Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 October 2016
Elizabeth Moon is one of my top five favourite SF authors and the Serrano saga one of my top favourite series. This is the fourth time through it, the first on Kindle. I highly recommend to anyone who likes well balanced adventure, thoughtful speculation, action, military and civilian culture, tight plot development and story arcs. Characters are well drawn and the principals develop interestingly. There are ground battles and space battles, but neither are endless or the main focus. Intrigue and situational complexity are the gripping elements, all bound together in a well paced rhythm. These are simply great stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2017
standard adventure story, young heroine rising to her level of competence, in spite of evil, envious and sneaky enemies...fun settings, good world building, interesting insights into a rigid military hierarchy...you have read this before, from heinlein's young adult space cadet stories, through all the school tales, to all the young finding their own way, etc, etc...fun vacation read, no serious depth, no long-lasting memories, but an ok lazing-by-the-pool book...leave for the next guest...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2011
Heris Serrano was an officer born of a long line of officers. A life serving in the ranks of the Regular Space Service was all she had ever known or wanted - until a treacherous superior officer forced her to resign her commission. This was not just the end of a career path; it was the end of everything that gave her life meaning.

Heris finds employment as `Captain' of an interstellar luxury yacht. Being a rich old woman's chauffeur isn't quite the same as captaining a Fleet cruiser, but nothing Heris will ever do again could compare with that. Or so she thinks. For all is not as it seems aboard the Sweet Delight.

And there you have it - in next to no time, Moon has swept you up into Heris Serrano's adventure as this sympathetic, well rounded protagonist leaps off the page with just the right mix of spikiness and vulnerability. Moon also excels at pacing, alternating the building tension with the action, so that I didn't want to put this down - but read far into the small hours to get to the end of this blockbuster. Each story is sufficiently self contained so that if you're not fortunate enough to have these books back to back, I think you would still be able to read them out of sequence and quickly find your bearings - a trick that many other writers seem unable to successfully manage.
This series of books was written back in the early 90's, but Orbit's smart move in reprinting this omnibus edition proves their pedigree because these novels wear their age well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2009
Whilst the Serrano Legacy Omnibus v1 isn't about to win any literary prizes, it's a competent enough story with sufficient twists, turns and enough character development to keep you turning the pages.

It's basically a Girls Own Story where Heris gets her man (in both senses); in difference to other hard sf, there is much more concentration on the characters rather than tactical situations. After reading far too much Peter F Hamilton (good at hard sf/tactical situations, pathetic characterisation) this was a breath of fresh air.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2009
I'm in general a Moon fan - I really liked the 5-volume Vatta series - and books that spark lots of successors (there are two Serrano trilogies) are usually good value. I've sort of enjoyed this one, but I've found it easy to put down when another book grabbed my attention.

The basic plot is that a woman space commander has to leave the Service after falling out with a psychotic superior officer, and takes up an apparently humiliating job as the captain of an elderly woman's luxury yacht. However, the yacht turns out to have been used for smuggling, so there are uses for her military training, and she gradually builds a relationship of respect with her employer which takes her into unfamiliar terrain. The "hunting party" is ostensibly a fox-hunt on a planet designed for such recreation (ugh), but the psychotic admiral turns out to have organised a manhunt of the captain's former crew nearby, with dramatic consequences.

It's well-written, full of ideas, and rich in nuanced characters. But it's also unfocused. One moment we're dealing with smugglers and pirates, next with the thought processes of a young girl caught up in the manhunt. There's quite a lot about riding, rather more than about spaceships. It's readable and there's lots to read, so it's probably a good bargain, just not her best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
Well it seem severyone liked it, so I will be the fly in the ointment.

To quote the author herself: "On the shuttle ride down to the planet she heard nothing but horse talk...what it didn't make, she thought to herself, was interesting conversation."

Precisely! I bought a Science Fiction book to read, you know, science fiction, not something that could have been written by Dick Francis. Way too much horsey stuff.

The characters were mosly fine, though the bad guys stood out like sore thumbs, even if Serrano and Co couldn't see it. Auntie C however was so incredibly annoying that I took a star off my rating because of her.

As for the space battle at the end - weak, very weak; from the mutiny to the home-made mines and the shuttle attack, none of it seemed at all plausible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
I bought this book having enjoyed Moons Paladdin stories and thoroughly enjoyed all three of the stories,the female hero is a recuring theme of the authors work and is again very well handle and quite believable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2007
The Serrano Legacy is a fabulous series which I reread on a regular basis. This omnibus carries the first three stories, which focus on Heris Serrano, a career officer who also has a long family history in Spacefleet. I know nothing about military life, battle tactics or spaceflight, but all is believeable and the battle scenes are gripping. I know quite a bit about horses, and Heris' introduction to hunting and eventing by her 'eccentric' employer is equally believable. The supporting cast is also excellent, from Heris' former Spacefleet crew to Cecilia, her new employer, and Cecilia's host of friends and relations. Watch out for Bubbles, who in the first story is something akin to Paris Hilton, but undergoes amazing character development.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This is a good read but for me there was a little too much "horsey stuff", (fox hunting and three day eventing). Without being sexist this may appeal to females who are not Sci-Fi addicts as the main characters are women and if they are "into" horses this is will realy appeal to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2007
Amazing setting on the aristocracy based empire that's teetering on the brink of disaster (if they'd only realise it in between parties). Heris Serrano is one who does... and pays the price (not that you know why until about 2/3 through the first novel - nice pacing there). Military meets civilian life with politics and the ultra-rich immortals involved.

Maybe a bit much on the horseriding later on (bit in 1st book and bit in 3rd) but very good really.

Since I haven't read the original novels I'd love to know when the second omnibus is out. Anyone know?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse