Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop now



on 2 June 2017
Still among the greatest performances by a master of the keyboard. Jochum's accompaniment is wonderfully sympathetic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2014
There are three great works here- the op 116 Fantasies and Piano Concertos op 15 and op 83. When Gilels played the Fantasies in 1975 in Turku in Finland, he was roughly the same age as that at which Brahms had composed them. He had a lifetime of experience of playing piano at the highest level. He intently produces the musings that Brahms had made using these delicate materials. The piano is not used to dominate, instead the tenderness, delicacy and intimacy of these reflections is brought to the fore. The rhythms and cross rhythms are beautifully reproduced and the structure is notably clear. I just love these three capriccios and 4 intermezzos.
Then, there are these truly great performances of the first and second piano concertos. There is pure power and deep seriousness in the first concerto with immense punch in the trills. The instrumental solos in the second concerto are well-defined and help to create the warmth of Brahms music. When Eugen Jochum was asked about his finest recordings he specially mentioned these Brahms Concertos with Gilels as piano soloist. Buy them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 September 2014
Brahms’ two Piano Concertos were recorded by Emil Gilels (1916-85) and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra under Eugen Jochum (1902-87) in 1972, with the pianist recording the seven Fantasias, op. 116, four years later.

Prior to hearing these performances, my preferred choice for the Second Concerto, 1881, was Anda/Fricsay whilst I have always enjoyed Pollini/Abbado in the much First Concerto, written 22 years earlier. I found Jochum and Gilels to be entirely at one throughout both monumental works. At the time of the recordings, both artists were at the height of their powers. Gilels balances a ferocious technique with acute sensitivity, and avoids the fussiness that characterises the 1998-99 Buchbinder/Harnoncourt recordings.

Throughout the performances, one is reminded what a superb performer Jochum was of Brahms’ and Bruckner’s symphonies, their crescendi being shaped with pin-point accuracy. Unusually, but quite properly, Ottomar Borwitzky, b. 1930, is mentioned for his mellifluous cello solo in the later concerto.

Despite the fact that the Berlin orchestra must have played these concertos innumerable times, Jochum generates a feeling of spontaneity as if they are experiencing them for the first time. The same is true for Brahms’ cadenzas where Gilels gives equal weight to power and flexibility.

The Fantasias are a revelation with Gilels playing these as a unified whole and capturing depths that seem previously unexplored by artists as searching as Radu Lupu and Wilhelm Kempff.

The digital mastering, using ORIGINAL-IMAGE BIT-PROCESSING technology [described in the leaflet], was effected in 1996. The transfer is excellent with Jochum bringing out the richness of the orchestral detail and the balance between soloist and orchestra being as good as one could imagine. The leaflet contains brief texts by the Tonmeister, Klaus Scheibe, translated by Alan Newcome [‘Recording Brahms with Gilels 7 Jochum…’] and by Richard Osborne [‘Emil Gilels and Eugen Jochum play Brahms’].

The First Concerto is on the first CD that lasts only 51.43, just a second shorter than the Second Concerto; surely Deutsche Grammophone could have added an additional work? DG illustrate the three original LPs in the leaflet, one of which coupled the Fantasias with the early Four Ballades, op. 10, so it is strange that this was not included on the first disc, especially as Gilels’ performance of the latter takes only 24.20. The Second Concerto and the Fantasias play for a total of 73.37.

Asked a year before his death about his greatest recordings, Jochum offered these two Brahms’ concertos with Gilels as possibly the finest of his long career. It is difficult not to agree.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2011
Reviewers have accused Gilels and Jochum of being ponderous on this disc. That's understandable, to a degree, given the strong emphasis the performers give to the richness and dark soul present in Brahms' concerti. However, I'm quite reluctant to equate this with being "ponderous". Richness and depth don't imply heaviness, and to my ears, our performers never burden us. It's certain that both Gilels and Jochum incorporate a wistful singing quality; there's always a beautiful lyricism, pleasing in a way quite unlike anything I've heard before. Call it ponderous if you want to, but I'm optimistic.

Let's begin by taking a look at the 1st Piano Concerto. Much of the thematic material was intended to be used as a symphony. One could guess as much, given the towering sense of symphonic structure, especially in the lengthy first movement. It's a dark work, one that delivers the fate that we often associate with the key of D minor. It presents serious challenges to its interpreters, asking for the structural aspects of the work to be felt, but, at the same time, this work has got to be more than menace. I think Gilels and Jochum succeed in their efforts. The Berliners play with their Brahmsian richness and depth of tone (this orchestra is unrivaled in Brahms, after all) and Jochum creates a strong orchestral tone for Gilels while not sounding harsh. Gilels' phrasing is genuinely beautiful, letting light come through the clouds. When I'm done listening to this performance, I still think that this is Brahms at his darkest, but there's no way I can consider it cold, at least not in the face of such interpreters as we have here.

