Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
41
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£1.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2012
With great characters and an authentic Scottish background, Janice Horton gives us the thoroughly entertaining story of laird Innes Buchanan and Texan cowgirl Orley McKenna. They meet and fall in love in Texas, and Innes offers Orley a job as the cattle manager on his estate where he plans to develop a new breed of cattle.
Thrilled to have her dream of visiting Scotland coming true, Orley comes down to earth with a shock as she struggles to adapt to a different lifestyle in a rundown (and freezing cold) mansion, with Innes' disapproving mother and his ingenuous brother. She also has to contend with the vengeful ex-fiancee, who it seems will stop at nothing to get rid of her and win Innes back.
There's love and mistrust, happiness and near-tragedy, and plenty of humour, too, in this enjoyable romance. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
Bagpipes & BullshotIf you are so impressed by the important but unobtrusive detail of the story, you find yourself assuming the author has experience of the subject she is writing about, you know you are settling into a good book. Janice Horton has clearly done her research, all kudos to her.

So, to the story: The impressive, but rundown, Buchanan Estate needs a large injection of cash. Laird Innes Buchanan therefore seems duty-bound to marry into the wealthy neighbouring McKenzie family. Indeed, as far as his intended, the beautiful but manipulative Davina McKenzie is concerned, Innes is hers, bar the actual ceremony, which she immediately sets about arranging. Small problem, Innes doesn't love her. His younger brother does. Deciding not to go through with the marriage, Innes embarks on a mission to save the estate by other means. To this end, he enlists the help of Texan cattle expert, Orley McKenna, to help him breed a hardy new herd of cattle, which might eventually generate enough income to sustain them. Innes, though, admires Orley for more than her brains and sassiness. He's fallen for her, big time, and Orley's heart belongs to Innes.

The course of true love never did run smooth though. Not only does Orley have to contend with disapproving Lady Buchannan's haughty frostiness, local gossip, and the unforgiving climate of the Scottish Highlands, she also has to survive the vengeful plotting of a woman scorned: Davina, who still believes herself to be engaged to Innes, and whom Innes has neglected to mention.

All the elements for a terrific story, then. Throw some humorous escapades into the plot and some beautifully descriptive writing around the geography - and you have a hugely satisfying read. Loved it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
From the pheasant shoot where 'the sky rained birds' to the wonderful 'Bullshot' whiskey with Worcestershire sauce, it's a taste of Scotland. Add in Orley - a Texan gal mesmerised by Laird Innes..... and what you have is a fun read with characters who leave you hoping for that happy ending. With waspish Davina intent on .. well, murder.... and Fergus, Innes brother, starry eyed and hoping Davina will love him instead of his brother.... how will it all turn out? My lips are sealed, but every step of the way you will find yourself caught up in the wonderful story as author Janice builds up to her finale!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
The story pulled me along through the short days of a Highland winter, the tweeds and tartans of the Scottish clans. The atmospheric setting of the book is a vital part of the experience. Janice Horton has a light touch with description. Whether it is a crisp clear morning, the detail of a shot gun or the ambiance of a stable, the feeling is genuine. An example is "A lichen covered long neglected pot of dahlia flowers at the side of a slimy old stone water trough.." It is just a flash of atmosphere that gives you that feeling of authenticity. The story unfolds to reveal some well drawn characters and an entertaining plot. I was sorry to finish it and feel like I need a haggis to keep up my Highland fling.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
This is a fun one. This is romance with a sense of humour and a cheerful, cheeky wink in the eye. She’s a likeable if hot-tempered heroine, trying to save her hide from unemployment and worse. He’s a likeable and just plain hot hero, trying to save the family farm from ruin. She’s a feisty Texan cowgirl, brought to the world of Scottish beef and beefcake alike. There’s an amusing cast of characters, including a grasping and scheming matriarch, a conniving gold-digger rival, and plenty more. There’s a lively plot, a fancy dress ball, and quite a few other surprises I won’t spoil for you. It’s fun and it’s romantic and light-hearted. Prepare to enjoy yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
Janice's writing is so descriptive, and vivid and she really makes the colours and places come alive so quickly and energetically!

Hunky Scottish laird Innes, who is the first charming character you meet in the book meets gorgeous Texan cowgirl Orley (a girl you'd quite like to be best mates with) while visiting Texas on a scholarship trying to discover ways of dealing with the financial difficulties he is faced with on his crumbling family estate. He offers Orley a job back in Scotland and as she's desperate for a fresh start in her life and wants to put the past firmly behind her, she immediately agrees. But is moving to Scotland and living in the same house as Innes all that she imagined it would be and is it the answer to her problems? Or does it just create more?

Davina, a family friend -or maybe not - is another amazingly portrayed character who has you feeling emotions you can't possibly imagine being able to feel when you are reading a book! You'll know what I mean when you read it! Add Dastardly Davina to Innes' jealous brother and the frosty Lady of the House, along with the local traditions, Orley wonders whether she's made a huge mistake and also wonders whether the past can be forgotton. The house which Innes and his family own is expressed in such a way that you picture it immediately through Janice's descriptions, and want to wrap up warm and visit this wonderful place and stay forever.

Bagpipes and Bullshot is an amusing, cleverly written, fun read with many moments that make you laugh out loud. Janice writes in such an expressive way in this romantic novel which I found very entertaining and an absolute pleasure to read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
An enjoyable read which held my attention. Innes is a fab male lead, and I found Orley to be extremely likable. The supporting characters are memorable (some because of their terrible antics, which I'm not sure I'd have forgiven!) and it's always a joy to read a book set in beautiful Scotland . . . although you won't catch me bathing naked in a burn like one character did (go on, guess which one . . .)

I liked the way 'Lady Macbeth' was woven into the storyline, too.

I'll be looking out for more novels from Janice Horton.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2011
From the moment you read page one, you know you are in for something different and in Bagpipes and Bullshot you are not disappointed. Janice Horton has written a fun read with a lovely sense of wit and fun. Her style is her own, her characters alive and believable. I won't tell you the plot, I won't spoil it for you, and if I say I was disappointed when I got to the end it because I didn't want to stop reading about these characters. Cheers, Miss Horton, for giving us a lovely read and eagerly await your next.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Very enjoyable and as a beef farmer the discussions regarding the cattle were, in the main, correct. Nice banter and the author made the reader interested in the characters stories. A good book to curl up in front of the fire with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2011
When handsome Scottish Laird Innes Buchanan meets beautiful Texan cowgirl Orley McKenna and brings her over to his impoverished estate in Scotland, it's for more than her expertise with cattle. But before their romance can properly begin, Orley has to contend with a run-down country mansion, a frosty Lady of the manor, and a vengeful ex-girlfriend who puts Lady Macbeth to the shade.

Bagpipes and Bullshot is a wonderful romp of a novel with many laugh-out-loud moments from an author who knows how to entertain the reader. With a hero and heroine to fall in love with, and a cast of `larger than life' characters, Janice Horton has cleverly caught some of the unique differences between two cultures. The Dumfries and Galloway setting is brought vividly to life in the beautifully descriptive writing. Although this is a humorous novel, there is real background knowledge of the farming and cattle breeding concerns which lends authenticity to the story.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.17

Need customer service? Click here