Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2017
Even now its a great movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Again brill
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
10 out of10 Russell movie in the 80s different but I enjoyed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
good purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2015
Classic 80's Ninja mania. See the awesome weapons demonstration from Martial arts actor Sho Kosugi at the opening start. Good story and good acting not great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
After just completing his training at a ninja school, Django, now an army vet travels to the Phillippines and finds himself battling a land grabber who wants his war-buddy's property.

He must also fight his rival, who is jealous of his moustache and the fact that he is the only Ninja who gets to wear white. But does Kosugi not understand that white gets dirty quickly, and Django will spend forever and a day washing?

To say anything other than this is cheese would be lying. It is cheese of the highest order, but for heavens sake, its so much fun while it lasts.

Nero, I know only from Django and as the random General in Die Hard 2. And while his voice maybe dubbed, he really as no screen presence in this, and looks highly embarrassed, which adds to the charm of the film.

Every Ninja movie begins with a fight with people wearing various colours of pyjama, and there is always one who takes it a little too far and ruins the whole proceedings. Nero qualifies as a Ninja by doing funny stuff with his hands, and goes to meet his friend who looks like a cut price James Caan, who is a drunk and lives with Susan George.

Their land is threatened by a comedy villain and his badly dressed henchman, all the while being supported by some chubby British guy who talks like Jarvis from Iron Man.

It's all silly revenge stuff, Neros face is conveniently covered whenever there is a big fight, but the last twenty minutes is hilarious, with Nero carrying more weapons than humanly possible.

Not to be taken seriously by any means, but if you are a fan of eighties action, this will do nicely.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
I don't know what other people think, but I think it's a good movie. The filming is very expressive. I watched it with my other half. The plot is tense. The ending was good and I felt the next one. I like the hero.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
After completing his Ninja training in Japan. War veteran Cole decides to visit his war buddy Frank in the Philippines, however when he arrives on his farm he discovers that his friend and his wife Mary Ann are been terrorised by a local gang hell bent on buying their property.

After the huge success of Bruce Lee's Enter the Dragon, Israeli Producer/Director Menahem Golan decided to make this entertaining Ninja film that would go onto spawn two sequels and hundreds of Ninja imitations made by the infamous Godfrey Ho.

Italian super star Franco Nero (Django) is an unusual but well chosen choice to play Cole. He looks cool and has the stature to pull off the tough guy roles, the one thing I didn't like was that his voice was dubbed by someone else when he speaks fluent English. Rest of the cast includes Alex Courtney as Frank, Susan George as his wife Mary Ann and Sho Kosugi as the evil black Ninja Hasegawa, who was Cole nemesis during his Ninja training and has been hired to kill him.

The majority of the action scenes are pretty good, the opening fight in the jungle and the final showdown are impressive. Some of the others are average in my opinion. It is also clear to see that it isn't Franco Nero sometimes during the fight scenes. The film was given a 18 certificate which I thought was a bit harsh as its not that violent, but we go get a few bloody bodies here and there.

W. Michael Lewis and Laurin Rinder's score is both good and bad. The dramatic music is effective as is the track played over the war flash backs.

Overall a entertaining film, that I would watch again and has made me want to check out the sequel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2001
This remains my favorite Ninja movie!
90% of the movies in this genre are absolutely awful. The acting in this one isn't exactly Oscar-worthy either. Franco Nero, however, is amazing as the white Ninja causing trouble to the local crime lord...leading him to call in an equally skilled ninja from Japan. This movie contains the greatest ninja showdown ever filmed as the white and black ninja (the awesome Sho Kosugi) face off at the end. This ranks just behind the Bruce Lee classics. Essential to your collection if you are a martial arts fan.
Buy it now!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2011
this is the first outing of sho kosugis famous ninja trilogy,and while not exciting as revenge of the ninja or ninja 3 the domination its still a fairly decent movie.stars franco nero and susan george.nero playing a good ninja(dressed in white)and kosugi(dressed in black)playing the bad guy.its a fairly bad storyline and the actings pretty dreadful.even some of the martial arts action is badly choreographed,but theres something about this movie that makes you forgive all the bad points.the weaponry and the ninja philosophy being a couple.ive just checked the bbfc website and it seems this film is going to have the cock fight edited out.(filmed in the Philippines where cock fighting was considered a sport)which is no bad thing,but all the rest of the movie including all the weaponry and some nasty deaths are going to be re-instated for the first time in the uk.if your going for a decent ninja movie id suggest revenge of the ninja or the octagon,but if you own them and looking for a fix of ninja action then enter the ninja maybe what your looking for.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse