Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2017
great Christmas present, and well worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Exactly what I expected!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2011
For the past 5 or 6 years, perhaps longer, I've really struggled to get excited about any British guitar bands. America, Canada and Scandinavia have been churning out really inspired music, whilst the UK scene has produced bands that either seem to be either stuck in 2001, or intent on trying to break the mould without any real idea how, just so long as they get famous for a bit.

If I'm being honest, The Vaccines are doing nothing new. Their blend of post-punk, garage rock, new wave, noise pop and power pop follows that of countless bands to emerge during the last 10 or so years.

Where they differ however is that they don't try too hard. It's genuine, it's fresh, it's fun, it's not being made by some teenagers trying to be the next Strokes and pretending that they remember the Velvet Underground being together.

Quite simply, the songs are excellent, and they put to shame some of the embarrassingly average wannabees that Britain has produced in recent times.

It's not a 5-star album. That would be over-reacting. Around the middle it sort of tails off a bit, but it recovers well at the end, leaving the listener most satisfied.

If you like guitar-based indie rock, you'll really enjoy this record.
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
There are many reasons why one might be unimpressed by this over hyped album. Some of the lyrics are puerile rubbish (Wetsuit is a stunning example of how not to imitate Leonard Cohen.) The music is unoriginal and sounds like a mix of twenty long forgotten brain dead bands. Two of the tracks are ridiculously short (Wrecking Bar ra ra ra is only 1:22). The final track, Family Friend, is rather pointlessly chopped in half with a silence in the middle. All in all, this album is about as sophisticated as a drunken orgy in a brothel. And yet, curiously, it's one of the best things I've heard for a while. I'm not sure why I like it so much. My brain tells me to give it only one star. But that would be to miss the point. Music is fundamentally visceral. This album is full of raw energy and it has an undeniable feel-good factor like the early hits of the Beach Boys. It's also completely unpretentious. I just want to play it over and over again. I can't help singing along to Wetsuit despite the crap lyrics. My advice is to suspend your critical faculties; pretend you're thirteen once again and give it a go. Fun fun fun.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Vaccines, a four piece indie-rock band from West London positively exploded on the mainstream music scene back in 2011 with the release of a truly great debut album. 'What Did You Expect from the Vaccines' is filled from top to bottom with the kind of feel-good indie punk-rock anthems that readers of NME magazine will love. Catchy and light-hearted, but never cheesy or annoying, it makes for a rather charming listening experience, laced with wit and raw excitement.

Each short and snappy track on this album instantly grabs at you, shakes you about a bit, and keeps you coming back for more. My favourite tracks are the chaotic opener 'Wreckin' Bar (Ra Ra Ra)', 'rocktastic' (if there is such a word) 'Blow it Up', the sing-along 'If You Wanna', the anthem-like 'Wetsuit' with it's catchy melodies, and the somewhat humorous 'Post Break-Up Sex'.

The Vaccines are a great band who have gone onto release two excellent albums which further showcase their original strengths, but also the growing versatility. This ear-catching first record is a whole lot of fun which will appeal to those who loved artists like The Strokes and The Cribs, especially in their early days. It's unmistakeably British both in the lyrics of the songs, and the overall sound, and a firm favourite of mine. 'What Did You Expect From The Vaccines?' is a debut album to remember, and I have no doubt that the music history books will regard it as such in the future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2017
Superb debut album from The Vaccines, every tracks a winner and they are a great live band two. They haven't managed to match this in their subsequent releases sadly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
This album mines the same sort of 80s period that The Drums debut so chirpily ripped off (in a good way of course). Sure it doesn't have the synths and the same slightly OTT production levels but while The Drums debut sounded very, well, American, this sounds very British (as both should be expected to sound).

I really enjoyed this album. Made me think back fondly to the time I came across The Cribs back in the day when they used to be good (first and second albums in other words). The album has a bit of a swagger to it and an almost disinterested/lazy vibe to it at times which I think sounds great.

Stepping up to a bigger stage is something I always thought ruined The Cribs so in a selfish sort of way I hope that this lot stay on the fringes of the main stream radar - I think they'd be all the better for it.

Anyway, well worth checking out. I think you'd be hard pushed not to enjoy it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2011
This is a great album, full of great songs, the one stars just haven't listen or just do not appreciate good music. It's refreshing, yes bits are from other bands but they have some great riff sounds with melody and good song writing. Enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
I'm not sure that the journos will get this one. Basically, it's a music fans' album.
It offers some grandiosity but leaves you with an overall feeling that where you have been for the last half hour is "With The Vaccines"(which is, luckily, a title they decided not to go with).
It's the unexpected that is the real pleasure here. We all know Wreckin' Bar(Ra Ra Ra)as a deliciously surfin' fizzes-on-the-tongue single from a band that do not pad-it-out and 'Post break-up sex', 'Blow It Up' and 'If You Wanna' are accomplished, lovingly-executed stories but the Phil Spector-influenced 'Wetsuit' and Beatles Rock n' Roll of 'Norgaad' should bring a smile to the most cynical face.
The surf intro is nicely rounded off at the album climax with 'Family Friend' which leads out on some beautifully VU/Mary chain guitars and drums.
Although I doubt any of them were born when The Stone Roses debut album came out, in common with the Roses, Vaccines bring back(?)/along the sounds we all wanna hear and they do it with pleasure as opposed to posturing.
Expect to hear this album everywhere this Spring/Summer. Enjoy it then and now.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2012
Whilst there's nothing particularly original or innovative about The Vaccines, there are few British indie bands playing currently, who have a better ear for a catchy, rocky melody and whose lyrics are more in keeping with the present day, than The Vaccines. 'What Did You Expect From The Vaccines' was met with mostly excellent reviews upon its release, and the only real criticisms of the album came in focusing on its relatively generic sound; though it's a qualm easy to forget when the songs on show are as catchy as the tale of falling in love with a teenage girl, in 'Norgaard', the almost grungy drive of 'Post Break-Up Sex'; and even slower, more restrained numbers, such as 'All In White'. The band can also play fairly well, and whilst the album is primarily made up of fast drumming and driving riffs, there's a decent amount of variety on show; and frontman Justin Young's charismatic vocals also help to set The Vaccines apart from the pack. This is an album unlikely to change anyone's view of music, nor does it bring anything vastly new to the table; but it doesn't pretend to - and if what you're looking for is 12 great indie rock songs, full of memorable hooks and clever one-liners, then you won't go far wrong with 'What Did You Expect...'.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)