Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 March 2017
I love it, cd has been received.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Good music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2014
Quick delivery, accurate description, great product, reasonable price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Superb value for money mid price release clearly issued as a tie in to the triple header tour with Foriegner/Journey,having attended the show in Glasgow it was a shame Styx were only getting warmed up when it was time to finish,still they played several tracks from the compilation,including storming versions of: 'Blue Collar Man/Too Much Time On My hands/Come Sail Away/Foolin Yourself and Renagade.This cd is a decent over view of the 70's & early 80's,5 tracks from 'Paradise Theatre' (1980) upholds my belief that ,that particular disc is thier best,other highlights on here include Rockin The Paradise/ Best of Times/Lady'95 and of course 'Babe'.Thankfully the sound quality is excellent and a decent if basic set of liner notes give a little history.

At this price this is excellent value for money and will probably be a catalyst for you to start searchin' thru the bands back catalog,happy hunting.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2011
If you're looking at this CD, then I'm picking you'll know Styx from their best selling peak in the 1970s, which is when I discovered them in my (long lost) teens. If not, then a brief summary is that Styx were HUGE in the USA, but struggled to make an impact abroad. Often compared to Journey and REO Speedwagon, they give you everything you expect in the "Pomp Rock" Genre. They seemed to specialise in the song which starts quietly, and then blasts your socks off (Renegade, Lady, Come Sail Away, etc). But a few outright ballads, and some outright rock songs too.

The playlist on the CD is sufficient to recommend it. I can't think of any hits that are missing, and at under [] pounds it is excellent value. This is a great collection, and it took me back several decades to the '70s. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
Styx are touring in support of Foreigner and Journey this summer.This best of is a cash in on that tour. This covers the A&M years and for people who missed Styx first time round, and want the hits on one CD, this may be the only Styx album they'll ever need. There is nothing special here that would draw in the long time fan, other than this is the first best of this millenium at a bargain price. No live tracks, b-sides or remixes, but hits and fan favourites from the late 70's/ early 80's glory days. The cover is reminiscent of the Rush retrospective where covers of the albums that the tracks are taken from are featured. The liner notes feature a short essay by Malcolm Dome, a writer for Classic Rock magazine, who also compiled the tracks. This is American pomp rock of the highest order, with an equal mix of ballads and rockers, and it lets newbies hear what all the fuss was about.
£3 at ASDA.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2014
It's Styx. If you like styx, you'll probably like this. I used this album more as an introduction, having previouslyo nly had 3 or 4 of their songs. I have to say, I'm not disappointed.

On a side note, At the time of this review (15/08/2014) I discovered after 15 days of conversing with Amazon support that contrary to the assertions on the page when I ordered it, Autorip is not available for this album. Just worth keeping in mind if that was your intention.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
hadn't listened to much of styx but this is a great place to start. arrived in a couple of days,thanks. it does contain a rock/pomp classic in renegade plus a little ballad called babe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Styx are like your grandmother, its very nice to visit on occasions have a great sing along but don't expect me to kiss her. A good album but not likely to enhance your love life.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)