Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 10 May 2017
The film itself is better than o.k, it still makes excellent viewing. It's the DVD that I don't like. I didn't notice that this is a Dutch import. The info is hidden way down the page description. This means it comes on with Dutch subtitles. It is possible to turn these off, but if you want English subtitles there aren't any. The menus are also all in Dutch which doesn't make it easy to navigate. I would not have bought this version if I had realised this. Amazon has lumped together all the reviews for El Cid so I am referring to a DVD sold by The Best On DVD.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 January 2017
Star rating is for the movie but not the transfer which is hardly better than the DVD. This movie deserves a really proper 8k restoration and transfer from 70mm source material if possible. King of Kings from Bronson got a wonderful transfer. If only somebody would give the same attention to El CID and that other epic THE FALL OF THE ROMAN EMPIRE.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 May 2016
I watched this epic as a young boy in Edinburgh. So looking forward to re-viewing it over the weekend. Really good acting, splendid scenery & battle scenes on a grand scale, and wait for this - no cgi! Whoop!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2018
Very good film, seeing how old it is. Had a overture to fast forward and an intermission., The color and picture quality was very good..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2018
What can I say about this movie? One of the all time epics in my view. Excellent performances from Charlton Heston and Sophia Loren.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
Great movie and fine action sequences - one of the last great historical epics - they don't make films like this anymore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2016
great film, wonder why it hardly ever gets shown on tv.Better still is Miklos Roza`s score. I cannot even find it on my Amazon tv stick. It is by far the best epic film l have seen..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2017
Disappointed as the language was German and English,but it was all in German,no provision to change to English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 April 2018
Excellent quality BD. Not available stateside.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 April 2018
classic film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)