Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2011
Tyler the Creator has created a bit of a storm in the music world, with his homophobic and religous bashing lyrics. It's this storm the whole marketing machine was aiming for and succeeded in creating. All publicity is good publisity after all. I don't honestly think that any music could offend me and this doesn't come close, the people complaining about this record obviously haven't heard Vinnie Paz before who make Tyler look like a shrinking violet.

Aside from the blatant lines to cause a reaction their is some lyrical merit here and although he isn't the best spitter some of what he has to say will make you stop and think. For me the biggest problem with the lyrics are that they often decend in to imature rants, hooks like "kill people, burn s**t, f**k school" really sound childish to me. It's hard to empathise with this when you have been out of mainstream education for over 10 years, that's not Tyler's fault but if you past your teeen years its worth noting.

The production is generally quite nice and fairly original. It's certainly not mainstream in sound and is stripped back sampling with heavy dreams and eerie effect, similar to a lot of music from the label Anticon What I really like about the beats is the basslines which don't seem to find they're way in to hip hop as much these days.

My final point is about Tyler's whole alterego concept that run's through the album like Brighton in a stick of rock. It's a really played out concept having been done by, Eminem, Kool Keith, MF DOOM, RZA etc etc. Tyler doesn't bring anything new to the idea either so it's best left alone.

To sum up it's not for everyone and I would strongly suggest listening to some tracks on youtube before buying. The sheer variation in reviews on here should be a good indication of how split opinion is. If you do go on to youtube bare in mind that Yonkers and Sandwitches are the 2 best tunes so don't be fooled in to thinking that the whole album is as good as these songs!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2011
Don't read or pay attention to the press reviews of this album before listening to it yourself. Majority of the pieces written on it just compare it to other works with little understanding about the artists direction. Tyler has often stated in interviews that he writes from the perspective of famous serial killers and that the songs are meant to be like scenes in a movie so don't take the content to heart like most people complaining about it. That said the production on this album is incredible and really cohesive making it very easy to listen to from start to finish. I also found it gets better with each listen. I'd recommend listening to it in a really good pair of headphones (I own a pair of Sony MDR-V6s and Grado SR60s) to appreciate the mixing and sonic variety.

My personal fav tracks are: Her, Analog, Goblin, Fish, Nightmare and Tron Cat.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Like everyone else has been saying, Tyler is mis-understood in his song writing. He's not just talking about raping bitches and killing them it's all from different perspectives or alter egos (Wolf Haley, Tron Cat). If you watch some interviews with him he's a really really smart guy, who knows alot more than he makes out. His music is deep and thoughtful, plus he spits better than a camel on heat, buy this album!

Golf Wang
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
Every critic of Tyler gets preemptively answered on this album, and most of their comments so far have been pretty much invalid. It works both as a single body of work and as a sequel to 'Bastard'. The beats are fantastic, especially on 'Tron Cat' and the Left Brain produced 'Transylvania'. Syd The Kid's production is tight and balances the skits, vocal effects and noises almost flawlessly.

Lyrically a lot of the tracks revolve around Tyler talking about the frustrations in his life, and a lot of the 'misogynist' content can be seen as a by-product of this. Sometimes it's sad to listen to, sometimes hilarious. It makes you jump up and shout, or sit down and be mellow, and sometimes you think you're listening to the audio commentary on a film.

Journalists and reviewers need to stop using it to generalize modern music and stop comparing it to every other rap album. It is what it is.

And it gets better with every listen.
Wolf Gang.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2012
The CD format of this album is already up their easily as one of my favourite albums along with B***ard and having been an avid Odd Future listener for some years now, after acquiring my first vinyl player I purchased this. I have to say that listening to it on vinyl made me feel like I was listening to it for the first time all over again. It just made the whole thing seem a lot darker in sound. I would definitely recommend this to anyone thinking of purchasing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Yet another OF album that I will listen to over and over. To the guy before me, LOLOLOLOL. People like you are the fuel for music like this, so THANKYOU.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
Another interesting album from Wolf Haley here... still keeps his dark, broken, lyrics whilst being his hilarious self and giving me a good laugh a few times. I can tell I'll give this one more than a hundred plays and still love it. Give it a try and he wont disappoint you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2013
The songs and the story are creative. Each song tells its specific part in the story he has created and the beats and lyrics are stupidly good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
It seems foolish that this is nearly double the price of Goblin without the 3 bonus songs; 'Burger' is very good, but hardly worth £6.23. I'd buy the album - which is very good if you like i. a tormented teenage boy's psyche in forensic, subjective detail ii. offensive splatterpunk lyrics iii. production more akin to F*** Buttons than yr average hip-hop iv. something NEW - in non-deluxe format, and if you particularly like it buy the last three tracks here individually.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2014
Tylor is good, this album is good what more is to be said.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.06
£5.99
£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)