Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now DIYED Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
57
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 December 2014
It serves its purpose well, quite easy to apply and very affordable, it has helped block some drafts on my front door and to greatly reduce some drafts on the same door (ill fitting door was allowing terrible drafts) the door is still ill fitting but this foam has been a very affordable solution to reduce the drafts by about 90%.

A tip for anyone having issues with getting a product to stick well is to use rubbing alcohol to clean the area first, rubbing alcohol also can be found by searching Isopropyl alcohol, Isopropanol, Ipa, it's the same alcohol found on alcohol wipes.

This will remove grease and oils, dust, any residue that might prevent the foam from adhering well enough.

Only difficulty that I found is trying to get a grip on the plastic backing to remove it after the foam is in place, just a little fiddly, a bit like the difficulty finding the end to lift on sellotape :)
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I've tried several products which haven't worked, mainly because the door has variable gaps. This has finally worked and made a real difference to the draughts.

I followed the instructions and wiped the surface down with white spirit first. When I removed the roll from the pack and felt it, I did think "This is never going to stick" but I was proved wrong. It's stayed firmly in place, the door shuts easily and no more draughts!

Great product, highly recommended, especially if you have variable gaps and are finding it hard to get a suitable product.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Only cheap, and the price reflects its quality. Wouldn't use it on any external or large gaps, but does the job for internal stuff.

Doesn't last long before discolouration (a year, tops), so should only be used for a quick fix. So it's handy to have around - as its cheap and there's lots of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
This draught excluder is great - it compresses really well around the frames of doors and windows, meaning that it seals both very tiny gaps and the much larger ones in one go - prefect for my bowing window frames. It has really helped to keep the heat in. I expect it to last a couple of years but perhaps not longer given the material (although it does feel well-made). That is fine for me given the price and ability to compress in frames, and it has worked much better than the thick, hard-wearing rubber-foam material.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
Put this on one of my draughty doors and it did the job and make the house noticeably warmer in the winter months as my door faces the prevailing wind. Just make sure you get the right height foam for your door frame as if you use one that is too high it will fold over/crush easily as it is very lightweight foam.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2015
Seems to work ok once it's in place. The tape is sticky on one side, the other side has clear plastic on it which I believe must be removed once the tape has been placed. Removing this clear backing resulted in the foam ripping at several points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
The foam is very thin, the adhesive is only ok.

It would work well for very small gaps, where you don't have to open the window/door very much - opening it too often will result in the foam coming away from the frame and not doing it's job.

I regret cheaping out on this, and wish I instead invested a few extra pounds in a better one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
Brilliant product, has made a massive difference to ill fitting wood and upvc doors in terms of both sound deadening and draughts. Only reason it hasn't got five stars it that it has started to yellow after two months, but at that price I'll redo it for next winter. Make sure all surfaces are very clean and dry first or it won't stick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Very insubstantial foam (think light packing foam). Worse, it is sticky on both sides so seals your door or window shut and comes apart on opening. Maybe doors should be left open for a time, but that's not in the instructions, or maybe I got a faulty roll. Regardless, I regret not spending more on a better quality product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
After purchasing a property, a never ending list ensued of jobs to do around the house. Drafty doors and windows was one of them. This stuff has worked really well and good value at reducing some of these draughts. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)