Let's be honest: we all like the sunny 2nd more than the fateful 1st. Where else does Brahms rise to such levels of catchy lyricism while being so majestic? It's a glorious concerto, obviously one of the greatest ever. And this is how Gilels and Jochum take it. Their approach is full of grandeur, to be sure, but also refinement. Our performers don't play the piece with their hearts on their sleeves, something I know some listeners may desire. But again, I'm sympathetic, not that everyone needs to be, but I love this approach. It's one that will make you aware of just how songful Brahms is. It could be argued that Brahms should be more monolithic, but I'll say that he can handle the vision of Gilels and Jochum--great composers leave room for endless differences in interpretative vision. I have to think of the many times my piano teacher has told me to "sing" on the piano; it sounds easy to do, but it takes tremendous skill. I know I'm making a big claim, but I've never heard a pianist "sing" so naturally and effectively as Gilels does here. While everything is wonderful, it is the 3rd movement that I find the most promising. It is full of a twilight beauty that leaves me wanting nothing. In short, opinions will vary, but I've welcomed this songful Brahms' 2nd into my collection with delight.

The Op. 116 pieces are short compared to the concerti, but they are given wonderful performances, with Gilels showing the same lyrical gifts that were manifested in the concerti. These are beautiful pieces, written when Brahms was in his late, reflective mood. They are wonderful pieces, with few equals in terms of resigned beauty in the entire piano literature. Hearing Gilels play them has increased my respect for the set, one I'm trying to tackle myself right now. Obviously I'm not rivaling Gilels!)

In closing, if you want Brahms that sings, you've found it. I certainly find this set very desirable, with sound that's not bad for early 70's analog.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 October 2014
This was the recording that introduced me to Brahms' piano concertos. Gilels' playing is never less than magisterial but frequently hits the sublime. The double octaves of the first concerto take your breathe away. The slow movement of the 2nd is a masterclass in rapt playing. Jochum draws out the very best of the BPO. I can never let the Curzon / Szell 1st go but these two recordings are something very special.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2006
There can be no doubt that Gilels is brilliant here, in the First, in the Second, and in the Fantasies.
For those who are particular fans of the Second, may I also recommend having a look at Gilels' earlier, more energetic recording of the Second, with Reiner and the Chicago Symphony. There are some for whom this may be the preferable disc, though my advice would be to get both.
Also, do please have a listen to Solomon, who has made some of the greatest recordings of Brahms piano concertos, both of which are easily available on Testament, and include some other beautiful Brahms piano works. Of particular note, I think, are the Handel Variations.
(Note that, like Gilels, Solomon is also exceptional when it comes to playing Beethoven.)
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 October 2003
The ultimate test is how well does the pianist perform in the first few bars of the second piano concerto?. The degree of sensitivity here is beyond description.
These performances are not only exemplary, but monumental in both concertos. These are recordings to die for. Gilels is the best of the very best. The recording quality too is exemplary. Warm and extremely realistic piano tone, vibrant brass, and a spacious sound.
No true Brahms lover should ever live without these magnificent recordings. These discs are really special.
55 Comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2004
Playing Brahms is so different to any other concertos. The soloist needs to reflect upon the grandeur of Beethoven 'Emperor', simplicity of Schumann, passion of Grieg Piano concerto, and at times, the ability to simply go 'over-the-top' like in Tchaikovsky. The music is working at many different levels, and good soloists know this.
This recording is so special because it balances these different aspects so perfectly. Brahms himself would have been happy about the sensitivity with which Gilels treats the first few bars of the 1st movement of the Second Concerto. However, at the same time, Gilels is aggressive when he needs to (if you have this recording, I suggest you listen to the section starting at 7:05 of the first movement of Brahms 2). The balance of quiet first section and the strong, emotionally-charging block chord section is absolutely perfect.
Good soloist also needs a good orchestra, and here, Berlin Philharmoniker certainly delivers. I am particularly impressed with the horn section, which conveys the distinctive German Romantic atmosphere beautifully.
11 Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2015
I can't sing but, one day, I want to pop into Jesus-Christus-Kirche in Berlin and belt out Nessun Dorma and see if it can turn my bellowing into a hallowed sound of wonder. Any recording made in that venue, at least during the 60s and 70s when orchestras weren't afraid of wearing their hearts on their sleeves and letting rip with plenty of vibrato, sounds like it was engineered and conducted by God himself.

What a sound there is to behold here in the glorious second movement, the intro of which Jochum paces perfectly, before Gilels, in complete sympatico, joins him in rapture.

Sadly, Universal allow some clipping into this OIBP DG Originals reissue; there's no perfection, it would seem, even in Heaven.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2002
Brahms' first Piano Concerto is a sublime piece of music - classic Brahms: complex, passionate, surprising and very rewarding. It contains one of the greatest "moments" in classical music for me - the entry of the piano in the first movement. This is one of the very best recordings ever made too, the Russian pianist Emil Gilels together with Jochum, who's right at home with this kind of grand scale music. Add it to your collection now!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Brahms: The Piano Concertos (Bonus Track)
£8.99
Brahms: Symphonies Nos.1 - 4 (2 CDs)
£10.99
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2
£2.99
Brahms: The Complete Symphonies (2 CD's)
£6.99
Brahms: Piano Concertos Nos.1 & 2
£10.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)