Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

Next Three Days [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 December 2011
This film is based on a French thriller and on paper it sounds hackneyed. The wife is arrested for a crime she did not commit, or did she, she is in despair, her mild mannered husband decides to bust her our of prison, will he manage.

Good acting and an unpredictable script elevate this material into an engaging and highly involving film. The rumpled Russell Crowe gets the bulk of the screen time, but there are also strong, albeit brief, contributions, from Elizabeth Banks, Brian Dennehy and Liam Neeson, amongst others. Although we are teased with flash backs, forward and red herrings the plot generally feels grounded in reality, or at least is sufficiently engaging to allow us to suspend disbelief. The obligatory moppet haired son, with no discernible personality, stream of young hotties that want to pick up Crowe, the amazingly flexibility of a career in college lecturing, and the fact that he conveniently lectures in literature because that is all that the writers of these things ever know about, all detract slightly.

Written and directed by Paul Haggis, he does that thing he used to do back in Due South (mismatched cop, mountie, big dog, TV series) where a vaguely indie song plays out while some wordless action takes place for a couple of minutes.

I watched this with my family and we were gripped throughout.

On the minus side, at over two hours this is a bit long too for the material, once you have seen it the once, there is limited replay value, it is not the best looking film you have ever seen. Also as demonstrated by events earlier in the film, getting his wife out of prison is actually pretty easy, while the police and prison guards are vastly more on the ball and inspired than is plausible.

This is an entertaining thriller that won't leave you disappointed, but it is probably a polished piece of entertainment, rather than something that will inspire and delight you, that you want to hold next to your heart forever.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2011
'The Next Three Days' is a thriller film that released in 2010 to positive reviews and became a box-office success. It's a remake of the 2007 French film 'Anything for Her' (French: 'Pour Elle'), which was directed by Fred Cavayé. The French version was also both a critical and box-office success.

The movie tells the story of Lara Brennan (Elizabeth Banks) who is jailed after being accused of murdering her boss. Her husband John Brennan (Russell Crowe) then attempts to break her out of jail.

Before I say anything else, the important question is does the remake better the original. The answer is, "YES". What the makers have done is taken the premise of the French version, which was already a good thriller. They have then enhanced on everything including the performances, background music, tension, drama and production values. Also there are a number of different scenes than the original, which works for the good.

The movie starts of quite slow but the momentum picks up big time as the story progresses. There are a few twists and the drama is engaging. The movies highlight though is the end stages where the tension is very effective.

Top performance in the film comes from Russell Crowe who excels in the dramatic scenes. Elizabeth Banks is just about average. In a number of scenes where it was required, she fails to express the right emotions and at times no emotions. Liam Neeson is effective in a cameo.

The direction provided by Paul Haggis is competent as the movie comes together really well. The only thing is the slow pace at the beginning making it drag at times.

The background music score by Danny Elfman is perfect in increasing the excitement and the tension.

I watched the original not long ago and liked it. On watching the remake, it turned out to be more enjoyable.

'The Next Three Days' is one of the top thrillers of the year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2011
You dont always have to have mile a minute shoot outs for a film to get your adrenaline rushing, sometimes a suspence film, if done right, can be all you need for the action to take a back seat. And , The Next Three days, is one such film that delivers the suspence in bucket loads, as it builds up & builds up what you think will happen, and this film has you guessing will they get away, at what cost will it come ? untill the end credits roll, exceptional.

The story of this film starts out with happily married couple John Brennan (Russell Crowe -Gladiator), Lara Brennan (Elizabeth Banks -Spider-Man) and their son Luke (Ty Simpkins), in an ordinary loving family surburban setting. Untill their life is turned upside down when the police raid their home & Lara is accused of murdering her boss, and found guilty to serve life imprisonment. When all legal ways of proving her innocence are thwarted, John begins to delve into the unthinkable as he sees his family torn apart, and seeks the advice of Damon Pennington (Liam Neeson -Taken), who is an ex-convict with a history(and book) about his several sucessfull escapes from prison. Can John use this knowledge, or more to the point, can an average guy who is just a college teacher, go to the lengths & possible consequences it will take, to free his wife from prison, who he always belived in her innocence, and fly off into the sunset ?

The acting is very good, and the camera work, pace of the film just comes togher at the right time, in the right place to turn this slow paced drama into a twisting suspenseful film with just the right pinch of action and brought to the boil, that will have your heart in your mouth by the very end. If slow paced suspense drama isnt your thing, look elsewhere. Reccomended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2011
I really enjoyed this under appreciated action movie, but I fear most won't share my enthusiasm. Others will opt for Unknown and stuff like the Adjustment Bureau in 2011, who I feel this film would appeal to, and given it's no Taken or Prison Break.

Firstly, it stars Russell Crowe, so that will separate opinion, but he is very good in this, and he holds up a modern, clever action drama attempt. It is easy to watch, slick, fast paced and enjoyable.

Crowe plays a husband and father, who decides to devise a calculated plan to break his wife out from pre-prison holding (having been wrongfully convicted of murder). The first half of this film is clever, engaging, interesting and most importantly believable. However, the second half does rapidly become a bit more predictable, cheesy and clichéd (as they build up for the escape and Crowe versus cops finale). But, then ending is okay, tying the film together nicely.

The plan to free his wife and flee to another country, with their son, is well thought out, elaborate and exciting (if you are in a willing, non doubting mood) - and ultimately worth sticking with. Most movie watchers will know if this film is for them or not, but I will recommend it - being similar to say Ransom, Payback and The Fugitive. I think this film has suffered from comparisons to other films - this could be a reason for it bombing, and coming out of cinemas (UK).

The cast is almost excellent, with Elizabeth Banks (Zack & Mimi) as his wife, Lennie James as the main detective and a tiny cameo-style role for Liam Niesen. Brian Dennehy is also well cast as Crowe's father. The film is a remake of French flick 'Anything For Her' (2008). The film is set in Pittsburgh.

The director (Paul Haggis) has screenwriter credits to his name that include Terminator Salvation, Quantum of Solace and Casino Royale.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2013
This is one of the best films I have ever seen, no kidding. Having watched it, I immediately thought that it deserved a place in my own personal Top Ten films. Why? Because it grabs your attention from the very start, and keeps it throughout! Your mind doesn't wander at all while you watch this film - it's just too exciting! Russell Crowe plays the desperate husband of a woman charged with the murder of her boss, and he will do anything to get her out of jail because she's innocent ... isn't she? Well, she is ... up until the point where she tells him that, actually, she did it. I won't spoil it for you by telling you what happens next, but suffice it to say that there are many twists and turns in the plot, and the ending is just brilliant. But it is not just a thriller; it is a very poignant love story. Not sentimental, though; the relationship between the main characters is very sensitively portrayed, each of them fiercely protective of the other, willing to do anything to avoid the person they love being hurt. This film more than deserves a 5-star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2011
John Brennan's (Russell Crowe) world collapses when his wife Lara is arrested and convicted of murder, resulting in his slow descent into a shady underworld as he plans to break her out of prison. As a director you have lots of options with the subject material, which is based on the French film 'Pour Elle'. Is it a prison-break movie detailing the clever planning before the event? Does it focus on how a family is torn apart by the conviction of the mother? Does it examine the descent of a middle-class teacher into the criminal underworld? The problem with The Next Three Days is that director and co-screenwriter Paul Haggis attempts do to it all, and doesn't really succeed with any of it.

There are good performances by the cast and the film certainly has its tense moments. But it's a little thin and you get the impression that there were key sequences written, and the rest put there to flesh it out a bit. Although we see John's gradual 'toughening up' process through the action on screen, we're never really allowed to see that in terms of his psychology - it's as if he goes from wimp to world-class jail breaker in the blink of an eye. Although we see elements of the prison-break planning, a better director/script might have decided to show us those elements out of context, only for us to realise at the end how they all fit into the plan when the prison break takes place. There is a half-hearted attempt but it's quite poor.

