Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£7.46
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 February 2011
As with the other two 'Save the Cat' books, this is about mainstream, commercial screenplay structure. Although that definition can be extended to include many art house movies, these are not books about the art house. Readers looking for radical departures from the filmmaking establishment should search elsewhere.

The first 'Save the Cat' set out to show the common features in how a lot of successful film are constructed and it did so in an entertaining and clear cut way. 'Save the Cat Goes to the Movies' presented a wider range of film examples in each of Blake's own genre categories.

What 'Save the Cat Strikes Back' does is expand on those sections in the first two books (especially Book 1) that some people felt needed more depth. It has more detail in the way different parts of a story interconnect, how they can mirror each other and reinforce ideas. As with the other books the emphasis here is on structure; the ideas are yours, this is a guide to arrangement and presentation.

As this is Blake's last book, due to his early death in 2009, there is also a poignancy to some examples and anecdotes dealing with life and, in a few cases, death. Blake's central point being that stories are about life and its lessons, including its limits.

Leaving that aside though, I think this is an excellent expansion on the original book and well worth reading if you liked 'Save the Cat'. Of course if you didn't, then you probably aren't reading this review. :)
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
A wonderful book about story telling. Great insight, very practical, funny and sometimes poignant, a compact modern-day guide to the craft. This book complements works by Robert Mckee, John Truby, Chris Vogler, - and even Joseph Campbell. Definitely worth a purchase if you are a fan of popular stories, - films or novels.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
very good book. became a massive fan of Blake Snyder's techniques after applying his methods from his first book and this one follows on nicely from there telling you more about the after the script process that writers selling scripts may experience and look out for.
the first half of the book continues to deal with helping writers with script writing and the later half helps with the after process i.e meetings, studios, managers, agents, avoiding pitfalls and greedy agents/producers.
very entertaining and enjoyable as always from Blake. blitzed through this book in under a week and i have a hectic schedule as it is!
recommend strongly his work for anyone looking on getting into screenwriting or the processes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
I know it says " the last book you'll need", but I just love this guy's style - you can tell he's smiling while he's writing. Big shame we won't hear from him any longer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2016
One of the few books I've read twice and intend to read again. A brilliant expansion and extension on the first book and a powerful inspiration to pick up the pen and write. Blake Snyder shares his own hero's journey in the latter part of the book, which for me, was the most powerful portrayal of the concepts he wrote about. Thoroughly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I found it very useful and entertaining; it is always great to get advice from someone who has actually done what you are looking to do or get involved in.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2012
Loved the first book even though it caused me a great deal of work having to totally re-write one of my films. This takes save the cat further. Love this series although when Blake Synder says "The last book on screen writing you will ever need" why did he write two more volumes. Love the advice, love the content. If you want to write a film this is the place to start
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
Got an idea but you haven't got a story? Blake Snyder will fix that. Just follow the cut-out-and-keep plot points and you'll have a film that gets reviews as good as Legally Blond. He wrote that too. It got the worst reviews in film history. His Dad was in the movies and ...oh. Ok. That's how.

A clear exposition on why modern films are almost exactly the same, just with different actors and clothes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
I got all the three books by Snyder and this one is the worst one of all...it just has nothing at all, the first one is great, but am very disappointed with this one. Waste of money :(
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Good, fast, perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)