Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2014
Jack Dee at his best. So many golden comedy moments. The story itself is rather interesting. Jack Dee plays a comedian, who encounters event after event of social embarrassment and difficulty. A modern day Victor Meldrew perhaps?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Great comedy series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Jack Dee is the king of deadpan humour. The character he has created in Lead Balloon is brilliantly ghastly. His scheming ambitions inevitably end in excrutiating embarrassment and public humiliation because of his hilarious ineptness. The boxed set of all four series is great value. Lead Balloon is a comedy classic, up there with The Office, Extras,Fawlty Towers and Curb your enthusiasm .
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Rick Spleen, semi-successful comedian, full time mr grumpy and generally awful person. It's hard to like Jack Dee's character in this because, basically, he's not likeable. His miserable, misanthropic persona, of his stand up, is given full reign here and is also allowed to be selfish and cowardly. It's quite brave of Dee really, because his character is not sympatheic in the least. His warm intelligent, endlessly forgiving partner (Raquel Cassidy), wouldn't be with a man like this, would she?
Anyway, it's beautifully written and acted, particularly the supporting cast who pretty much steal the show. (Magda, the "cleaner" along with his daughter and her boyfriend, and cafe owner, Michael, are great).
I didn't find it laugh out loud funny, but it's wry, witty and clever, with a few "David Brent" moments slong the way. No laughter track. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
I'd only seen fragments of this on television but remembered enjoying the character of Magda, the expressionless housekeeper. I bought the box set, expecting to watch it over a few weeks, but the programmes were so enjoyable that I got through them within days and felt slightly sad when I reached the end. The storyline, of a comedian who peaked low and is now on the decline, is entirely believable as is the laconic daughter and her boyfriend, the irritating neighbour and somewhat lost cafe owner. The scenes featuring the bargain channel also got it exactly right. I often find the Extras on DVDs a waste of time but the additional `bargain channel' extra on the final disk was so funny that I laughed out loud and scared the cat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Jack Dee is a grumpy old man. In Lead balloon he plays the character of a grumpy old man - to perfection. This box is a winner for the dreary evenings when nothing is on the telly. And as that is rather often, I find that an escape to the world of Rick Spleen, and his petty little problems are just what the humor doctor ordered. But if you can't handle sarcasm, I wouldn't get it. On the other hand, if you can't handle sarcasm - you wouldn't consider anything with Jack Dee in it anyway
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Had seen little fragments of episodes from this and thought it was funny enough so decided to buy the whole box set and I have to say this is one of the funniest TV shows I've ever seen, Jack Dee has created a hilarious character and the whole cast is just genius, the foreign house maid, the quick witted writer, the slow, dim-witted daughter's boyfriend and the more-successful-than-him wife, they just work perfectly together. Just incredible, can't recommend this enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
For anyone who is a fan of Jack Dee and his deadpan style of humour, this is a must have. Far better than a lot of the so called comedy that is being shown today.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2011
I've only seen Jack Dee in "Live at the Apollo", so I didn't know what to expect from this series.
I am Norwegian and usually we love british humor. And I liked this series, but calling it "the funniest sitcom on British TV" is somehow overrating it...
Some of it is really hillarious :-)
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
I enjoyed this series on the telly but loved it even more with the luxury of watching a few episodes at a time on dvd. Top acting, sharp script - and no annoying canned laughter -(it's very funny so I know when to laugh without being told thanks!)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse