Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
4.7 out of 5 stars

on 16 April 2017
This audio CD of Enid Blyton's "Three Cheers Secret Seven" is an excellent production. It is read very well by Sarah Greene and she has read the whole story. The story really begins when Susie's model aeroplane flies into the grounds of Bartlett Lodge. The house is shut up but there is a very fierce gardener in charge of the grounds. In spite of this danger, Peter and Jack get over the wall and find the plane on a balcony. The boys climb a tree to reach the balcony - then Peter sees something strange in the room behind the balcony, something to be investigated. . . . As a result the Secret Seven - the club that Peter and his friends belong to - are drawn into a very satisfactory mystery! There is excitement and plans; and misunderstandings with adults, and setbacks - But the children don't give up, and finally the mystery is solved - and what an unexpected solution it is! At the end the children have a chance to reveal their kindness, as well as their determination and mystery-solving abilities.
Children should really enjoy this story of this bunch of very resourceful children - especially Secret Seven fans!.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2017
✍The Secret Seven are siblings Peter and Janet, and Jack, Barbara, Pam, Colin and George.

✍Together they are The Secret Seven - ready to solve any mystery, any time - in Enid Blyton's classic series of 15 mystery novels.

✍In book four, something mysterious is going on at Tigger's Barn, and the Secret Seven are intrigued. Peter thinks it's all just gossip, but Jack isn't so sure when he overhears a strange conversation.

✍ First published in 1952, this anniversary edition features the original text as well as extra stories, a quiz, additional artwork and insights into Blyton's life and writing process. Both cover and inside illustrations were created by Tony Ross in 2013.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
Another great story of the Secret Seven. I kids will not go to sleep without a chapter of their SS story. Here the SS learn that people are not all bad. A mystery comes about after Susie get a new model airplane. She let the SS fly it and when it goes into the neighbor's house, getting it back takes the SS on a mystery that they might wish they had not solved. I do like that fact that the SS are starting to display more detective skill as well especially after all the adventures they have had so far.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
love the books better price than the high street
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2008
As the eighth book in the series, this story is quite impressive and compared to the rest, it is very good: it is excellent. The storyline is very, very different which is good for Enid Blyton because she repeats a lot of her ideas - this story is a unique one and is really original. The plot is that Susie is playing with her new model aeroplane and she, and the toy, is the ones who starts this strange mystery. It neatly paves the way for a series of books which are alike but more complex storylines to come. I would definitely rate this wonderful book: 8.5/ 10.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 January 2016
THE “SECRET SEVEN” SERIES

THEY ARE THE BEST FOR A FIRST READ!

Enid’s early works include the ‘Secret Seven Society’ books featuring Peter (the society's leader), Janet (Peter's sister), Jack, Barbara, George, Pam and Colin. They were the catalyst which encouraged me to start reading more than 50 years ago. Thank you, Enid.

The BBC, many public libraries, local authorities and alleged educational experts have been completely wrong about the worth of the Blyton works. I can remember having substantial difficulty obtaining the original versions of the books. Quite a few shops would not stock them then but they were wonderful stories for teenagers! The tales are great to read for their simplicity and straightforwardness.

When one did find copies of the book they were quite expensive all those years ago but great to own. I loved the physical appearance of the books as well which I treasured as a youngster with the way in which the books were produced then making them somehow much easier to read.

It’s a delight to read these stories of adventure again in middle age although recent editing has diminished some of the memories I have of the original editions and words used then (but I am now getting old).

Never mind… these books remain one of my best friends for life: they began my own reading adventure so do read these special adventures of the Secret Seven Society for yourselves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2013
My father used to read these to me when I was a child, now im reading to my son and he loves them. This was a great story about how even good people can do things wrong when doing something with the best intentions.

Every kid should fall asleep to these stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
The first Enid Blyton book I have read to my 4 year old grandson. Not the last. Although her style of writing is from a time gone by, she can still keep a child enthralled. Much easier life back then, far simpler but innocent. Good to mix this book with more modern ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
I think that it was a really good book with lots of tense bits. for example, on chapter 14 I couldn't put it down. the secret seven are amazing, I have always wanted an adventure like there's but haven't yet succeeded.
I really recommend this book to everyone!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2009
When Peter and Jack search for their lost model aeroplane, they see a gas-fire alight in the abandoned house, Who can be hiding there?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here