All in all though, The Next Three Days is well worth watching. It definately has its moments, but when you look at the credentials of the people involved and weigh up the directions the subject matter could have gone you'll think, actually, that could have been Oscar material if they'd been a little more clever and delved a little deeper.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2011
If I was to recommend you one of the latest thriller movies worth watching, 'The Next Three Days' would definitely be close to the top of my list. Basically, it's about a man's wife (played by Elizabeth Banks) who is suddenly found to be guilty of a murder. We see beforehand the events that make us believe that this may be true, but her husband (played by Russell Crowe) knows that she is innocent. Throughout the film he tries to think of ways to prove so, but when he realises that there's not enough evidence, he then decides to take drastic, illegal measures of freeing her from prison. It's a very interesting plot because throughout the course of the movie he starts to doubt himself whether if it's worth all this hassle and planning, and there is the case that she may have well murdered someone, thus helping a genuine convict. However, there are a few criticisms that need to be addressed. First of all, while I understood the husband had to think of a really ingenious, safe and practical plan of getting her out of prison, it just seemed all a bit too unrealistic in some scenes. I'm not going to mention anything so as to not ruin the film, but it's one of those instances where, for an event to happen, everything has to be in the right place at the right time in order for it to work. There was quite a lot of moments where this happened and I thought to myself, "Would that likely happen, though?" However, the film makes up for this with its fast pacing and great acting. You also feel engaged from the beginning to the end, due to the premise that you just HAVE to know the truth about whether it really happened. Therefore, if you want to see a tense, well-made thriller, it wouldn't hurt to give 'The Next Three Days' a watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 June 2011
The Next Three Days has good leads in Elizabeth Banks and Russell Crowe. Their marriage seems normal, and has little niggles and bickering as well as affection. nicely they aren't perfect, and they're played with great amiability by Crowe and Banks. Therefore the arrest scene when cops suddenly swarm their house and drag Banks out for a horrific killing is upsetting and extremely dramatic.
It's a well handled scene in a movie full of them.
The script is smart enough to throw us a few red herrings, and the director even manages to instil regular jolts of fear in the audience for Crowe's character, when he keeps messing up his attempts to become a fledgling jailbreaker.
Nicely the cops and guards are far from stupid, and you get the impression that Crowe's amateur criminal is a rabbit carefully trying to make it under a sky full of hawks, with little to no chance.
There is violence, and it's handled with high tension and excitement, and nicely the film always feels like it's under control, accelerating towards its climax. The pace keeps getting better, and there are some unexpectedly good relationship moments as Crowe and his son try to cope with the stigma of being the family of a convicted murderess.
The climax is a very extended series of nerve jangling and adrenaline filled chases, and scenes of daring bravado. Director Paul Haggis keeps us biting our nails and sat up in our seats the whole time - rarely is such a complicated pay off handled so well.
My only gripe is that I hoped the film was going to play with the characters' ambiguity a little more - however, that's a very minor grumble about a movie that was a very exciting and extraordinarily well made piece of entertainment.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2014
i dont usually leave a product reveiw but i felt compelled to do just that after i watched this film. I caught about ten minutes of this film when it was aired on t.v considering it was already half way through i turned it off making a note of the films name and decided to look on amazon to try to find it. Not only was it here but from acompany i buy most of my dvds from so with out hesitation i ordered it. As usual it arrived very fast and i could not wait to watch it. Let me just say this it was worth the wait brilliant storey line and is very entertaining to watch i dont want to give the story line away but if you like your films with compassion and thrilling at the same time with a touch of omg momonts this is definatley for you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2013
Well this is a fabulous movie with action every five minutes and never dull for a minute very different as to other movies but what can we expect when we have a great line up of cast entering our imagination with this story and keeping us transfixed to the television clued to the chair. Full of suspense action and intrigue, A story about a mans home being torn apart after his wife is accused of murder and looks like going to prison even after she says she didn't commit it. The idea of a prison break can he succeed or fail and will he get caught, so what are you waiting for, get a move on grab the munchies jump in your chair put your feet up and relax to a fantastic rolling entertainment with this movie you wont be disappointed as you haven't got time. as everything is going on at once. I rated this an A grade plus for a great nail biting anything can happen show so enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)