Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2012
I bought 3 of these caddys for my spare 2.5" sata drives that i had lying around and figured i'd put to good use.

Not two or three weeks after i fitted them, the 'micro usb 3.0' connection begins to loosen and have quite a lot of movement in the port.

I open the caddy back up and what d'ya know.. the connection to the chip board within is partially broken and has come away from the metal connectors.

Fair enough i thought.. "the micro usb 3 connection is a bit of an odd one, its tougher to get in!"

It wasn't for another 2 or so weeks, using a completely seperate hard drive in one of the other icy boxes.. and guess what? Same thing AGAIN.

Only reason i dont know if the other one is broken too, is because i gave it to my brother as a gift!

Do not bloody buy these!
11 Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
The connector(in the box) is exceptionally bad. Jiggling(or even slightly moving it around) the cable around will disconnect the device from your computer. The issue is internal, not external, as it is easily reproducible with any other USB 3.0 cable.

I do not use it as a mobile device, since it's a frustrating experience trying to connect it to a computer.

Otherwise it works like you would expect.

(Too bad shipping back costs more then actual device.)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
USB (PC end) is not steady (moves side ways), so if you touch the cable usb pins looses the sync & drive gets disconnected. Bad design! However great service from Amazon/Seller - no hassle for returning the item and to get money back. Thanks.
22 Comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
This product is simply faulty. The enclosure seems to work fine for about 3/4 uses, and then all of a sudden the connector in the micro usb 3 end that goes into the box becomes at first unreliable then simply stops working entirely. I figured first it was simply an isolated instance of a single faulty product, however the replacement was equally defective. In all, this product is not of merchantable quality and I would strongly recommend against its purchase.

My search for a durable external hard drive with usb 3.0 continues...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2012
The Micro-USB3 connector on this device is a socket that's held to the PCB just by a few shoddily soldered legs.

Develops problems after a handful of uses, requiring the connector to be held in a certain way to get connectivity - then snaps off.

Bought it over a year ago - no recourse to seller as a result.

Tried RaidSonic - awful, terse support response - just don't care.

Avoid badly designed product and company that doesn't care to fix its errors.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
This product looks great and performs well, however the quality is just as bad as the other reviews say.
I only used it occasionally and it started acting up within two weeks, eventually it stop being recognised as a USB device unless you held it at a specific angle, and now it's entirely dead, less than two months old.

You'll regret buying such a cheap product.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2013
I've had this for about a year, purchased for £13 which was a reasonable price for a USB3 enclosure. I was also attracted by the brushed aluminium design, and I thought it would match well with my MacBook Pro. But the material of the enclosure is actually very rough, and very metallic unlike the silky smooth surface of a MBP. So it has spent its life so far, encased in the faux leather pouch that was included. Another thing I disliked was that you need a little screwdriver (not included) to (re)place the HDD inside. I've owned other enclosures which simply slide and lock, and is much more convenient. But I've only had to take this enclosure apart a few times so far. Once to install, and again for my next and main point...

After about 9 months of solid, stable, and admirable performance over USB3, the USB connector on the enclosure side has become very loose and unstable, and any knock of it would cause the device to lose power and drop the connection to my laptop. I took the screws apart to investigate, and there is a LOT of movement around the USB connector on the circuit board, and any little wiggle up or downwards would be enough for the connections to be lost.

Very disappointing. It's now practically unusable because I don't want to accidentally jog the device mid-transfer and lose any data!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2012
I bought this as an upgrade to a USB 2.0 enclosure I was using on a 7200rpm Seagate Momentus drive. This enclosure feels a slightly more cheaply made than others I own, but for the price point this is acceptable. As soon as you plug it into a USB 3.0 port however, you will forget about this instantly! The speed is simply mind blowing. I copied a 1GB file over in under 15 seconds. Crystal mark shows me that it is actually performing better than the 5400rpm drive fitted in my laptop (84MB/s compared to 77MB/s on sequential reads and writes). The only speed limiting factor seems to be the disk itself.

In summary, this is a fantastic and cheap upgrade to a USB 2.0 enclosure, giving a very noticeable speed boost on traditional mechanical hard drives - I can only imagine how fast it would be if you put an SSD into it!
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
bought this case with a lot of hopes to use my old laptop hard drive at usb 3.0 speeds. it looked nice and gentle with that brushed effect on the case.
just after a couple of months of less frequent usage, the usb female connector in the case just came out when i unplugged the cable. what a waste of money!!! NOTE: i can fix it by soldering the pins, but i could find pieces needing a fix from a garbage rather than a seller online.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2013
On first inspection, this seems like a pretty decent product. Solid metal construction and simple enough to install the HDD. However, like others, the USB 3 connection soon became weak and now doesn't work at all. In fact, the connection from the micro USB to the box was never very convincing. Avoid this item.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)