Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
29
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.91


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 August 2012
Overshadowed by the previous, wonderful, 'Billion Dollar Babies', this caused much disappointment on its original release. The omens weren't good - with the absence of epic producer Bob Ezrin and a tired, bickering band - but it is actually quite a good little rock album.

It certainly lacks much of the flashy sheen of its predecessor and occasionally seems to just go through the motions; plus there's one real horror in 'Woman Machine'. On the positive side though there are some inventive touches with the jazzy piano on 'Crazy Little Child' and the violin coda of 'Big Apple Dreaming'. There are some great pop-rockers in 'Working Up A Sweat' and the title track plus the wonderfully low-key angst of 'Teenage Lament' - a big U.K. hit single.

Overall then, it's better than you think.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
As a follow-up from the practically unbeatable gold standard of Billion Dollar Babies, Muscle of Love is a more slight release but only by comparison. On its own merits it is a great fun album full of excellent songs and a couple of classics of its own - only not as many as the previous, and indeed following albums.

'Big Apple Dreamin' Hippo' is a great, sunny start to proceedings, similar to 'Caught in a Dream' from Love It To Death but with a distinctly cool groove. Very '70s. Very good. A mini-classic. 'Never Been Sold Before' is fine but doesn't pull the listener in as much as the opener. 'Hard Hearted Alice' is another semi-classic that takes a while to gel but appears as something quite beautiful when it does. 'Crazy Little Child' is a strange track. It has a great story (kind of a Bugsy Malone yarn), as it is a concept album as such about life in New York City, but the rock-a-billy pianee style doesn't lend to much of a tune, more a background soundtrack to a fight within a film(?). But it's still quite fun. 'Working Up A Sweat' is a great, catchy song that is yet another semi-classic in my opinion. Then the inimitable 'proper' classic, 'Muscle Of Love', kicks in with such a strut as to almost push you to one side. 'The Man With The Golden Gun' is rather silly and takes a while to sink in properly but is actually quite good. However, it was a shrewd decision by the film-makers to go with the Lulu track. As the album may be about male prostitution, thinly, the song could have other connotations that the Broccoli's may have taken offence too. That and it isn't the best sounding Bond song (that's the one thing Alice Cooper has failed to accomplish - a decent soundtrack track). 'Teenage Lament' is awesome and should be played by everybody, everywhere forever. 'Woman Machine' is another quite groovy song and finishes the album off well, but does not have the staying power to compete with some of the better tracks.

On the whole a very good collection, but with a few oddities thrown in that, if removed, may have made for another, far more swaggering classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2012
Tongue in cheek, naughty and very very good. All true, the title track is slick fast and oily (oh matron!) I found it in an old second hand shop years ago and have bought four differant versions of it since as I keep wearing them out! The plain cover always makes me laugh too!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
This record is a MUST for old time Alice fans. I honestly think it's better than Schools out! What on earth is that man on, I hear you cry..........ok I don't hear ya, but I know what your thinking.(and it ain't pretty!)
Big apple Dreamin'(hippo)is classic Alice with a guitar solo that transports you back to the early 70's, sounds silly but it's true.
Hard hearted Alice is simply majestic, a forgotten gem, and the Title track is still being played live today.
Alice himself describes this record as odd, so that's got to be a good sign hasn't it?
Honest to goodness(didn't want to say God!)every track has earned it's place on this record, I love everyone of them......................yeah, yeah I've had a drink, but I'm a true fan who knows his stuff, and this cd is a CLASSIC BABY. BUY IT AND DISCOVER SOME BURIED TREASURE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2000
This album contains some truly great songs. Hard hearted alice is the best. The way the song changes mood from the accoustic driven intro with soft vocal patterns to the jazzy middle section culminating in the brilliant guitar solo that concludes the song this is classy stuff. Crazy little child is a clever take on a the life of a budding young gangster all played out with a smoky bar room atmosphere complete with honky tonk piano and banjo's is brilliant. Along with the rocking title track and the pop song teenage lament. This album stands for both its billiance and it's sheer diversity. Don't believe what you hear this album is great !!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2004
Muscle Of Love (1973.) Alice Cooper's seventh studio album, and the last one with the classic Alice Cooper band.
Despite rough beginnings, Alice Cooper had proven himself to be a classic hard rock genius by the time 1973 rolled around. Every major label album he had released to date with his band was nothing short of a masterpiece. Later in 1973, after releasing their wildly popular Billion Dollar Babies album, the band released the considerably less popular Muscle Of Love. Would this album be another masterpiece like Billion Dollar Babies before it, or would it be one of the band's blunders? Read on for my review.
Let me start my saying that anyone who doesn't appreciate this album is brainless. Every one of the Alice Cooper band's album's released on a major laber (with the lone exception of Schools Out) is worthy of a five-star rating, and this one is no exception. It is kicked off with Big Apple Dreamin', a Zeppelin-esque hard rocker that grabs the listener's attention and holds onto it. The follow-up track, Never Been Sold Before, is another excellent and worthwhile rocker. Next the band serves up one of their slowest and most melodic tracks, a little tune called Hard Hearted Alice. This has got to be one of the band's most underrated songs. The two big hits to emerge from this album, the title track and Teenage Lament '74, are also excellent, I especially like the latter of the two, which talks about life from a teenager's perspective. The Man With The Golden Gun is a song that the Alice Cooper Band submitted to be the theme to the James Bond film of the same name (they were all big-time James Bond fans), but sadly, it got turned down. Why? It's WAY better than Lulu's song that ended up being the theme! Woman Machine, yet another one of the band's severely underrated tracks, brings the album to a close. They couldn't have picked a better song to finish the album.
It's a shame this album is now out of print in America (as of July of 2004) and appreciated by so few fans, because it really is one of Alice Cooper's finest albums of his entire career. It was the last album to feature Alice with his classic band, and I really don't think they could have gone out on a better note. If you come across this album and you're a fan of Alice Cooper, casual or die-hard, pick it up. It may take a little more time to grow on you than the other albums, but ultimately you should end up agreeing - it's one of the band's finest efforts.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
This is the 7th album by the Alice Cooper band and features what should have been the theme song for the James Bond movie "Man With The Golden Gun" but Lulu beat him to it. The last of his albums to feature original band members Dennis Dunaway (bass), Glen Buxton (lead guitar), Michael Bruce (rhythm guitar) and Neal Smith (drums). This album also contains the singlesTeenage Lament '74 and Muscle Of Love. Just great.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Excellent Album that has lost nothing from it's transfer to Cd. Bought this Rocker to play in the car, as I haven't really grasped the download bug. Great collection of great songs to head-nod too. Nicely packaged with lyrics, photos from the LP inner sleeve and some credits from the original LP insert.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2004
For me Alice Cooper was always a band that consisted of Cooper / Bruce / Buxton / Dunaway / Smith, and this was there last album, since then Alice Cooper has made ok albums but never bettered this work, Alice Cooper was a band.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2016
Quite an overlooked and underrated album of AC's, I think. I used to have the original vinyl copy in the "pizza box" and have just repurchased it on vinyl again.
Definitely worth a try.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)