Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 September 2013
This is certainly not the Strokes best album, but there are a few great tracks on here and any Strokes fan will not want to miss out.

"Machu Picchu" and "Under Cover Of Darkness" are both brilliant and get the album off to a great start.

I just don't get "You're So Right" yet (after 3 complete listens) it is just a boring repetitive drone. I don't often skip songs on an album, I like to just play the whole lot in the order it was intended to be heard - but I have skipped this one a few times.

The highlight later on is of course "Taken For A Fool". The rest of the tracks are pretty good, but overall this is is not up to the standard of "Is this it?" and "Comedown Machine".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2016
Still unsure why there is so much negatively towards this album. Yes, it's totally different to their earlier albums but I can't help but praise this album. It's catchy and upbeat and one of those albums that will stay with you. 'Is this it' is a brilliant album that any band would be proud of. You have to understand that every artist has to keep reinventing themselve in order to stay relevant. I commend then for doing that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2014
I really love the Strokes so it pains me to say this is only OK... however, compared to 'Comedown Machine' its positively packed with hits... was hoping they would have continued further rocking out after the masterpiece that was 'First Impressions' ... shame. If you don't already have 'Phrazes for the Young', go buy that first instead..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 December 2015
spot on..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2015
nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2013
This has the quality of being very different from previous Strokes albums, whilst also retaining something of their style. It definitely grows on you after a few listens. The equal of previous strokes albums in my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2012
A really good CD, the songs are really catchy. It was dispatched much quicker than expected so no problems there either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
Over a long period this has had as many plays as anything else, I love the melodic genius and structure of this great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2014
It is a nice put together piece of music from these guys. Recommended
Very nice disc cover - Escher anyone??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here