Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.23

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 January 2013
The Jupiter system is under a stealth attack by the cyborgs. So stealthy that they still don't know about it. Having escaped from Mars, Kluge narrowly avoids being boarded by cyborgs, but has a hard time convincing the Jovians of the threat they face. Luckily they have a meeting about it and decide to have another meeting later By the time they spot their impending doom it's too late to do much about it. With Jovian society decapitated, the ensuing power struggle threatens to allow the cyborgs a walk over. By a quirk of fate Kluge finds himself fighting on the same side as the Praetor of the High Born, united against the cyborgs. Will both of them live to sort out their differences?

This series of books strikes me as a sort of Gullivers Travels in outer space. He travels from nation to nation, gets to meet the leaders, and finds they all have their own different forms of Government. This is not something I expected when I started reading book one, and I wonder if there is a deeper meaning to these stories.

This book finally pulls together loose ends that have been sown in the previous books, and promises epic conflicts to come in the next books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
Intelligent & gripping - highly recommended for anyone who likes sci-fi to feel realistic instead of trying to boldly go where the laws of physics are too inconvenient to apply.

The series tells of the adventures of Marten Kluge as he finds his way from place to place within the solar system, struggling against adversity every step of the way. Initially he is trying to escape the oppression of the political system adopted by humanity amongst Earth and the inner planets; later he finds himself dragged into a war between mainstream humans and a rebellious off-shoot of humanity, the genetically engineered & generally superior Highborn; later still he finds himself up against an even tougher foe (I won't say any more to avoid spoilers).

This is not a story with exaggerated technology able to mysteriously jump between the stars & conveniently teleport people from place to place - all the action takes place in our solar system & with genuine attention to the practicalities of getting from A to B & how things work. It's easy to forget just how BIG our solar system is when reading & watching most sci-fi, and just how much scope there is for events to unfold between the planets, moons, & other bodies we have "locally".

There are plenty of influences from other sci-fi folklore, which adds another level to reading this series as you spot this or that influence of other stories. I don't know if this is intentional by the author or not, but either way it added to the enjoyment for me.

Bottom line - a great read for a minimal price tag. Buy the first book and see what you think - even if you don't like it, you've spent less than for a cup of coffee.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2011
Well i have just finished book four and seen that there isn't a book five!

I have thoroughly enjoyed this series, took a while to understand who was who but once you get into it it begins too make sense.. Love the idea that it takes a more realistic time to travel about the solar system and that some of the terms and technology are firmly based in "now time".

I don't want to ramble o like some reviews do as I am just an older sci-fi reader who enjoys a good book and this series brings back the good old E E Doc Smith type of scify not trying to be too clever just basic goodies and baddies and good and evil, romance and lots of fighting and space stuff.

Buy the first one and read through them, then request the author to write many more, with the way book four finished there are numerous threads to be explored, don't leave it took long Mr Author please.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2011
An extremely enjoyable book. It was just a shame to realise that I'll now have to wait for book 5. It seems that the Trilogy has been replaced by 4 and 5 book series. When they're this good, you don't mind though.
As previously stated by many other people, the initial attraction o this series was the cost for the first 2 books. Then you get into the characters and in this series case, are more than happy to pay for the 4th and when it arrives, the 5th book.
Will now definitely try a different V Heppner series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
just done book four of the doom star series not bad, at times it waffles on a bit but for the most part good solid sci fi , like most people here i like the lack of "star trek" style techy bits warp drive and transporting from place to place, here our hero has to travel through space in a spaceship (wow) and that takes time not instant as with warp drive, i to have noticed many different influences from other stories and they mix well , just seen there is book 5 available must add it my list of holiday reads
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2011
Although this was my least favorite of the series, this is still a great book and one that i could not put down. I love the different political systems that have developed in this series each an extreme showing the best and worst and all managing to get in the way of Martin. The series has lots of twists and turns and am very happy because i just found out that book 5 has been released. Enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2011
I agree with the previous review.
I have read all 4 books and I hope there will be more, the writer has an excellent imagination and it is easy
to get caught up in the characters he has created.
As has been said before get book #1 and if you enjoy it all the better, if you don't no worries we can't all
like the same thing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2011
Fourth in an enjoyable series!
Vaughn Heppner has written an enjoyable series with enjoyable characters and action. Nice light, fun space opera.
The one and only negative on this book is that I could not buy book 5 right away. :-(
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
Enjoyable follow on for the doom star series, looking forward to reading the final book in the series, but also shame they are nearly finished!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2015
Still keeping you on your toes, great read, absorbing, could not put the book down for hours, can wait for the next one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here