Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars

on 15 March 2011
I've dabbled a bit with the epic fantasy genre in the past and lost touch, was recommended this to me recently by a friend who is big into these genre of books. I was pleasantly surprised by how good the book is. The genre suffers hugely from being over complicated and being too long winded in its way of setting up the scene and the characters involved with it. David Shepherd bucks the trend here very well and A Shadow Falls is the direct result of this great approach to the genre. If you're a fan of epic fantasy or even looking to get into it then this book is a great way to get into it. Can't wait for the next instalment!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
My friend recommended it to me as 'a little bit like Tolkein', I'm not sure David has quite caught up with Tolkein himself, but that doesn't stop this being a fantastic eBook. If you like your swords and sorcery, elves and dragons, intrigue, action and adventure, I would thoroughly recommend reading 'A Shadow Falls'. I can't wait for the next in the series of 'Song of the Elves'!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
For a first novel this shows a lot of promise. I love the political intrigue and the trials and tribulations of Kirik in the tournament for the King's Blades. if this is a taste of what the Song of The Elves Saga is like then count me in for the ride. Can't wait for book 2 - The King's Blades which according to the author's website should be out on Kindle at Easter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
Following in the footsteps of the greats in the epic fantasy genre, David's entry into fantasy tells the tale of Kirik, a half elf, and his journey into manhood (elfhood?). Reading it was a pleasure. Becoming quickly engaged with the characters, I couldn't put the book down, especially during the periods of fast paced action as Kirik was battling away in the tournament. Reading 'A Shadow Falls' left me waiting desperately for the next instalment! What a brilliant introduction to the Summerlands and the tale of 'The Song of the Elves'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
Gentle characters are forced into desperate situations. A delightful read from cover to cover - can't wait for the next book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2014
Loved the innocence of this young boy and his harsh awakening into adulthood. Can't wait to read the next book to see how he copes with being a young man and developing his magical powers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Enjoyed the book, pacy and well-written. Only criticism was that there was too many typos! More efficient editing please would make the experience far better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Good read, I will be reading the other book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2015
Very good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here