Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
195
4.3 out of 5 stars
Colour: Black|Change
Price:£34.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
Very nice phone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Great retro look & feel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Fabulous phone! I love it! Extremely good service!! *****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Very happy with my purchase - looks great and delivered on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2012
We are very pleased with this phone, it is a good weight & we like the "proper" speaking piece. The only thing it doesn't have is a redial button. It is so much nicer to look at and use then all the modern rubbish.
11 Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
When this phone rings it will take your mind to a bygone era, old black and white classic movies, illusions of being somewhere else in time before picking up the handset to answer the call. If you buy this phone only for that evocative bell ringing sound it will be worth it.

This retro type telephone is a little gem. I wanted this style of phone for my little office/study room and it looks just right with my blend of modern and old paraphernalia. The plastic material this phone is made from,I ordered it in black,is a shiny gloss finish so if you are looking for a matt finish only this may not be what you will have in mind. Mine sits proudly on my desk next to a computer screen and printer that are both in the popular shiny gloss black finish of many of today's modern electronic gadgets so it actually blends in very well with these. The style of this phone both contrasts with and compliments these present day gadgets.

The phone is practical, with push button numbers in the illusory rotary dial frontpiece. The numbers seem to be set back into the rotary dial but this is only an optical illusion as on closer inspection they actually come just above the dial plate. The buttons are simple to use and you hear a touch tone sound in the ear phone when you press each number.

There are star and hash buttons in the 'dial' as well so the phone is practical for all the normal calls you wish to make. Of course if you want to go the full retro experience you could always go for the more expensive rotary dial model. However, the push button one here offers a quicker and easier way of making calls so is a better practical compromise if you make a lot of calls.

There is a very handy little pull out drawer in the base that you can keep a little note book or list of telephone numbers, the old fashion equivalent of memory storage on modern phones. As you will keep your phone numbers in this drawer they will not get lost compared to keeping them in a separate address/phone book.

When the phone arrived in a large package I thought like another reviewer that it was lightweight. However, on unpacking and setting it up it turned out to be more substantial than I first thought and feels solid and secure on my desk, so no worries about that. The phone really was just an unpack and plug in, working straight away with no problems. The sound quality for incoming calls is fine and there are no problems with listeners hearing you speaking.

You will be interested in this phone for its retro and appearance qualities. Don't expect a modern phone with all the bells and whistles. You get the bells alright! but for 'whistles' you will have to go for today's models. Well done Amazon and Royal Mail. Ordered on a Saturday, dispatched on Sunday and received on Tuesday,and this with free postage and packing. Top marks all round.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
Very good reproduction of the classic GPO phone of old.
However it does have a very shiny plastic appearance and some may not like this
I have a plan to 'weather' the finish to make it look more authentic.
My opinion, the pushbutton version of this phone is preferable to the dial version
Its so much easier to use and the appearance of the buttons in place of the dial holes does
not detract from the good looks of the product.
I could have spent much on Ebay for an authentic reconditioned GPO phone. But as an electronics engineer
I know that this phone will be more reliable for daily use. And my wife likes it too.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2013
My Wild & Wolf 1930s repo decided to stop working after only a couple of years, I looked for another brand for a replacement.

This does look a bit cheap "in the flesh": the finish is much shinier than bakelite (or what is apparent from the photo) and looks plastic-y, although at least the dial doesn't look as dreadful as the silver-painted plastic sported by some (yes, I'm looking at you Steepletone. It's also comparatively light weight compared with the Wild & Wolf or an original, which lends to the cheap feel.

This model doesn't have the hand-grip which was common on 30s phones so moving it around is slightly inconvenient, but not the end of the world.

As others have noted, there is no means of adjusting the volume of the ring tone, but I had no problems with the pre-set volume.

On the plus side, no problems whatsover with performance and the touch tone when dialing is very clear.

In short, it doesn't really measure up as a repo but it's a functional phone and you could do worse.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
This telephone arrived within 3 days and was everything I wanted it to be. When it rings it takes you back in time. It looks fantastic on my hall table and everyone has commented on how stylish it looks. Fab and recommended
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 15 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here