Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 4 August 2013
Good camera and very keen price. I bought this second hand for my holiday. Very easy to use and good quality video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2012
I bought the Samsung Q10 because of its small size though it's not quite small enough to fit into your trouser pocket.

As I have now come to expect from Samsung products, the Q10 is a very well-made product with ergonomic design.

The Q10 is a great device for both right and left-handed users because of its ability to rotate the image depending on from which hand you are recording. Indeed you may now even change sides during actual recording thanks to a recent firmware update, whereas before you couldn't rotate the picture while recording.

The touchscreen is fairly accurate and has a decent resolution from which to view playback recordings.

It features a simple record button at the rear for either shooting video or for capturing stills and while the stills leave a lot to be desired, it's (understandably) the video where this camcorder really excels.

I have to admit that the video quality on this product is very good, especially at this price. It features Samsung's BSI sensor with back lighting for clarity of image and while this technical feature sounds good, there was very little noticeable difference in performance.

Other negative points include the inability to connect a 3.5mm jack so that you may attach an external microphone, though the camera doesn't even feature a hot or cold shoe (to hold a microphone) and so obviously did not feature as part of the overall design. Considering its price tag this is once again understandable.

Lastly, though this camera shoots in 1080, it does so interlaced; at 1080i.
Shooting in this mode is basically made redundant because of the amount of lacing and tears within the finished video images. You will undoubtedly have to record at a lower resolution to get decent quality videos, though 720p runs at a respectable 50 frames per second for PAL signals.

All in all this is a great product for the price. It features the same sensor as Samsung's higher-end camcorders (such as the H300) and has a great 'power-to-weight' or 'power-to-portability' ratio, due to the quality of its images relative to the size and price of the device.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
I was very impressed with the specs of this camcorder especially at its price point. So after viewing a few sample footage on youtube I decided to hit the buy button.
Received the camcorder very quicky from Amazon, great service. The camera is small, light and well built, the time shift mode is fun to use which is the only thing good about the camera.
After taking a few test videos outdoors and indoors I knew I made a mistake buying this camcorder. Outdoors with bright sunlight, the colours seem dull and not at all sharp, doesn't even look HD. Indoors things get worse, Samsung boast superiour low light quality with it BSI sensor but it's terrible, videos are yellow and grainy, all detail is lost and framerate drops. My Nexus S Android phone takes better videos with indoor lighting!

I instantly returned it to Amazon the next day. I've now brought the Panasonic SD90, which is twice the price but video quality wise it's night and day. Were the Samsung looks like DVD quality, the Panasonic truely has Blu-Ray HD quality recording. I guess you get what you pay for.

If you looking for something small and only intend to record outdoors, the Samsung may be sufficent for you, otherwise I'd advise you to spend a little more and buy something else.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2011
I bought this camcorder last week and could not be more impressed, its so easy to use! It turns on as soon as you open out the screen then you simply press the button at the back to start recording and any other options are on the really responsive touchscreen. I've always been quite put off by camcorders as they seem quite hard to use but this isnt like that at all.
The recording quality is great too, i have a large full HD TV and the footage is really clear and crisp when i watch it back on there, myself and all my friends and family are really impressed! Great easy to use camcorder at a great price!!
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
My hisband was very happy with this item as i had purchased it for him! It met all expectations and has not left his side since he received it! The picture quality is very good and it is small and compact enough to carry in his pocket!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Do not expect it to work as well as some of the expensive camcorders out there, I never did; they are pricey for a reason.

Performance in indoor lighting is acceptable. Image stabilization works well. Dual handed grip function was a little annoying in the begining, as the camera recorded some of my videos, upside down. Did a firmware upgrade, and now everything is working as expected. One less star for not pre-installing the latest firmware.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
This is so much better than my old DV tape camcorder. It's full HD and widescreen. You just point and shoot and you can copy the videos straight to your computer without any editing etc. The quality is fantastic and the freeze frame is a hoot. The LH/RH switchover is annoying if you open the cover on the wrong side but it can be disabled.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
This product was ordered on a Friday and arrived on the Monday. It's light and lovely. Only fault is that there is not memory card with it. Even a small one to start would have been great, but for the price of the camcorder compared to local retailers, it's a small fault!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
This camera is small (fits in pocket) but still easily usable (by both left and right handed people). I was a bit dubious at first about the small size but now I'm perfectly happy with it because it's the right size/weight to carry around anywhere. The touch screen works well and you can play videos in slow motion, fast forward, etc. The film is good quality in good lighting, but in poor lighting it can be rather grainy/dark which can be a little irritating at times but really not too much of a problem. It's very easy to use and has record-pause, so you can be filming, pause the film, change subject/position, and then continue filming on the same file. The zoom works well and it takes pretty good photos also. It charges and downloads files onto the computer really easily, and has an SD slot.
Art mode: you can put the camera into several effects (e.g. black & white, negative, sepia, etc.), film time lapses (and there are different options for the amount of seconds between photos) - I've made a few of these and was very happy with how they turned out, and fade the film at the beginning and end.
Manual mode: change focus manually, change white balance, change EV, use back light mode and also night mode.
There is also an automatic mode which is what I usually use.
You can also edit your film on the camera, which saves a bit of faffing around on the computer. You can crop files and also join them together... I use this a lot because I enjoy making films.
I've had this camera for a year now and it's still going as good as new (I've dropped it a few times too) - in my opinion, it's definitely worth the money and a really good piece of kit for the small size!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2011
Have recently made the mistake of buying this camcorder. It would appear that there is no wind cut feature whatsoever, on a mildly breezy day you would think there was a hurricane outside!! Unfortunately I bought the thing over a month ago and am only just realising what an expensive mistake it was.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)