Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
156
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.18
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2012
I've had this book on my kindle for a while,I wish now I'd read it as soon as it was downloaded,what a book! It was a real rollercoaster, I don't even know how to describe it, part thriller, part horror/supernatural and just when I thought I knew where it was going it took me in a different direction.I loved it, I felt for the main character with her imperfections, and struggles and I liked some of the other characters a lot too,I was totally captivated by this book,and can't wait to read more by this author,definately a winner for me I recommend it to anyone who wants a page turner they can get lost in.This is an author I am starting to really like.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
I'd like to say I read a lot a book in one to two days bad this book was a real pleasure to read I caught myself smiling and crying and its so sad that people do go missing and this book let's you see the sadness and how lucky we really are I will be reading this again some day but I can promise this book will say inside me for a very long time .. I do hope cheryl will do more in this series and I'm going to buy another book right now
a new fan michelle baldwin xxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Loved this one of top 5 even if worked book day
House nice quiet now to watch my treats how
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
This was a very good book. I really felt for the mother in this book and quite frankly wanted to slap the husband. For such a sensitive issue, it was handled very well and you really wanted the best outcome but knew deep down it couldn't be for them all. I look forward to reading more from this author.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2012
well what can i say, i downloaded this book on a Friday, finished it on Saturday night, i downloaded it to my kindle app on my phone, its a really good read, keeps you glued to it as you just want to know what happens, and you can relate to the character,
well written and i have recommended the book to my family and friends, :) thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
The first half of this book was gripping and I stayed up till 2am reading it. The second half takes a strange turn and becomes unbelievable however its a great read and I would recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2013
Lame. And did I mention? - Lame. Obnoxious dialogues and main character, weak writing, shallow characters, another main heroine who is a writer (why oh why are half of all novel heroes writers?). Boring plot. Sorry for the part-sentences but I've just been left brain-dead.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
Children of the Fog is a mixture of horror, psychological thriller and paranormal that is split into two distinct parts – the first part focuses on Sadie, her relationship with her son and husband, and the kidnapping of her son by a mysterious kidnapper known locally as The Fog. He’s been kidnapping children for years, and yet no one has ever come close to catching him. The second part is Sadie and how she copes without her son, indisputably the love of her life.

Unfortunately, some of Sadie’s choices and actions made it difficult for me to really connect with her as a character. At times I felt sympathetic towards her, other times she was the type of character I love to hate, and on more than one occasion, I found her completely frustrating. I don’t need to like or respect characters to appreciate them, but the inconsistency was hard for me to deal with.

Issues with Sadie aside however, I really enjoyed the psychological thriller part of the story – it was written with the perfect amount of suspense, and the strong sense of not knowing if it was the character losing the plot, or everyone around her, which for me is the mark of a strong psychological thriller.

The horror and paranormal aspects I found rather gripping, although I wouldn’t personally class much of the story at all as horror, the paranormal aspect is much more prominent, and also a little more convincing.

Children of the Fog isn’t a perfect book, but it is the kind of book that I found easy to lose myself in – I wanted to know what was going to happen next, and I was pretty much captivated the whole way through. It’s just a shame that Sadie was so inconsistent for me.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2012
I must say I really enjoyed this book. The plot was well thought out and kept you wondering right the way through. My emotions were on a roller coaster ride....one minute I was smiling the next trying to read through tears. I downloaded this as a free book, I would have gladly paid for it.....the best book I have read in a very long time. I will certainly keep a look out for this author.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I downloaded this when it was free but now I would have gladly paid for it.
The author really me really dislike Philip for his treatment of his wife. It is a real page turner (can you call it that on a Kindle ?) and I can see myself re-reading it in the future - always the sign for me of a good book. It was gripping without being too gory for the sake of it(something that can happen a lot in books and doesn't always add to the story)
Will watch out for other books by same author.
Thank you Cheryl
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.99

Need customer service? Click here