Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
98
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 December 2016
It's just mental fun this one- and yes it's that good and yes it really shouldn't be. A tyre wakes up and goes on a rampage killing everything and anything that comes into its path. Not by squishing mind but by a scanner like 'I will break you' way of doing things. Director's done well here with his time consuming angles, production values are high considering budget. To add to the plot a movie watching crowd watch the movie with us as everything unfolds. It's nut but works. Some well handled jokes, though won't be for everyone. However a movie solely about a killer tyre won't be for almost anyone out there. Again should be a messy stinking pile of.... but works, crazy movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2017
A car tyre is alive and kills using psychic powers. That's the story and although it sounds like there is potential for something quirky and interesting, unfortunately this film doesn't deliver.

Right from the beginning the filmmakers tell you that lots of things are done for 'no reason', I guess thinking that this gives them carte blanche to do anything they like. But once you get past the idea of the tyre coming to life and realising it can kill, the film stalls. The tyre only kills one way, and this gets old very quickly. There is a parallel story going on which sees an 'audience' viewing what is going on and adding commentary. And while it's different it doesn't add a lot of interest.

The Blu-ray disk has great video and audio but the dull story isn't good enough to make this a great watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2013
Before you consider watching this movie, you should know two things:

First, it is about a killer tyre.

Secondly, I didn't make that up.

If you can suspend your disbelief long enough to get over that, you may just get something out of the film.

It opens with a scene where a police car drives towards the camera, knocking over a multitude of chairs in the road as it goes. When it gets close enough an officer gets out and talks directly to us, the viewers. He explains that some things in films happen for, "No reason." This is the whole basis of the film.

It's weird.

Things happen for no reason.

It's very weird. And, sometimes weird is good, other times weird doesn't work. In this case, I'll go with the former.

If you want a quirky film that doesn't conform to mainstream narratives and conventions, watch Rubber. It's silly. It's surreal. It's fun. It's sort of what David Lynch might do if he'd have thought of the `killer tyre' idea.

One drawback, a few of the scenes go on for a little long - it has the feeling of being a bit `student film studies made,' but it soon picks up in its daftness.

I stayed with it to the end - no reason.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2017
Never has a movie ever become 'art' quite like this before
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2017
It is not a film it is an anti-film. Avoid!!!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
oh dear oh dear oh dear wot a load of rubbish this is i want my money back now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2011
The trailer for this oddball, genre-mashing film is, in the cold light of day, better than the movie itself. However with a more riveting script and bigger budget i think the director may have a future.

The reason i adhere to this is there are some neat little flourishes with the directing style, especially the set-up of the concept, the antagonist being made to feel almost 'human', which is no mean feat. The score for the film is also great and innovative.

The script is almost dialogue free and the murders do become tyre-some(sorry) if hilarious to start. There is a smart analogy at the beginning too but on the whole the film is actually quite perplexing and down right bizarre. Its all very Lynch/Cronenberg light. An art-house film that just upped the ante but falls away into almost dullness. Which is a shame because deep down this film is aching to be loved.

The ending suggests a commentary about the current state of Hollywood perhaps, but this film is never quite as smart or as funny as it thinks it is.

An oddball curiosity that you will probably be glad you viewed but won't again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2011
Ok, a film about a killer tyre...let's see what we've got here....
Well, there's some chairs spread out on a desert road and a guy with loads of binoculars, then a car breaks all the chairs.
Why?
No reason.

As the opening monologue explains, this film is all about no reason.

So, the binoculars get handed to some spectators and the story begins.

Things start very well, with Robert (the tyre) awakening and stumbling about like a new born and then just revelling in being alive. It also discovers it has some other unique abilities.
Psychokinetic powers.
As Robert rolls around running things over and blowing things up, he spots a young lady driving through the desert and sets off in pursuit.

The problem for me with this film is that although it is very well shot, it spends too much time in the sequences where it steps out of the film.
It will cut to the spectators as they comment and question on what's occuring and initially it works well.
But, after a while these moments just start to drag on.
A good example is a sequence were one of the actors is trying to explain to everybody else that what's happening isn't real and they are just characters in a story.
For me the scene just went on for too long and took me a bit too much out of events.
Another example of this is when one of the spectators arrives on the scene to complain about the story being a bit slow and in need of speeding up.

The scenes with Robert are really good and the whole film is very well shot but for me it was just trying to be a bit too clever for its own good.
I understand what the film was trying to achieve but it didn't quite work.
As I said earlier, there's a scene with a spectator stopping the film to explain what's wrong with a particular sequence, but even as he's suggesting what they can do to make the scene better, he somehow missed the most obvious thing, which for me was 'just detonate the explosives.'
And, surely it's not a good thing if I am sharing his sentiments, as the film is dragging?

As the whole film is about no reason you have to ask yourself if there's a reason for spending your money on it. I would wait until the price drops to below £5 before taking a shot on this, or better yet rent it out first as it's not going to be everyones cup of tea and I think it'll turn out to be a real mixed opinion movie with some people either praising its genius or outright hating it.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
Okay,you know right away this is going to odd,but it was odd in a way I didn't quite expect.
It is indeed about a killer tyre named ROBERT,,it starts by running over little things then does a SCANNERS type of head blowing kill on everyone it chooses. However,as the tyre is going about it's way,there are onlookers for this movie in progress and the lines between watching a movie and becoming part of the movie become blurred. This starts off with a somewhat odd description of classic movies having moments that make no sense,it's a good metaphorical wink at the camera,letting viewers know this is one of those movies full of nonsense moments.

This is stupidly amusing in a way some will love,but it left me a little bemused. I knew what I was letting myself in for,but it didn't play out quite as expected. Worth a view for it being so mad,but some will see this a stupid rubbish,which it kind of is,but amusingly so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)