Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
72
4.1 out of 5 stars
Lifeblood
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99


on 29 July 2014
This is an album that the manics themselves view as 'not so good' and as a result many fans blindly took them at their word and agreed. However this is far from a bad album. It is simply one of those albums that any band that has been around for 10/20 years is bound to experience. It is different in style and the use/lack of use of certain instruments.

This does not make it a bad album - far from it. This album is one I find that can be listened to from beginning to end, with several tunes standing out such as the notorious Love Of Richard Nixon and the catchy I Live To Fall Asleep.

The only problem with this album are the people who approached it with a closed mind and expectations based on previous albums such as Generation Terrorists and The Holy Bible. You won't find any of that type of material here, but you will find a great album that you should judge AFTER you have listened to it. At the time of writing this, the average rating on Amazon is 4-stars, which is good to see as this album is at least worthy of 4 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Easily their most underrated album, although that feels like rather stating the obvious.

Each track has something to offer, and the pure, crisp sound is a bit of a revelation. I can't give it the full 5 stars purely because it doesn't pack the sheer number of classic songs together, unlike their very best albums.

But it's rather tragic how this album flew under the radar.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Great maniacs cd,they are so good at what they do,can be a bit repetitive,in the lyrics,but they have great structure and
Are a tight band,been through so much,and they still keep going. Great driving cd,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Yes, it's true, this IS the weakest Manics original studio album, just about beating 'Know Your Enemy,' and the (in my opinion) unfairly maligned 'Gold Against the Soul.'
The Manics aren't a young band anymore, but this was the first album they really sounded middle age, a little out of ideas and at times; plodding. It's not a terrible album by any stretch, most bands would give their musical limbs to be able to call this album their lowest ebb, and it does feature some great songs. '1985,' 'Nixon' and 'Cardiff Afterlife' are all great melodic numbers with brilliant, subtle instrumentation and memorable hooks. This isn't really the first time MSP has delved into the New Wave-ish, subtle, pop-esque world. After all, 'This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours,' is very close to this album sonically and stylistically, but where they differ is that that album was chock full of massive, memorable anthems, and class. It also lacks the early venom of their earlier material (which is of course, understandable and expected) and you could argue some of their most recent albums have never even bothered the heights of 'Holy Bible,' but unlike those other albums, 'Lifesblood' is decidedly vanilla, and overall, dull.
Still worth buying for Manics' fans, casual fans should listen to it first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2016
As a Manic Street Preachers listener, this was the second Manic Street Preachers album I purchased in 2005 if I am correct.

Its an excellent record. Very well produced, great well printed shiny cd booklet, and new atmospheric sound for the band itself.

Its by far the most unique album of theirs, but also overlooked too.

If you haven't purchased a record of theirs, surely by now maybe you have though? This one is as good as any to buy.

Great album, didn't get the recognition it deserved...thanks to other wonders of the day...The Strokes, The Vines, Jet and who could forget..The White Stripes.

Give me a band that can sing...not shout!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2005
In hearing "The Love of Richard Nixon", it had been expectant that we were drawn to hear uninspiring tunes from the Manics similar to the messed and flawed "Know Your Enemy". In fact it's sheer brilliance from the Blackwood's finest trio. It kinds of throws away the tension, confusion and experimentation from their previous album starting with a nice mellowing clean slate. The majority of its slow tracks, it hooks to your feel-good senses desperately often unrequited with their earlier work, in every way possible it is whispering to you breathlessly to say this album is a modern-art classic.
Kicking with a good opening track, "1985" shows light anthem rock with soothing melodic rhythms similar to "A Design for Life", clearly reminding you how they matured as a band to a softer direction in rock. "Empty Souls", "Song for Departure", and "Live to Fall Asleep" really highlights that the Manics can produce nice pop-rock with the digging of 1987-era U2 in "To Repel Ghosts" to New-Orderish feel in "Fragments" suiting for all tastes.
The album adds new blends of nice upbeat, harmonious electro-piano melange topped with classic vocals of James Dean Bradfield putting them on a new inspiring level although not clearly as profoundly ingenious with their dark album "The Holy Bible" but this is an album for mature Manic fans. Go buy and listen as it proves the Manics fulfil to all expectations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
I guess the manics could release a country album and I'd still love it!
Once again different to anything they've done before (but I'm getting used to that...after all each of their albums is unique), but still it's the typical manic street preachers style.
The album has great lyrics, and James delivers them with so much devotion (as he always does) that it gives you goosebumps (in a positive way). Sometimes the drums sound a bit electronical and artificial, and since I think Sean Moore is the most versatile, most inventive and most genious (and fastest) of all drummers I know, this is a bit sad, but on the other hand the fact he made it sound that way shows his greatness even more, because combined with the music, the electronical/artificial drums sound really good (but I love the "real" drum roll on Cardiff Afterlife).
If your musical interest is limited to rock, and you want to hear the manics rock (and rock only), then I'm not sure if you'll have much fun with this album. But if you're as versatile as the manics, you may find another manic masterpiece here!
My faves from the album are 1985, Glasnost and To Repell Ghosts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2004
A 'new' direction for the Manic Street Preachers, but I heard a lot of what 'This Is My Truth' could've been in this, their latest efforts. The filler is still there (but to a much less extent), and the important main failing about 'TIMT' has been rectified - musically it is a joy.
Ok, so 'Nixon' is appalling and unlike a lot of reviewers I'm not so keen on '1985' either; just because it namecheck's Morrissey and is as political as they dare get on this album it doesn't turn my head. Indeed, the fact that will distinguish this from all Manic albums is the number of tracks where Nicky Wire seems to be telling us how he is feeling, rather than what he is feeling or reading or complaining about. Such a lyrical honesty probably hasn't been seen by a Manic since 'Ocean Spray' by Bradfield, or Richey's works that straddled 'THB' and 'EMG'.
'Empty Souls' stomped live, but tiptoes in the studio, a lilting track with echoey piano and a faint riff underlying the song with more than a nudge towards 'Motorcycle Emptiness', 'A Song For Departure' will surely be listened to by partners everywhere who have just loved and lost and on 'Emily' the listener is left wondering if Wire respects Pankhurst (the suffragette martyr) or if he is writing her a love letter. Still, this album has arguably everything right that was wrong with the last two studio efforts, and if 'Nixon' can nearly get to No.1 against one of the strongest chart toppers of the year, then surely anything is possible in this remarkable but unsurprising reinvention.
The Manics have stopped trying to recreate 'Motown Junk' (and they are getting a bit old for such buzzsaw heroics), and have instead made 'This Is My Truth - New And Improved & Feat. 110% More Emotion'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
Yes, it's true, most of previous reviews are correct, some are scary exact and others well... It's true The Manics are not the same, they are older and wiser and this is what I don't understand from the others about complaining of their new pop sound. Be honest! The Manics have covered most of the rock styles over their albums and by now you will notice this is not different (well... different!) They gave us a clue of thier musical direction in the song "There by the grace of god" from the Foreved delayed compilation and like Nick said "I can't be 34 pretending to be 25" so if you are waiting for the Holy Bible Again, be prepared, IT'S NOT COMING BACK. I love their new sound no matter what others say, and still they are clever and philisophical as before. Best CD from the new Manics...
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Futurology (Deluxe)
£8.39
Rewind the Film
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)