film the story holds up well but the last 15-20mins are a little disjointed, the ghostly scenes come and go at will leaving you not knowing what real or not, the music is polar opposites at times, very effective classical to some almost comedic cue's its very strange & the revelations come from 2 different people who never interact (apart from a flashback), although the climax is satisfying look into it a tiny bit deeper and it all starts to crumble a bit. The agoraphobia plot is very much padding, although its one of her main characteristics it isn't really part of the main thrust of the story and might along with a few other minor subplots better pushed way, way back to shorten the runtime slightly and make it more compact.

Maybe not the most memorable but certainly a surprisingly good little horror with quite a few effective and suspenseful scenes plus some strong performances. Some of the violence is quite bloody which must have hastened its inclusion on the Section 3 nasty list, but it isn't a gory or extreme film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
The central character in this movie can at best be described as spoilt, self important and really annoying.
Aside from that this is a decent haunted house romp. The actual house itself and the surrounding property with lake are the real stars of the movie, the location guys did a really good job with this one but once the mystery of the haunting is revealed the events leading up to the ending and the ending itself don't really make much sense at all.
A better choice would be "The Changeling" starring George C Scott.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
the film wasnt what i expected,more of a ghost film than outright horror,i remembered it on the shelf as a teen in my local video store so when i seen it on region 0 us import quite cheap i got it,
picture was good and sound was great so i was pleased with that but the film was just ok.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2016
Great film with one of the best haunted houses on screen, the print is average.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2015
Great. Transfer....okay movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)