Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
49
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2016
This is a great film and David bowie was very good in it. I like the film a lot. I would recommend it. I saw it when it came out and it was good then and good now. RIP David bowie we will miss you loads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2017
Both these films are brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2016
V.Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Of course, we all remember Jim Henson for bringing us those fuzzy, adorable Muppets and their insane variety show. But Henson also produced some of the most brilliant, nostalgia-inducing movies of the 1980s -- specifically, "Labyrinth" and "The Dark Crystal," which take greater advantage of the "puppet" medium than almost any other puppet movie in the world.

"Labyrinth" becomes a problem for teenage Sarah, who is stuck babysitting her crying baby stepbrother. But when she idly wished that the goblins would steal him, she never expected it to happen -- or that the Goblin King Jareth (David Bowie) would challenge her if she tries to get her brother back.

Now Sarah has only thirteen hours to navigate a changing, hazardous maze, with Jareth's castle at the center of it.To find her way, she will have to befriend strange creatures and avoid lethal bogs, nasty fairies, head-jugglers, and finally Jareth himself -- or her brother will be turned into a goblin as well.

"The Dark Crystal" is the heart of this movie, where on another world, there are two strange races -- the enormous, gentle, peaceful Mystics, and the nasty, vulture-like, vicious Skekses. They are somehow connected to a massive crystal that was broken long ago, and now a shard is missing from it. What's more, three suns are about to come into conjunction, and the shard has to be back in place.

The Mystics have cared for one of the last Gelflings, an orphan named Jen. As the conjunction approaches, they send him out to find the lost shard. Along the way, Jen finds new friends who assist him in his quest, including another Gelfling. But can they avoid the Skekses? And what will happen when the suns line up, assuming that the crystal is completed?

Both of these movies have become classics over the years, and they embrace two different kinds of fantasy -- one is about wanting to be swept out of the mundane into a fantasy adventure, while another is completely OF another world. And they're both coming-of-age stories, whether for imaginative teen Jennifer Connelly or for a pair of young Gelflings who have been sheltered from the ugliness of the world.

And the styles of both movies are incredibly different, both in a vivid way. "Dark Crystal" is very fantastical and serious, even with some gross, dark parts -- they came up with all sorts of bizarre alien flora and fauna, with creeping anemones, shrieking furballs and a crystalline castle filled with decaying birds. "Labyrinth" is more kiddy-friendly and Muppety, with musical numbers and some comic relief (the chivalrous little fox).

"The Dark Crystal" also has a pretty fascinating cast... because it's all puppets. The roaring one-eyed Aughra, the slightly uncanny-valley Gelflings, the mummified jewel-encrusted Skekses, and slow melancholy Mystics are all Muppets, but so brilliant that you stop noticing after awhile. And in "Labyrinth," the story's great performances are split between Muppets and live actors -- Connelly is quite good as a bright but impatient young lady, and David Bowie is simply awesome (and his tight pants are quite a distraction).

"The Dark Crystal" and "Labyrinth" show off the Muppets at their most fantastical, and these timeless movies have only become more wonderful with time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2012
Just to confirm this is the 2 disc double feature version which still has some extras but is missing a few decent length documentaries from the 4 disc anniversary edition, the confusing thing is the covers for both versions are exactly the same apart from a bit of text in a yellow banner across the top beware! Great price if your not into all the extras but for hardcore fans this is not the version to get!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Labyrinth a brilliant trip into the weird and wonderful world of the goblin king. The sound track by David Bowie and the cast mainly made up of muppet style creatures.A lot of moral standards can be learnt from this film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
As a family we all enjoyed The Dark Crystal and many many years later I could still bits from the film but I wanted to see it again. This great double DVD allowed me to do that AND see Labyrinth that somehow I missed the first time around. Great films and great stories for young and old.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
This was bought as a present for a friend who is wanting to collect the films (like me) that we watched as children. I bought it as a birthday present it arrived in plenty of time and she loved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Both are good films but i also prefer Labyrinth alot more which is why i brought these like this & also I Like how they used the Puppets by Jim Henson,They don,t make many like this anymore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
Labyrinth is genius, weird, brilliant, crazy. Crotch shots of David Bowie...Saw for the first time as an adult, fantastic film. Dark Crystal pretty bizarre but also good.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)