Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
85
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2005
at first i thought this was going to be your typical teen movie, that had bad acting and stupid storyline, but its not. ditched by his girlfriend for a reality tv star zack bets his best mate that he can turn any girl into prom queen in 6weeks. the girl picked is laney boggs, she is rude, doesnt talk to anyone and hides away from the world. however when she is turned into a beautiful young lady, zack develops true feelings for her. but what will happen when she finds out the truth? unlike some teen comedies this is fun, sassy and very well written and acted. you will love this film.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2002
This is one of the best films I have seen yet. Rachael Leigh Cook is obviosly the best person to play Laney and Freddie Prince Junior perfectly fits the part of Zack. Funny and sweet this was the perfect film to watch with my friend.
Zach is the boy everyone else wants to be. He has the best and most popular girl in school, he is the captain of the soccer team and class president. Everything in the world is brilliant for him until spring break. His popular girlfriend found another man and now Zach is ditched and everyone knows it. To keep his reputation up he takes on an impossibl bet. His friend gets to pick any girl in the school and Zach has just three weeks to turn her into the prom queen. As Zach starts to stalk Laney and transforms her he gets more than he bargained for. He ends up falling for Laney but secrets are never kept for long and Laney finds out about the bet. Will she ever believe that Zach has truly fallen in love with her?
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2004
The first movie on this DVD, "She's All That" is about a complicated girl and a bet in which Freddie Prince jr. has to turn this social misfit into the belle of the ball- and ofcourse,the unthinkable happens and the pair fall in love. Although funny and romantic at times it is not the better of the two films and can be a bit predictable.
Secondly,"Down To You",is another teen love story. More twisted and complicated than the first,the two college students (played by Freddie Prince jr and the ever beautiful Julia Stiles) fight the battles of first love and long term relationships. More mature than "She's All That",this film offers a range of emotions and is something you will want to experience time and again.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2003
Though not everything in this movie is believable, She's All That is a very cute and entertaining movie due to its tight script and winning performances, particularly from its two leads. The story is pretty familiar; the most popular jock in school (Freddie Prinze Jr) takes a bet that he can transform any girl in high school into the new prom queen. His friends choose the serious and arty Laney (Rachel Leigh Cook). Romance blossoms and she finds herself competing for prom queen against the jock's snooty ex-girlfriend. The cast in general was good, and the plot was carried out very well. There's a good deal of flashy visuals, successful attempts at humor and an amazing amount of help from the supporting cast. Anyone who likes teen flicks should definitely check this movie out.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
This is a truly great film, funny, romantic and truly beautiful. The only thing that lets it down are the extra dvd features. Theese are sparse (no deleted scenes, voice overs etc) and the ones that are available are not that well done (the interviews are higledepigledi). However the film itself does outway theese drawbacks.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
A bit of light hearted romantic comedy fluff. A film that doesn't take itself seriously and that has been spoofed countless times. but it is still worth a watch. Would recommend especially for all the people that never quite fit in at school and who just wanted to be accepted for who they were.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
A teenage love story which starts as a bet between a Big Man of the Campus (American style) and a friend that he cannot make a girl who is a big "zero" the prom queen. As she gradually becomes a beautiful "butterfly" he realises the error of his ways but too late she is aware of his deception and must now try to win her heart.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Starring the beautiful Paul Walker. I went to the pictures with my Mum to see this film about 15 years ago after seeing the trailer on the television. We then bought it on video and now finally replaced it on DVD. It is a classic American High School Prom Romantic/Comedy with Rachael Leigh Cook cast perfectly as Laney Boggs who is transformed from geek to chic. Particularly like the dance routine to Fatboy Slims 'Rockafeller Skank' with Usher as the DJ and also features a fantastic track 'Believe' by Goldie which is played in the background at the prom and the lovely 'Kiss Me' by Sixpence None The Richer which is used in Dawson's Creek aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 January 2016
One of the most popular teen movies of the 1990s. A retelling of "Pygmalion" ("My Fair Lady"), this time set in a modern-day US high school in California. Prinze Jr plays the high-school jock "soccer" captain, (Zak), who makes a bet he can turn any girl in school into a Prom Queen and is set the challenge of convincing "geek" Laney Boggs (Cook - whatever happened to her?) to accompany him to the Prom and making her Queen.
What follows is a nice, sweet, love story. The two leads look fantastic and are highly likeable on screen.
By the end, of course, while Cook's character has undergone the physical transformation, in essence she remains the same person. It is Prinze's character, through his relationship with Laney, who undergoes the greatest, personal, change.

Prinze Jr has such a likeable screen presence, that you feel he really wasn't that bad a guy to begin with, so the transformation for his character is not as stark as it might have been. Also, Cook is so ridiculously good-looking (even if you put her in a pair of baggy dungarees, big boots and glasses - why does Hollywood think glasses are unattractive on a woman?), that her physical change, when it comes, is not really much of a revelation.

These are minor quibbles mind. It's good fun and very watchable. I understand they're planning on doing a remake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I know I saw She's All That back when the movie first hit the theaters. I don’t know why I was so interested in seeing it back then, but I do remember enjoying it. When I happened to catch it on TV recently, I found I enjoyed it just as much.

The story is really Pygmalion set in a modern day (for 1999) high school. Zack (Freddie Prinze, Jr.) is the senior class president and the most popular guy in school. Everyone thrills with just a moment of his time, even if he doesn’t quite remember their names. He returns from Spring Break to find that his long time girlfriend Taylor (Jodi Lyn O'Keefe) has hooked up with Brock Hudson (Matthew Lillard), star of The Real World, and dumped Zack as a result.

As his friends try to cheer him up, he swears he could turn any girl into the prom queen in the six weeks between now and the prom. A bet is made with Dean (Paul Walker), and his project turns out to be Laney (Rachael Leigh Cook). She’s an artist and a loner and is the one person on campus who doesn’t swoon over Zack. Will he be able to earn her friendship and win the bet? Or is he doomed to lose?

As I mentioned, this movie borrows the plot heavily from Pygmalion, better known to audiences today as My Fair Lady. However, I actually like the characters in this movie, so I find it easier to root for them. (Sorry, but I’ve never cared for Henry Higgins, which is why I prefer the original ending to Pygmalion over the “happy” ending of My Fair Lady.)

Of course, this is played out over a high school romantic comedy type story, and it is actually pretty funny. Yes, there are some laughs at how dated the film already is (everyone has pagers instead of cell phones), but there are some genuinely funny moments as well. I would say I was smiling more than I was laughing for most of the film, but I was having fun. The best laugh? It’s got to be the final scene. And that’s all I’m saying.

Now that isn’t to say the plot was original or surprising. You pretty much know where things are going from the beginning. But as I always say, if you are engaged with the characters and having fun getting there, that's all that really matters.

The actors are what make this movie so much fun. It’s easy to root for the main characters because Freddie and Rachael make them so likable. The supporting cast is great, especially Matthew Lillard who has made crazy a staple of his acting career. As a fan of psych, I got a kick out of watching Dule Hill as one of Freddie’s friends.

No, it isn’t anything original or ground breaking, but She's All That is fun. And if you want to escape for 90 minutes, you won’t go wrong with this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)